Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Spicy Squash Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Squash Bread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2013

      For a somewhat more healthy version, substitute applesauce for oil and greek yogurt for sour cream. This turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      Amazing taste with all the spices. Didn't have apricot preserves so I used strawberry and it worked out great -- moist and delicious. Now I'm not as upset about the prolific production of my one squash plant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      Very moist and delicious. I had previously made zucchini bread, but never squash bread ... and I'm glad to have a recipe for it now for extra squash from the garden. I might add raisins or nuts to the recipe next time. Also, I only baked it for 55 minutes. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Great moist and flavorful bread. I love to make my breads in coffee cans and I think I will try this one in one of them next time. This is a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      I love this. Very flavourful and moist. It's the first time I've ever purchased apricot preserves (jam?); they really added a nice touch to the bread/cake. Next time I'll add nuts and/or blueberries just for a little something extra. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Great recipe!!! I doubled the recipe and made 2 loaves. I also added chopped pecans on top before baking. I can see using this recipe for pumpkin also. Big hit with my neighbors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Very nice recipe, almost like a carrot cake. I read the other reviews & squeezed my squash before adding. I was so excited to try this, as this is the first year I have had a garden. This recipe, however, is good enough to actually BUY squash for. Thank you very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      This is a very nice bread, that uses up squash. I did not catch the part of squeezing out moisture, so mine was very very moist. Had to slice it and bake the slices. Did not take away from the flavor, which was very much like a spice cake. I will make this again, but will remember to squeeze out moisture and may salt and rinse it to ensure that it is drier. Thank you for posting this very nice recipe, that I will be fixing again and again as the plant produces so shall I. Your fellow zaarian Shirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      WOW! I usually have problems making moist quick breads, but this was fantastic. It was so incredibly tender and DELICIOUS! The spice was not overwhelming at all (but I did leave out the cloves since I was out). I also substituted softened butter for the oil, but only because that's what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Squash Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 208.8
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    36%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 34.3 mg
    11%
    Sodium 208.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 15.4 g
    61%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites