Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Whole Wheat Pita Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Pita

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2010

      I forgot to rate it in my earlier review - it is 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      Sorry if this review is long but I wanted to give you my trials and successes on this one. First off let me say, my DH was so impressed. He isnt a pita man but he said these are better than bread and any pita's he's ever had! Ok, I was a little appliance challenged for this recipe but through trial and error, I conquered. I have an industrial mixer, however, it has 2 blades and all the dough kept squeezing to the top and wouldnt mix. So I thought I would use my bread machine. Well, I had it on dough setting and after it was done, the outside of the dough was too dry and crispy. I made them anyway. Although they didnt rise, they were still absolutely delicious. We used them as pizza bread instead. Ok, then I tried the dough setting but removed the dough after mixing and didnt let the bread machine make it rise. I then followed the recipe to rise for 30 mins. and so on. The HOLY GRAIL!!! Boy was it worth it to keep trying. I just dumped all the ingredients in and took it out when it was done. How easy! This is now my new bread for everything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      I was so pleased with how these turned out. I'm not a baker but these were fun to make with the kids. They loved watching them puff up! I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      These pitas are so awesome. The first time I made them I was so amazed watching them puff up in the oven. I made these all summer in place of bread. They were perfect for taking on the boat and to the beach. Not as messy as sandwiches! My daughter loved penut butter and honey in hers. Tuna salad was a fave of ours, as well as chicken salad. And just good ole turkey sandwich fixings were great! I found if I rolled them out too big they wouldn't puff as well, so keep to the 7 inches. And occasionally I would have a few that wouldn't puff all the way, but we just smeared honey on those and ate them warm. Mmmmm! Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      20 stars! This recipe is so delicious. I had so much fun making these. I used 2 cups white whole wheat flour and 2 cups white bread flour, and substituted sugar for the honey since I'm not a fan of honey in my bread. This makes store bought pitas taste like dry paper! ha ha. Thanks so much for sharing this quick, easy and VERY YUMMY pita recipe! No need to even try others now! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      I have made this many times and with great sucess. I only use 1 tsp salt and i use a packet of regular yeast. i put it all in the bread machine on 'pizza dough'. i cook it on a pizza stone in my oven and it puffs up every time. i do also try to roll it slightly thicker so it can stand up to 'stuffing'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      Ok.. The day before yesterday I made white pitas. Today I made these whole wheat pitas. They, too.. turned out wonderful. Great flavor. Good dough to work with. I used the full amount of gluten and subbed sugar for the honey. More water was needed in my dough, but that could be due to many factors. I used King Arthur unbleached whole wheat flour. I made good use of my Kitchen Aid mixer and let the dough hook knead the dough for about 7-8 minutes. I let the dough rise for 2 hours. After that I punched it down and shaped into 8 smooth balls and covered 4 of them to rest for about 10 minutes. The other balls I wrapped and froze for a later date. I'm not sure if they'll work.. but it's worth a try. Anyway.. after the 10 minutes of resting I rolled the first 4 of them out and covered with a damp towel to rest for another 15 minutes. My oven rack is lined with unglazed quarry tiles so after preheating my oven to 500 degrees I just flipped the pita dough over and put it on the tiles. They took about 3.5 minutes and they were puffy and picture perfect. I turned them over for about 40 seconds and brought them out and wrapped in a kitchen towel to cool so they'd stay soft. This is a great recipe. UPDATE: I tried freezing the balls. I defrosted in the refrigerator in a custard cup (covered with plastic wrap) when I left for work. When I got home for lunch the ball was defrosted and I rolled it out onto a cutting board and covered it with plastic wrap. Two hours later when I got home from work I preheated the oven with the unglazed quarry tiles in it and flipped the pita over onto them. I baked for about 4-1/2 minutes, turning once. It was more beautiful than the day before!! The way it puffed up was incredible. The pocket was wide and the pita was light and delicious! WhoooHooo!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      I followed the recipe exactly (3 Tbls. gluten) and the pita breads turned out puffy, chewy, and wonderful! This is the best pita bread recipe I've ever tried. Great to go with homemade falafel. I'll be making these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      Review update: Here's what I have done to make this recipe work even better. It's nice and simple and quite good as is, but after having made it multiple times, I found a couple changes that were really helpful. First, I use the maximum amount of gluten and increase the salt to a scant tablespoon. I use half whole wheat flour and half unbleached white flour, rather than bread flour. And finally, I make 10 pita instead of 8, and bake them for 5 minutes. The pita puff up SO much better when they're smaller! We just had them for lunch with spicy lamb and Mean Chef's tzatziki.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I put all ingredients in my bread maker and let it go. The pitas turned out good, a little chewy but that's because I didn't have any bread flour (only AP). Good recipe, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      This was easy to make, and it was so soft! It was so much fun to see them puffed coming out of the oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      Out of all the pita recipes I've tried, this was the last one I expected to work- short rising times, mostly whole wheat flour, NO OIL?! The first time, I incorporated some "tricks of the pita trade" by adding a TBS of oil and other stuff. The resulting pita were nice and turned out far better than any other previous attempt, but most did not puff (though it was easy to create a pocket with a knife afterwards). Since then, I have tried the original recipe and they came out perfectly, all puffed and have wonderful pockets. I don't know how this works, it must be magic, but it works. Try the original recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      This was so good! I had problems with them puffing, but i am going to try it again after we move (our oven is a little funny... only one pita in each batch puffed). I also did everything by hand as I don't have the luxury of a mixer and used all ww flour. So with all those variables, they were still delicious. I served them with Greek Baked Fish (#76684) and hummus (#113622) for a delicious meal that we all loved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      What a superb bread recipe! This was my first pita attempt (although not my first bread attempt), and it couldn't possibly have gone better. Easy, quick (for a yeast bread), healthy and great results! All puffed beautifully and came out nice and chewy, with a great, well-defined pocket that's going to make great stuffing for sandwiches. I used regular yeast (not fast, but it didn't really seem to affect the timing), and King Arthur white whole wheat bread. I think 450 is a little hot for my oven -- mine were done in 4 minutes, honest. This is a keeper that will be part of my regular repertoire -- thanks so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      I added 1 T. olive oil to it. For some reason, the first 6 I cooked didn't puff and the last 2 did... I also changed it to 100% whole wheat flour and added a T. more of gluten. I loved the softness of them (even the flat ones were delicious and easy to split. They were great for dipping in hummus.).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Pita

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 221.8
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    30%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 585.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    wheat gluten

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites