11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great Biscotti. I did add a few thing to mine 1/4 cup each of white chocolate chips, pecans, and orange flavored cranberries. Worked out fine for me, just really have to adjust the cooking time a bit. Thanks for sharing the recipes with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bea A Gal... November 02, 2008

FALL PAC 2008: Tink - these are awesome. I love the color the blood orange gives these cookies!! Wonderful citrus flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose October 02, 2008

Yummy! This was my first time making biscotti and it was very good. I couldn't get a blood orange, so I used a navel orange, but only used 2 T. of juice since blood oranges are smaller. I'm not sure if that was still too much or what, but my dough was very soft, so I popped it in the freezer for about 5 min. and it was the perfect consistancy then. I also left out the white chocolate because I'm not a huge fan. I think next time I will use slightly more orange zest and almond extract just to give them a little boost. All in all I nice little biscotti! thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannah234 August 20, 2008

These are delicious. I made them for the ladies in my swim class and they really loved the biscotti with coffee. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajeanhill August 20, 2008

This was one of 3 biscotti recipes I made today. This recipe was excellent. I did not make it during the contest, because I could never find blood oranges. I used a mandarin orange which was sweet and juicy. I also used a tsp. of amaretta liqueur as I did not have any almond extract. I also had to cook this longer than the recipe called for - I increased the cooking time by 10 minutes for the first cooking and then lowered the temp to 300 and baked for 20 min. on both of the cut sides. It had just the right crispness then and had a wonderful flavor! Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trisha W March 01, 2008

I really enjoyed this recipe! They were slow to cook and brown the first time I baked them so the second time I made them I increased the butter to 1/2 cup and used 2 1/2 cups of flour and juice of just 1/2 of the blood orange. I shared them with my co-workers who loved them. I predict they will become an old favorite of mine in time. Wonderful flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manalee February 24, 2008

Subtle and addictive flavors in this sophisticated rendition of one of my favorite treats. I loved the soft honey flavor in the dough. Orange was less evident in the flavor but but laced into the honey created a unique harmony greater than each component alone. As a matter of personal preference, I might omit the white chocolate next time and add more nuts. Thank you for a wonderful submission and good luck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni February 23, 2008

The decision to make this one was a no-brainer. I mean, who doesn't love white chocolate, honey and orange? I hadn't worked with blood oranges before and my husband wasn't thrilled with their name, but I convinced him to try it with his morning coffee and he loved them! I followed the recipe directions exactly but I omitted the pecans due to a nut allergy. This biscotti was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Rosholt February 23, 2008

4 stars. These biscotti deserve 5 stars for taste. They taste soo good! I love the white chocolate chips with the orange. Mmm! Although golden brown on the outside, mine however, were only a little crisp just after baking but were not crisp in the days after baking. Perhaps a small reduction in liquid ingredients would make them crisper? None the less, a really delish biscotti. Reviewed for RSC #11.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE February 23, 2008

I love a good biscotti, and this one has the potential to be outstanding. I'm having one of these right now with my morning coffee, and they taste just a tad too sweet for my taste first thing in the morning, so I may reduce the sugar a little next time. I also found that the baking time was too little....at least for my oven. A few technical notes: The directions don't mention where to add the almond extract, so I almost forgot. Also, just about every biscotti recipe I've tried before, suggests turning the biscotti on their sides for the second bake. I did that for this recipe as well. I actually baked the original 20 minutes (which could have used another 5), then 10 minutes on each side of the cut biscotti.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy February 23, 2008
Sunrise Biscotti