13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent cookie! I made them for Christmas gifts for my dad and another friend who is diabetic... thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SashasMommy December 14, 2010

Hi Engrossed, you are so right these cookies are amazing I went to my larder only to find I didn't have enough oats, I only had about one and quarter cup so I made it up with the oat bran as I had lots of that, and a half cup of chips was plenty. Next time I might put in some cranberries, I think that would work well. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny September 23, 2010

I will automatically give this 5 stars as it has two of my FAVE ingredients listed. P.B. and chocolate. I used regular Jif p.b. and followed the advice of a previous reviewer and split the difference w/the sugar as I didn't have Splenda Brown Sugar. Used 1/2 regular Splenda and 1/2 brown and white sugar. Turned out perfect. I also patted the dough down a bit b/f baking as they do not spread. FAB!! Thanks!! Made for Cupids Bev. Tag 08`

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB February 19, 2008

This were very moist and soft cookies. Loved how they were packed with oats. Makes a nice mid morning snack or breakfast on the go. Thank you for sharing. MAde this for Holiday tag game!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marz February 14, 2008

These were WONDERFUL! I've been trying to cut back on sugar and eat more whole grains. The only difference I made was I used Oat Bran instead of grinding up the first cup of oatmeal. Plus I used a 70% coco dark chocolate bar chopped up and added some walnuts and dried cranberries. DELICIOUS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Dawn October 10, 2007

Very yummy! I halved the recipe for 12 total cookies (prolly would've been 13-14 but I couldn't help snitching some of the dough) and also used real brown sugar (1/2 cup) instead of splenda because that stuff creeps me out. And I used creamy Skippy, which worked well, and creamed a lot easier than natural pb might have. Otherwise followed the recipe to the T. Very delicious, and the scent while baking is gorgeous. The whole oats do kinda give it a chewy texture, like eating raw oats, which I don't mind but others might. They spread out nicely without needing to be flattened. As another reviewer commented, maybe it's the real sugar...? I loved these. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaJ22 January 14, 2013

These cookies are amazing. I used 1 cup of regular brown sugar and they turned out fine. They did spread out a lot for me, maybe because of using the real sugar?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitsteel November 13, 2012

Great cookies! I replaced the splenda with real maple syrup and added 1/4 cup whole wheat flour to soak up extra liquid. The whole family loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl September 19, 2009

These were awesome cookies! I was grateful that they didn't have sugar or flour! My mom really enjoyed these small cookies and so did the rest of my family who can be picky when I make things without sugar or flour for my mom. Thanks for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomsawyer November 04, 2008

These were really different in a good way! I didn't have the brown sugar splenda blend, so I used 1/4 cup brown sugar plus 1/4 cup splenda. I used ground old fashioned oats, three egg whites in place of the two whole eggs to reduce the total fat and omitted the salt. When I finished mixing, the dough seems a little soft, so I added about a quarter cup of whole wheat flour (used every last oat that I had - otherwise I would have added more oats), then formed them into one-inch balls and smashed them with the bottom of a glass, which was a good thing since they don't spread. I did not get 38 cookies, I might have gotten 25 small sized cookies. Also, I'm pretty sure that this recipe could be used with regular peanut butter, the next time I make them I will try that as the natural pb I buy is over $5/lb! I used 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chips and they held together very well. All in all, these are nice little cookies that are low in fat and sugar while incorporating protein & whole grains.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI February 08, 2008
Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies