Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Use up Those Green Tomatoes Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Use up Those Green Tomatoes Bars

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2010

      Super sweet, but set off nicely by the tang of the green tomatoes. The vanilla instead of lemon works well. Tomatoes vary a lot in water content, so be prepared to cook until thick. I just cooked it until I was ready with the crust, and then added some corn starch and water to thicken it to a jelly. Otherwise, it would have taken hours. Worked great. I don't understand the unsalted butter to which you add salt. Sodium isn't that critical in this recipe, and it is certainly not a health food. Look at the calories per piece! Use bottled lemon juice instead of fresh. It won't make a bit of difference. I also cut the sugar in the tomatoes to 1/2 cup, and it came out even better than the original. This is a good enough treat to bring to the church potluck.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I made these for my daughter and nieces. They liked them. I agree with the reviewer that said they tasted similar to a fig newton, only a bit more tangy. We did drizzle some frosting on them to disguise the green tomato look - the oldest niece and I told the younger two they were green apple bars. The odor does give off that it is made with tomatoes

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      This is really good. Saddly I have lost my tomatoe crop to late blight...and I can tell you I am feeling so sorry for the Irish who went through the potatoe famine(same disease different plants). Anyhow the extension agent said it was fine to eat the green ones that looked fine...so I have 30 plants worth of green tomatoes almost ready to turn red.......I did use 3 tsp.of cinnamon in the tomatoes, and 1 tsp. in the crust. I skipped the lemon extract. Also used a mixter of millet flour, barely flour, and reg. wheat flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Theese were great! they are similar to date bars. I even canned chopped green tomatoes so i can make theese durring the winter. The whole family loved them. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      Yes, this is an unusual recipe, but so many green tomatoes-what the heck. The bars center reminded me of fig newtons only with tomatoes. A little bland even with the lemon extract. I am going to make the bars again with vanilla extract and cinnamon or apple pie spice (not kidding about to many green tomatoes). That should do the trick!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      Very tasty - cooked salad sized green tomatoes and used a strainer to drain.
      My batch tended to stick to the pan after refrigeration. Was able to get them
      out in odd shapes, not neat rectangles - needed to have cut and removed
      the rectangles right after the pan cooled. Enjoyed them anyways, am
      looking forward to green tomatoes again next fall! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      In the words of my 4yoDD "wowie zowie!" These are sooo good. I followed the recipe, my only deviations are I added 1T of cinnamon to the apples and used vanilla extract instead of lemon. I simmered the tomatoes for 30 minutes, than another 30 and it was still much too runny, so I boiled it for 15 minutes and it was right. Thanks for the recipe, these are AMAZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      Deeeelish! You would never know that it is tomato. Next time I would tone down the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      We loved these! We had so many green tomatoes left over and this was a great way to use them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      This was a fantastic recipe! The only observation I have is that despite following the recipe exactly, even the next morning, it never did reach "bar" consistency - more like a fruit crisp. Anyway, everyone really liked it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Use up Those Green Tomatoes Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.1
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    35%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 85.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 19.2 g
    76%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites