10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love rhubarb and I have tried many recipes, but I always come back to this one. So simple, tart, and good! I have made this for years, and before that, my mom made it. I look forward to it every year. This is good as it is, but also warmed up with some ice cream or whipped cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl May 31, 2004

These bars are absolutely divine. While we usually go for tarter rhubarb recipes, these sweet bars are a firm favourite. They don't look like much, but my oh my, they are delicious! Thank you for a lovely recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee October 27, 2013

Made this recipe today with a few minor variations and it turned out great. First, I used my KitchenAid Mixer (rather than a food processor) for the crust, and it worked fine. Second, I split the recipe between two 9 X 9" pans and just threw in a bit more fruit. And, the last change was I substituted about a cup of rhubarb with fresh cranberries (though I'm sure frozen would work too). It was a great addition for this time of year and the bars are delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen F. October 07, 2013

I made this recipe this morning and took it to work. It was a big hit! Three of the people that tried it had never tasted rhubarb before and they said that it was delicious! I used some rhubarb that I froze last month and since it sort of wilted (was more compact), I only used 3 cups instead of the specified 4 cups. The only other change I made was to dust the top of the bars with some powdered sugar. Thank you for posting this recipe! I know that I'll make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm July 02, 2009

It wasn't very attractive, but it tasted wonderful. Sorta reminded me of lemon bars. May try again with some sort of topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djafishfria August 11, 2008

This was very yummy and easy to make. My husband gives it 5 stars, it was made just for him but it is so good he may have to share :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mummyof3 June 13, 2006

WOW !! My new favorite rhubarb recipe. I stopped at a client's house today and she asked if I liked rhubarb. I said yes & she insisted I take some of hers. Even though I had 6 of my own plants I took some & tried this recipe. I will be taking her a plate of these tomorrow. I used 5 cups of rhubarb & Splenda Blend for the sugar. The baking time was right on !! YUMMY

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie Cooper May 10, 2006

my friend marie makes thesee im glad you posted them so i dont have to lol these are good dee

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. August 31, 2005

Very good! I was short on margarine so I used some shortening. the crust had an odd taste. next time I definately will use BUTTER!! Over all, it was very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smsme_syd May 26, 2005

I made this recipe and it was a big hit. My DH loved it. I took some to a friends house for coffee, knowing if I left it at home,we would eat it in one day.This will be our new summer treat for our visitors, at the cottage. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 June 08, 2004
Rhubarb Dream Bars