Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Zucchini Dessert Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Zucchini Dessert Pie

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2010

      Outstanding!!
      My husband was wary, but a taste won him over! He wanted me to invite his parents over and cook one for them! We actually both like it better than pumpkin pie and our sons ate it up quite happily, wanting seconds, which is rare for them as far as dessert goes. This weekend, I was given some zucchini and our whole family was excited because it means a chance for more zucchini pie (which I'm cooking right now)!
      Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
      Note: I actually decreased (brown) sugar and honey to about half a cup total since I was running low. Also used a whole grain pie crust (using my no roll pie crust) and rice milk.
      I LOVE this pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2004

      This is how I changed this recipe to fit my low-carb diet; I left off the crust, and sprayed the pie plate with PAM before baking. I used Splenda instead of the honey, and substituted diluted cream for the evaporated milk. Everything else I did just as written. It smelled yummy and I was so happy to have a "real" dessert! Very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      I found your recipe while searching to see if anyone else had thought of using Zucchini as pumpkin for pie. I used an overgrown zucchini that was about 20 inches long. I peeled it and took the seeds out, then boiled the chunks. Zucchini in Italian means "little Squash", They are the same family as pumpkin and actually quite similar, so I thought it could probably be substituted. I didn't have everything you used and had to substitute. I used about three fourths of a cup of brown sugar and no honey. I didn't have evaporated milk, so I didn't drain the small amount of water from the zucchini and used a half cup of non-instant, nonfat powdered milk. I also added about two tablespoons of butter, since the that kind of milk has no butterfat. You could, of course, leave out the butter, but it probably wouldn't be as creamy. I thought the biggest problem in getting my kids to eat it might be the color. I thought I had some orange food coloring, but I didn't. I used a tiny bit of red coloring, which helped a little. Anyway, now I know what I am going to do with some of the zucchini from our garden that gets left out there too long. I'm going to peel it, cut it into chunks and cook it and then freeze it in recipe sized amounts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      I was expecting to enjoy this pie very much but I did not. This pie was very salty, I was hesitant to begin when I saw the recipe called for a whole teaspoon of salt but I followed it as written and I am sorry to say I was quite dissapointed. I will however try this again with less salt, less ginger, a lil ground cloves and a little more sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      I can not believe this actually tasted like pumpkin pie! Delicious! A perfect way to sneak in some good-for-you green vegetables! But it's very important to remove as much moisture from the zucchini as possible, otherwise the crust gets a little soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      Ok, first. I did NOT peel my zucchini. There are soo many vitamins in the peel. If you look at pumpkin pie filling it has dark orange specks from the outside of the pumpkin. I also doubled the recipe for 2 pies, because one pie is NEVER enough :) Here are my changes for a doubled recipe: 2 pie crusts 4 cups pureed cooked zukes 1/4 cup raw honey 1 cup sugar 2 tsp. salt 2 tsp. cinnamon 1 tsp. ginger 1/2 tsp. cloves 1/4 tsp. nutmeg 2 tsp. vanilla 1 can (12 oz.) evaporated milk 4 eggs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This pie is FABULOUS. My husband, who ADORES pumpkin pie, loved it. I made a few minor substitutions and cooking methodology changes to ensure a moist result: Substituted Splenda for the sugar (while my husband has 11% body fat, I have a whole LOT more), and I added 2T flax seeds (for nutrition and texture). I processed the whole thing in my VitaMix so it was very easy. Lastly, I put the pie in a jelly roll pan and added enough water to cover the entire pan. I find that steam baths really help to ensure squash pies are moist and idiot proof (me being the idiot).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      I give it 5 stars cause the recipe is easy to do. The steps are well explained. But I don't like the taste. Probably cause it taste a little bit like a pumpkin pie and I don't like pumpkin pie. And I didn't want to give it a bad rating since I was not sure if I would like it. But I'm glad I tried it. Thanks Marg :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      This is the recipe I have been searching for! I love sugar cream pie and this is better! WOO WEE Thats great pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      This pie is great. I loved it and so did everyone else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      This pie was very good. It came out looking just like a Pumpkin Pie and tasting like a sweet potato pie. Excellent consistency; I cooked as long as indicated. I thought, however, that the pie was too sweet. If I made it again I would cut the sugar down to at least a 1/4 cup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      What a fabulous pie! And what a great way to use up that surplus zucchini. While I was making this pie I made enough puree for another pie and put it in the freezer. I used a pre-made pie crust. If you are cheating like me, best to use a premade deep dish pie crust because the regular one was a touch too shallow and I had to dump some of the filling because it wouldn't all fit. Very excellent recipe, will be making again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      Very similar to a pumpkin pie. A little milder, we thought. For some reason it took much longer than 50 minutes to bake. We followed the temp. & time exactly. I ended up adding an extra 25 minutes baking time so I shielded the crust. The pie was not as firm as a normal pumpkin pie, so perhaps I didn't get enough water out of the zucchini before pureeing. We will definitely make this again. Great way to use up zucchini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      This is my first attempt at making pie, and it turned out great!! Although some of my family members were leery at first we all agree that this is one excellent pie!! If you were to blindfold me I would have probably said it is pumpkin pie. I left the peel on the zucchini so my pie was a little greener, which was a little different visually, but still tasted superb. Next time I may add a tad more spice, but it was still excellent as is. Thanks for the neat idea and wonderful result!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Zucchini Dessert Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 246.2
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    40%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 55.6 mg
    18%
    Sodium 461.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 17.9 g
    71%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes