14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Outstanding!!
My husband was wary, but a taste won him over! He wanted me to invite his parents over and cook one for them! We actually both like it better than pumpkin pie and our sons ate it up quite happily, wanting seconds, which is rare for them as far as dessert goes. This weekend, I was given some zucchini and our whole family was excited because it means a chance for more zucchini pie (which I'm cooking right now)!
Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Note: I actually decreased (brown) sugar and honey to about half a cup total since I was running low. Also used a whole grain pie crust (using my no roll pie crust) and rice milk.
I LOVE this pie!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laugh2survive October 04, 2010

This is how I changed this recipe to fit my low-carb diet; I left off the crust, and sprayed the pie plate with PAM before baking. I used Splenda instead of the honey, and substituted diluted cream for the evaporated milk. Everything else I did just as written. It smelled yummy and I was so happy to have a "real" dessert! Very good recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie September 21, 2004

I found your recipe while searching to see if anyone else had thought of using Zucchini as pumpkin for pie. I used an overgrown zucchini that was about 20 inches long. I peeled it and took the seeds out, then boiled the chunks. Zucchini in Italian means "little Squash", They are the same family as pumpkin and actually quite similar, so I thought it could probably be substituted. I didn't have everything you used and had to substitute. I used about three fourths of a cup of brown sugar and no honey. I didn't have evaporated milk, so I didn't drain the small amount of water from the zucchini and used a half cup of non-instant, nonfat powdered milk. I also added about two tablespoons of butter, since the that kind of milk has no butterfat. You could, of course, leave out the butter, but it probably wouldn't be as creamy. I thought the biggest problem in getting my kids to eat it might be the color. I thought I had some orange food coloring, but I didn't. I used a tiny bit of red coloring, which helped a little. Anyway, now I know what I am going to do with some of the zucchini from our garden that gets left out there too long. I'm going to peel it, cut it into chunks and cook it and then freeze it in recipe sized amounts!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noelani54_12561362 September 26, 2012

I was expecting to enjoy this pie very much but I did not. This pie was very salty, I was hesitant to begin when I saw the recipe called for a whole teaspoon of salt but I followed it as written and I am sorry to say I was quite dissapointed. I will however try this again with less salt, less ginger, a lil ground cloves and a little more sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Genevieve July 30, 2012

I can not believe this actually tasted like pumpkin pie! Delicious! A perfect way to sneak in some good-for-you green vegetables! But it's very important to remove as much moisture from the zucchini as possible, otherwise the crust gets a little soggy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PumpKIM October 26, 2009

Ok, first. I did NOT peel my zucchini. There are soo many vitamins in the peel. If you look at pumpkin pie filling it has dark orange specks from the outside of the pumpkin. I also doubled the recipe for 2 pies, because one pie is NEVER enough :) Here are my changes for a doubled recipe: 2 pie crusts 4 cups pureed cooked zukes 1/4 cup raw honey 1 cup sugar 2 tsp. salt 2 tsp. cinnamon 1 tsp. ginger 1/2 tsp. cloves 1/4 tsp. nutmeg 2 tsp. vanilla 1 can (12 oz.) evaporated milk 4 eggs

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz September 24, 2009

This pie is FABULOUS. My husband, who ADORES pumpkin pie, loved it. I made a few minor substitutions and cooking methodology changes to ensure a moist result: Substituted Splenda for the sugar (while my husband has 11% body fat, I have a whole LOT more), and I added 2T flax seeds (for nutrition and texture). I processed the whole thing in my VitaMix so it was very easy. Lastly, I put the pie in a jelly roll pan and added enough water to cover the entire pan. I find that steam baths really help to ensure squash pies are moist and idiot proof (me being the idiot).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann the eclectic September 07, 2009

I give it 5 stars cause the recipe is easy to do. The steps are well explained. But I don't like the taste. Probably cause it taste a little bit like a pumpkin pie and I don't like pumpkin pie. And I didn't want to give it a bad rating since I was not sure if I would like it. But I'm glad I tried it. Thanks Marg :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 05, 2007

This is the recipe I have been searching for! I love sugar cream pie and this is better! WOO WEE Thats great pie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hiatt_farms August 13, 2007

This pie is great. I loved it and so did everyone else.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly1954 July 19, 2007
Zucchini Dessert Pie