Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Rhubarb Nut Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Nut Bread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2010

      I liked this bread a lot and it smelled so good baking.I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter and used applesauce for half the oil.I used two cups of frozen rhubarb and omitted the nuts.For the topping I used brown sugar instead of white and I added about a half teaspoon of cinnamon to that as well.This bread turned out really moist and I especially loved the topping.Next time I may even sprinkle some in the middle of the bread as well as on the top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Delicious! I liked the first batch so much I made two more-and on a 90 degree day! That's how much I liked it. I did use a pan for little loaves for two batches, and loaf pans for the other batch. I had to decrease the baking time for the little loaves by approx. 10 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      Yummy! Moist with just the right mix of tang and sweet. I wondered if I should have added cinnamon but after baking I thought it was fine without it. I did bake for 55 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      It can out very moist. Made as per recipe, I chopped the rhubarb in my food processor, next time I will chop by hand to get slightly bigger pieces and add some cinnamon. I must agree the topping is the best part. I baked it for an hour, and I maybe should have left it in a little longer but it was really good. Thanks for posting this fabulous and different bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I loved this bread! I am always a little nervous trying out bread recipes that aren't designed for high-altitude because sometimes they turn out really dry (I live in Colorado), but this one was perfect, and I didn't change any of the amounts. The tartness of the rhubarb is balanced perfectly by the sweetness of the bread. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      This was such a refreshing change, as far as sweet breads go! I had some frozen rhubarb from earlier this summer that I used. I didn't use the sugar and butter on top, but dusted the loaves with a bit of confectioner's sugar while still warm. YUMMY.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Had lots of cake recipes, but this is great- 2 loaves means one for me and one to give. Simple ingredients, too. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      Good recipe! The bread is moist but has a little tartness. Other recipes tend to downplay the rhubarb, where this one gives you a slight tang. I baked 6 loaves in small pans and the cooking time was closer to 60 min. I gave a few away and froze the rest in individual freezer bags for this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2005

      Love this bread! Moist, and sweet yet tangy. I used buttermilk and the pecans. Thanx for posting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2004

      YUM!!! This stuff is terrific! A very comforting taste---sweet and warm with the tang of rhubarb. I did not add nuts, as I didn't have any, and I made my own sour milk with white vinegar and milk (use about 1/2 tbsp of vinegar for one cup of milk). Thanks for posting, Bergy! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Nut Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1416 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2319.4
     
    Calories from Fat 932
    40%
    Total Fat 103.5 g
    159%
    Saturated Fat 16.5 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 113.1 mg
    37%
    Sodium 2060.3 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 328.6 g
    109%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 202.0 g
    808%
    Protein 26.9 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes