9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

For a somewhat more healthy version, substitute applesauce for oil and greek yogurt for sour cream. This turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silkster June 11, 2013

Amazing taste with all the spices. Didn't have apricot preserves so I used strawberry and it worked out great -- moist and delicious. Now I'm not as upset about the prolific production of my one squash plant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryltoo July 13, 2011

Very moist and delicious. I had previously made zucchini bread, but never squash bread ... and I'm glad to have a recipe for it now for extra squash from the garden. I might add raisins or nuts to the recipe next time. Also, I only baked it for 55 minutes. A keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmkga June 28, 2009

Great moist and flavorful bread. I love to make my breads in coffee cans and I think I will try this one in one of them next time. This is a keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
True Texas May 10, 2009

I love this. Very flavourful and moist. It's the first time I've ever purchased apricot preserves (jam?); they really added a nice touch to the bread/cake. Next time I'll add nuts and/or blueberries just for a little something extra. Thank you for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vtopp September 09, 2008

Great recipe!!! I doubled the recipe and made 2 loaves. I also added chopped pecans on top before baking. I can see using this recipe for pumpkin also. Big hit with my neighbors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kupinskis July 28, 2008

Very nice recipe, almost like a carrot cake. I read the other reviews & squeezed my squash before adding. I was so excited to try this, as this is the first year I have had a garden. This recipe, however, is good enough to actually BUY squash for. Thank you very much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej July 09, 2008

This is a very nice bread, that uses up squash. I did not catch the part of squeezing out moisture, so mine was very very moist. Had to slice it and bake the slices. Did not take away from the flavor, which was very much like a spice cake. I will make this again, but will remember to squeeze out moisture and may salt and rinse it to ensure that it is drier. Thank you for posting this very nice recipe, that I will be fixing again and again as the plant produces so shall I. Your fellow zaarian Shirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: July 30, 2007

WOW! I usually have problems making moist quick breads, but this was fantastic. It was so incredibly tender and DELICIOUS! The spice was not overwhelming at all (but I did leave out the cloves since I was out). I also substituted softened butter for the oil, but only because that's what I had on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coopster July 22, 2007
Spicy Squash Bread