Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Rustic Country Sourdough Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rustic Country Sourdough Bread

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2014

      Excellent bread. Not my first attempt to make sourdough but one of the only ones to turn out great. Usually, I don't make bread in a bread tin but this rose very nice and very high. I made on loaf and a pan of cinnamon rolls. Loved it, will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      I made a half batch into one round loaf and it rose so big. Great smell, taste and looks! My only issue is that it did not taste like sourdough at all. Just a soft, fluffy white bread. I'm not sure if this is due to my starter or if this is because of the recipe. However, I enjoyed the bread nonetheless and my 3 year old kept coming back for more!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Great sourdough :)...I followed it best I could not having a mixer ;) or loaf pans ;) ;)- it was also a coldish damp day here {{in April in NJ-yikes i thought it was Spring already (!!!) }} - so I admit I had some rising issues to boot...BUT all in all, despite my own technical difficulties, I was SO VERY, very pleased with the results...:)- used olive oil, sea salt & added a cornmeal coating (extra of all 3 as topping too)...I forgot all about the melted butter, but I didn't feel I was missing anything...wonderful flavor (subtlety sweet 'cause of the Splenda-which was a pleasant surprise)...made a large flatish loaf that I cut into dinner rolls-deliciously crusty tops and airy melt in mouth interiors...super good...served with a veggie borscht and fermented slaw/kraut and a TON left over (froze some)...{{and just had one w/ tea as a late nite snack - :) lol...couldn't resist ;) }} made for "I Recommend" and yes I do recommend these... planning to make again asap...:) YUMMY!!!num num num!!! -Thanks for the recipe share ~Nimz~!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      Really loved the texture of this bread. And it is so flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      Easy to make. Turned out soft with a crispy crust (not like my usual bricks that can be used for door stops). Great recipe. Been growing the starter for over 2 years and finally decided to do something with it. It worked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      This was good bread. Thanks for the recipe and great directions. Looking forward to french toast with it in the morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      Delicious! The instructions were very easy to follow and I think this is the BEST sourdough bread I've made. I made this with PaulaG's Foolproof Sourdough Starter Foolproof Sourdough Starter. I substituted canola for sunflower oil and used real sugar instead of Splenda. Thanks ~Nimz~ you're awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This bead is really good! This is my first straight sourdough bread I made. I took it to a family dinner tonight at my in-laws and everyone loved it. I put a pan of water underneath the loaves and the crust was crispy with a soft inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      I made this last weekend and my husband loved it! He was so upset when it was gone that it looks like I'll be making another couple loaves this weekend! He made sandwiches out of this to take to work, and grilled cheese while home. It was very easy, especially since it uses my KitchenAid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Very good bread Nimz. I had a VERY hard time with the sourdough starter...where to get it for instance lol. But, once I got that issue figured out I made delicious bread with a crunchy crust. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I was delighted to find a recipe specifically for the Kitchen-Aid. I've made this recipe twice in the past two weeks. It makes the most excellent sourdough bread, and is quite easy. Thank you for posting this recipe--it's definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Wonderful bread Nimz, I followed the directions exactly; it didn't rise as much as I expected with both sourdough starter AND 2 packages of yeast - but think that was probably due to our cold, damp weather here. I only got one large loaf, but very good. It was a little sweeter than we usually have so next time think I'll cut down on the sugar and see what happens, or will that cause a problem with the rising??. I also added a 1/2 cup of multi-grain seeds to mine and sprinkled the top with a seed mixture prior to baking. It cam out lovely and I WILL be making this again - maybe when the snow melts. I served with Red Wine & Rosemary Sauce over Linguine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Yum, yum, Yum. I selected this recipe to host the Thanksgiving Leftover Sandwiches, and was very impressed. I paired VERY well with the turkey-stuffing-gravy-mayo filling DH and I opted for. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I have made this bread twice now, and this is the best bread I have ever made. I have done bread making for a while now, but haven't ever produced a loaf like this. I started PaulaG's Foolproof Sourdough Starter several weeks ago, and then started to make this loaf now for almost three weeks. I finally have a bread recipe that is easy, taste beyond delicious, and so enticing to smell and taste. I use canola oil otherwise stick to the recipe exactly. This all works out just great, and my DH loves this. Thanks, ~Nimz~ we'll keep making and making......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Very good! I halved the recipe, used half white flour, half whole wheat, olive oil in place of the sunflower. Great texture, wonderful taste. Tasty when toasted, fantastic when made into french toast (like Cracker Barrel's, just not quite as dense, which my family prefers). This will be made again and again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      Great sandwich bread. It was very easy to make in my KA and boy did it rise. I replaced the Splenda with sugar, and may have used a bit too much. Next time I'll measure more carefully. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      Where to start??? First of all thank you for an easy recipe. Its idiot (ME) proof. I can make,bake and cook anything I choose too but I seem to fall short in the bread department all the time. I have a beautiful loaf of bread cooling on the counter and 12 buns just waiting for supper sitting beside them. I will be giving the loaf of bread to my dad who loves his sourdough, he has eaten (choked on) my previous attempts. I am possitive he will actually eat the whole loaf this time. The only changes I made were sea salt instead of Kosher, didnt have any and the same with the sunflower oil I just used vegetable oil, other then that the only thing I did different was added less then a 1/4 cup of flour and kneaded it for a couple minutes because it was quite sticky. The baking instructions are right on and the dough rises absolutely beautiful. If you want simple, easy, idiot proof bread/buns this is it. Thank you thank you for this recipe it will be a lifer for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      This is a great bread. It was only the second one I made using sourdough and all of the family really likes it. I did use some wholewheatflour in it and it worked out great. I also halved the recipe. This is a keeper! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      You are definitely correct, this bread does taste so good and is soooo easy to make. You forgot to mention that it tastes so good. Love the fact that it is mixed with the Kitchen Aide. I made 1 loaf of bread and 8 jumbo size hot dog rolls. A winning recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rustic Country Sourdough Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (49 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.1
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    25%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 18.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 270.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Splenda granular

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes