Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Paula Deen's Brown Sugar Chewies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paula Deen's Brown Sugar Chewies

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2013

      This recipe came out as I expected. It was delicious. I actually stumbled across it. It was a late night and we were all out of white sugar and we really wanted something sweet so my husband told me to google and see what kind of things could be baked with only brown sugar and this was the first thing to pop up. When I baked them they came out with a crispy outside and chewy center. Think of a caramel brownie. Thats what I told my husband they should be called. We were really in the mood for chocolate so we added about 1/8 cup of cocoa powder and it came out excellent. Its a must try. The other thing I love about it is that it was made out of things that most people have just sitting in the kitchen. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Five stars from the DH is a very rare occurrence, and that is just what this bar recipe received at our house. These are different from most bars I have made, they truly are "chewies," not cake-like or even cookie-ish. We love the brown sugar sweetness, and they pair beautifully with a hot cuppa coffee. Served on family dinner night for dessert with vanilla ice cream and a litttle caramel sauce topping. A refreshing change from chocolate. They taste old-fashioned and homey, and everyone loved them. Will make again and again. Thanks, Lainey (I should have known they would be good coming from you, that is my only daughter's name!)......and please thank Paula for us. ;]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      For being so simple (every one of the ingredients can be found in 99% of all kitchens) the outcome of this recipe tastes surprisingly complex. I made a batch on the fly, for no good reason other than we didn't have anything to end our fabulous Saturday night dinner. Five minute prep? Actually, this has the makings of being pit crew fast if you microwave the butter in a big bowl and mix your dry ingredients in the measuring cup. So it was a low mess recipe too! But the proof is in the chewing, so to speak. Buttery delicious chewy Heaven. Would be over the top delectible with a small scoop of vanilla bean icecream. The only downside to Paula Deen's Brown Sugar Chewies is that you have to wait for them to cool! But when they do, prepare to wreck your diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      I have to agree with Sherrybeth on this one. Loved the fact that these could be made in one saucepan and then poured into the baking dish...easy to make, easy clean up and yummy to eat. Chewy, not too sweet yet plenty sweet enough. I'm afraid we'll be eating way too many of these:) Thanks for posting Lainey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Yummy! You can't go wrong with butter and brown sugar. These are so easy and are a new favorite of my Hubby. I made them as directed only omitting the powdered sugar dusting. Made for the Gimme 5 tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Nice bar cookie. Very easy to make. I did bake 20 minutes but the ends were a bit too done. I will check at 17 minutes next time. Thanks for posting Lainey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      I've made these twice in one week. Very nice flavor and texture. Great quick and easy recipe. Be careful not to overbake; they will get dry the next day. If they last. Which they don't! Thanks for sharing....Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Nice, simple cookie with a good chewy texture. The kids and DH ate them up the same day, so they're a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I loved these chewies because I was able to mix them up in the saucepan and pour them into the baking dish. It only got a pot, a spatula and a baking dish dirty so there were few dishes to wash and clean up after. This went together very quickly and very well. It was prepared, baked and eaten within 30 minutes!!! The texture was perfect. Not too thick and not too thin. They were sweet without being overbearingly sweet as some of these brown sugar brownies can be. Thanks Lainey...I'll be using this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paula Deen's Brown Sugar Chewies

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.8
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    34%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 34.2 mg
    11%
    Sodium 100.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 23.9 g
    95%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites