13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for my german mother and she really liked it (as did the rest of us.) The cake was moist and was delicious with a cup of tea. I didn't have vanilla sugar so I added a tsp of vanilla extract, but that was the only change I made. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly Morton October 17, 2007

So, I did a lot wrong with this recipe... for example, I could not find Marzipan at the store, or Almond paste to make some.. so I substituted with about 1 tsp of Almond Extract.. Im sure it did not do the originaly recipe justice.. I also used crushed pineapple rather than chunked.. regardless, Everyone loved the cake! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laouli March 13, 2009

The only reason I'm giving this a 4 is because my guests claimed THEY loved it. I thought it could have used a bit more marzipan flavor (maybe I will add some almond extract next time?). Also, I baked it for 65 minutes and it appeared done, yet the outside was over baked and the inside bottom was under-baked. If I baked it any longer the outside would have burnt! None-the-less, I think I will try this recipe again sometime with a bit of tweaking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BruinKristin October 14, 2007

This was very good. I substituted Vanilla that I bought in Mexico for the vanilla sugar. My d/h absolutely loves marzipan and this fit the bill. Thank you !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valerie in Florida November 21, 2006

A beautifully moist cake - loved the marzipan in it. very easy to make and tastes great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NovaM November 20, 2006

A good recepie to try if you want something different. I used only plain flour and reduced sugar to 120 g, since marzipan is sweet enough by itself. I baked it for 1 hour 20 minutes and it came out perfect. I found it very difficult to mix almond paste with eggs butter and sugar, no matter how hard I tried it wouldn't mix in, I even tried to do it by hand. Once I gave up and added flour, marzipan seemed to blend in by itself easily. Thanks again for a great recepie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arichka August 16, 2006

Excellent! I had marzipan paste left from Christmas which I bought juct because I liked it. So finding that recipe was perfect from me. First time to make a cake using almod paste. But I was so glad I did!!! I baked it for 75 minutes but didn't turn out dark. A great recipe so glad you shared it with us, Sylvie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia June 15, 2006

I finally got to make this! I was waiting for my vanilla sugar to get ready. It was worth every minute I waited. I think I will wind up eating this whole loaf myself, yes it's that good! I do think that the instructions could have been a bit more complete for us baking dummies (I'm the leader). It did not say how large the eggs should be or when to add the baking powder, but since I'm not a complete novice, I figured it out. The next time I make this, I will also take the time to cut each pineapple chunk in half so they will disperse more through the loaf. Take a hint here, folks...plan to make at least two loaves at a time. This will go fast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Harry #2 March 22, 2006

Sylvie, thank you for posting this recipe. Just fabulous. The other reviewers really have said it all. So flavoursome, and so moist. And I love the idea of the different flavoured sugars. I followed your suggestions for making the vanilla sugar, but when the World Tour is over and I get back to this recipe, I’m going to experiment with some of the other sugars that Rita has recipes for, and also with making this recipe with other fruits. The instructions were fantastically clear, and when you start thinking other sugars, other fruits, scrumptious though this recipe is – everyone LOVED it - it’s also very versatile, and I’m looking forward to experimenting with it! One version or other of it, or maybe several, will certainly become one(s) regularly made!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder October 22, 2005
Pineapple & Marzipan Cake (Ananas-Marzipankuchen)