Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Palo Verde's Green Chile Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Palo Verde's Green Chile Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2007

      My husband made this cornbread last night and it was AEWSOME. He used Benecol instead of butter, Wheylow instead of sugar, Eggbeaters instead of eggs and low-fat cheddar cheese. Decadent without totally ruining our diet. The best "from scatch" cornbread ever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      This was totally great cornbread! The only thing I did different is use 1/2 bacon fat & 1/2 butter and putting it with my Chile Verde & Mexican rice was one of the best meals I've ever made! Thanks! (but why Palo Verde? That means green tree in Az.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      Oh my goodness is this good! I didn't have any canned creamed corn so I made my own using a recipe from another site. I only had an 8 oz can of green chiles so I dumped in the whole thing (equal to 3/4 cup) but other than that I made it exact to the recipe. I'm not sure I would substitute the butter or other ingredients ... if you want to cut down on the calories a bit it easily serves 12 instead of 9 and still leaves you satisfied.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This makes a ton of cornbread. Next time I will reduce the butter by half and double the cheese. Very good. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      This recipe is AWESOME!! I like to make it as-is, but dicing my own green chile makes it even better. Nothing better than a great corn bread and a bowl of Chili. Enjoy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Very moist with great flavor and texture. I used a couple of jalapenos, which gave it a nice kick. I like sweet cornbread, so this was right up my alley. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Truly an outstanding cornbread! I made exactly as written, using canned green chilies. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. I served with Top Secret Recipes Version of Wendy's Chili by Todd Wilbur. Thanks so much, Galley Wench!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      It is very hard to go wrong with cornbread in this house. After preparing this, I felt much better about the nutrition facts. I halved the recipe and baked this in my divided cast iron cornbread pan. With half a recipe the yield was still 8 sections which is a full pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Palo Verde's Green Chile Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 437.6
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    52%
    Total Fat 25.4 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.0 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 143.4 mg
    47%
    Sodium 878.4 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 18.6 g
    74%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes