12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A smashing success--everyone loves it! Same crumb topping my mother always used on her apple pies--also good with chopped pecans added. I have made this several times now using My No Roll Pie Crust #51537, pre-baked. I use frozen rhubarb as we rarely have fresh available--just make sure it's completely thawed--about 1 1/4 - 1 1/2 16 oz bags = 4 cups--cutting the pieces to even size. This one is best eaten the first day, in my opinion. Yummmmm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puffy Taco October 18, 2009

Perfect. Just like my German Grandma used to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJJohnson July 23, 2006

The flavor was outstanding in this pie, sweetness didn't overpower the tang of the rhubarb - it was a perfect balance between tangy, sour & sweet. But the consistency was VERY soupy. I'm not sure why - I followed the directions exactly. Unfortunately the runny filling will eliminate this recipe from my cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JWS June 30, 2013

Very good and a nice change from the customary rhubarb pie. Thanks for sharing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef unextraordinaire September 15, 2011

In a word: AMAZING!!! So simple, but delicious. Made this for my Grandma one day. She has multiple rhubarb recipes and decided this was also a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sep_thr33 February 23, 2011

Really easy and tasty pie as written. I did add about 1 t of vanilla and cinnamon to the second pie and it was YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie May 03, 2010

Simple recipe to follow with ingredients on hand. I was a little short on sour cream and substituted 1/4 c of vanilla yogurt to make up the difference. Delicious and beautiful pie, the crumb topping is especially terrific!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Todd's Wife April 22, 2010

Great dessert choice anytime! The whole family went crazy for this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LouLouIzSpoiled July 22, 2009

Voila! I've been searching for this recipe since 1999 when I tried it in a northern IN cafe. This is as good as it gets! Thanks for sharing. - - From a confirmed Rhubarb lover

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
912559 August 04, 2008

This is heaven. It is an easy easy recipe to make but is one of the most delicious pie recipes I have ever had. Gread with a cup of strawberries added too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim in North York Canada February 16, 2008
Sour Cream Rhubarb Crumb Pie