Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Sourdough Rosemary Potato Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Rosemary Potato Bread

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2008

      Oh my goodness! This recipe is wonderful! Sadly, I forgot to start the pre-ferment the night before, so I did it first thing Saturday morning. (Not sure why directions say to use a "non-metal" bowl - "non-reactive" bowl, maybe? I used the same stainless bowl I always use for bread with no problem.) Saturday evening (12 hours later), I made the dough and stuck it in the fridge for another 12 hours; when I pulled it out Sunday morning, it had filled the gallon zip-top bag. I turned it out into a lightly oiled bowl and let rise. By noon, the dough was rising above the bowl, and I shaped it into 4 small-to-medium sized loaves (there are just 2 of us - one loaf was perfect for a quick taste, dinner, and toast for one of us the next morning!). The scent of rosemary even while the bread was rising was amazing, let alone while it was baking. . . we did not spray with water while baking - baked the loaves 40 minutes, then brushed with butter when they came out of the oven -- perfect! This recipe is going in my "most favorite" collection! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      Excellent bread. I halved the recipe and formed into 2 loaves. In a hurry and, apparently, not paying attention when I mixed the preferment, I didn't notice until proceeding with the recipe the following day that I was supposed to have added the potatoes (I just added them to the dough then). I substituted olive oil for the butter, used the KitchenAid to knead the dough, and let the loaves rise in makeshift bannetons. I also steam my oven a bit differently. I preheat well ahead at a higher temperature (usually 500F; in this case,450F), with a heavy pan in the bottom of the oven under the baking stone. Immediately after I slide the loaves onto the stone, I pour about a cup of hot water into the pan (using a watering pitcher with a long spout), which creates a burst of steam. I spray the oven walls with water after 30 seconds, then 2 more times 30 seconds apart, then reduce the oven temperature and finish baking. (Note to anyone spraying water into their oven: Do not spray the light bulbs!) I didn't tent the loaves with foil, as I didn't feel they were overbrowning. Great recipe--thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      What a nice dough to work with. And the scent while baking was great. Tried the bread while still slightly warm with butter, yummy !! Then made chicken panini (roasted red pepper and havarti cheese), just a piece of heaven ! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Really great loaf of bread here. The only changes I made were to leave out the sugar and rosemary and add three tsp. of wheat gluten for lightness(I toned down the recipe to just one loaf). Love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      I adjusted this recipe to make dinner rolls for Thanksgiving. The only change I made was the addition of an egg, beaten in at step 4. The rolls were delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      Made this today and as previously stated it does make a huge quantity. I got 2 loaves and 5 large rolls. The only thing I changed in this recipe was to substitute the sugar for organic honey. It makes a really lovely loaf with beautiful taste and crumb. This will be one of my go to recipes for sourdough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2012

      Great recipe for a true taste of artisan bread. Before finding this recipe and getting started with sourdoughs, I used to buy two potato and rosemary sourdough loaves each week, paying almost ?4 each! I can honestly say (along with my family!) that this bread is truly as good if not better! And so easy!!! Try it toasted and buttered with your favourite thick soup. Mmmmmmm also makes the best cheese toasties

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      Terrific recipe for using my sourdough starter and the abundance of fresh rosemary I had. This made 3 huge loaves and next time I'll try to half the recipe and add more rosemary. I baked these on a stone instead of a baking sheet and the crust came out crispy while the interior was a perfectly soft and tender crumb. No problem with over browning. Although the recipe doesn't state to knead, I did knead for a few minutes after combining all ingredients until a soft and even consistency. Thanks for a great sourdough recipe to add to my repertoire!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      The texture of this lovely loaf is soft and springy inside while the rosemary scent is heavenly. We were very pleased with the outcome ~ A perfect bread for special sandwiches. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      I used the instant mashed potatoes as suggested and allowed this to sit overnight. This resulted in a very active starter that rose quickly and produced a wonderful product. I opted to make 2 baguettes and 8 burger rolls. We had the bread with dinner tonight and it is very tasty with a nice crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      This was a fantastic bread! I used real mashed potatoes and probably was a bit generous with the rosemary. My loaf rose quickly in comparison with some of my other sourdoughs. I think this bread would be great with an herb accent of thyme or garlic as well. In this case, the end produce had a soft-taste, which allowed me to pair with with a basil pasta without the two competeting with each other. VERY yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Rosemary Potato Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1940 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1630.1
     
    Calories from Fat 309
    19%
    Total Fat 34.4 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 20.1 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 82.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 2044.3 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 289.1 g
    96%
    Dietary Fiber 10.2 g
    40%
    Sugars 24.1 g
    96%
    Protein 36.1 g
    72%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes