Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Rhubarb Lunar Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Lunar Cake

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2003

      This recipe came along at the perfect time, since I had both rhubarb and buttermilk to use up. The only thing that I did differently was add about a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to the cake batter because I thought the extra spice would be pleasant with the rhubarb. It had a nice coffeecake-type texture once baked, and tasted equally good warm and cold. I was sort of expecting the cake to be a bit sweeter than it was (judging by the topping ingredients), but it had a nice tartness to it. This would be a nice addition to a brunch menu, I think.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      It must be me. This tastes good but for some reason the topping all fell to the bottom of the cake and I ended up with a bit of a sticky mess. The top of the cake was smooth and looked like any plain cake. I baked it until it came away from the sides and was almost a dark brown - about 48 minutes. As it cooled it became obvious this wasn't what it was supposed to look like and when I cut a piece, it had a stick fruit and caramel bottom layer. I turned the cake out on a rack and the bottom looked a bit lunar but was decidedly wet and not fully cooked. It left a fair amount in the pan too. But it does taste good. maybe next time I will try cooing about 55 minutes. Don't know why the topping fell to the bottom though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      I'll definitely make this rhubarb cake again...loved it! Next time I will follow the recipe as written, except to reduce the amount of cinnamon...personal taste. Thanks Lezlie...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      All I can say is Wow! Fantastic cake, I love the sweet tast of the cake yet the tart of the rhubarb. So easy to make yet it taste like I slaved for hours. I did add a few chopped nuts to the top

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Absolutely scrumptious!!! My sister made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious with simple ingredients. Highly recommend this recipe....Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      I made this for our memorial day celebration and have never had so many compliments on a dessert -- I'm always the one who makes the desserts, so I've served lots of different ones. Every person at the gathering, including the ones who said they don't like rhubarb thought this cake was amazing. As another reviewer indicated, it is a fantastic moist and delicious cake. I'm interested to know if anyone has tried this with a different fruit and what the result was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      This was a fantastic moist and delicious cake! It had the texture and flavor of a coffee cake, which I loved. I made it exactly as directed and it did really take on that 'lunar' look. I think it would be great with any fruit - apples, blueberries, peaches....!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      My mother had this same recipe Magazine and used to make this cake when I was younger. It is my alltime favorite cake as I'm not a huge fan of overly sweet cakes. The topping is just sweet enough to mellow out the tartness of the rhubarb, while the rhubarb tones down the sweetness. I've been looking to find the recipe for this cake for years and was absolutely thrilled to find it here!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      What a great cake...and it does take on a lunar look when baked. I was given some fresh rhubard today and decided to try this recipee. Definitely a keeper. Wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      I really liked this recipe, mainly because the cake was very moist and the flavor was wonderful - kind of custardy, actually. If I made it again, I'd probably tone down the cinnamon a little bit; it overwhelmed the flavor of the rhubarb (if I hadn't put it in myself, I might not have been able to taste it!) Of course, if you really love cinnamon, that's not a problem :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2003

      The end result certainly does look like a lunar landscape! Its a delicious, moist cake and a very easy recipe. I followed it exactly but next time I'll probably increase the amount of rhubarb. What can I say - I love rhubarb & we have lots in the garden. Thanx Lezlie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Lunar Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1505 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4401.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1332
    30%
    Total Fat 148.0 g
    227%
    Saturated Fat 90.9 g
    454%
    Cholesterol 561.8 mg
    187%
    Sodium 4045.5 mg
    168%
    Total Carbohydrate 740.4 g
    246%
    Dietary Fiber 14.1 g
    56%
    Sugars 528.8 g
    2115%
    Protein 45.1 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites