Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Ora's Deep Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ora's Deep Dark Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2009

      First off, this exact recipe is on the back of the Hershey cocoa powder box. Secondly, it really just did not taste that good to me. And it was horrible coming out of the pan! It stuck so badly. I would definitely recommend using shortening or parchment paper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      wonderful chocolate cake that was enjoyed by my family this cake is sweet so I just served it with ice cream, thanks for sharing Lynn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      I did half the cake like Mikekey. Cooked it for 27 minutes. It's so moist. Instead of using 1 cup of sugar, I used 3/4 cup. After it was baked, I let it to cool in the pan for 10 minutes then removed it on a wire rack to cool completely. I did this frosting : Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing and dark rich. It's so good. Thanks Lynn :) Made for Market tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Best chocolate cake out there for taste and moistness! Seems like it will be way too liquid but it turns out fantastic. Ora, what are trying to do...kill me? I could eat this until I pass out with a sugar coma. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      I've been using this recipe for years. I found it in one of my Hershey's cookbooks. That page of my cookbook is completely stained up with chocolate splotches! That, to me, is the true test for a great recipe! To me it has the taste and texture of an Entenmann's Chocolate Fudge Cake (which my husband and I love!). I frost it with a cooled rich chocolate glaze. It is the most requested cake in our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Very moist, i like the texture, loved it. :D i was giving it a test run before my boyfriend's birthday, i think im sticking with this recipe :D reminder to myself: VERY VERY YUMMY ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      After making a disastrous recipe from this site which shall remain nameless, I was paranoid this wouldn't turn out too but my fears were ungrounded. The cake itself had a great chocolate flavor and was tasty on its own. I didn't make your icing because I have my own recipe but thanks for sharing your recipe. I will make it again. It was moist and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Great cake perfect dessert

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      So easy and very moist! I made just half the recipe into a one layer round cake. I used half Splenda and half sugar and baked for 25 minutes. I also subbed orange extract for the vanilla, since I love chocolate and orange together. I topped it with a dollop of non-fat, sugar-free yogurt. This cake doesn't need frosting! Great snack cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      This cake has a wonderful flavor, but even after cooking only 30 minutes in a 9 X 13 baking pan--we found it to be a bit dry. Next time I would cook it between 25-28 minutes. I did make two substitutions--I used 1/2 cup of regular unsweetened cocoa and 1/4 cup of special dark cocoa because we love a rich, chocolate taste! Also, instead of using boiling water, I used 1 cup of hot coffee. You cannot taste the coffee in the cake; it just enhances the flavor of the chocolate. This was very easy to make. Thanks Lavender Lynn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      A very easy, deep chocolate cake. I mixed this together in my KitchenAid Mixer, but stirred the boiling water in by hand. I used a 9 x 13 pan and it was done in 30 minutes. Frosted with Creamy Peanut Butter Frosting. Thanks for sharing. Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      Very easy to make. When I make this again, I will bake it in a bundt pan and I will cook longer. The 35 minutes in the two round cake pans was not quite enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ora's Deep Dark Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.8
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    31%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 45.7 mg
    15%
    Sodium 502.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 40.2 g
    160%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes