12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This definitely isn't a recipe for kids only!
I was in high-need of a Orange cake recipe that didn't ask for butter, as it was a Sunday and I craved cake to no end despite not having butter in the fridge. So this recipe was a true life-saver.
I used a mixer,halved the sugar and added some Vanilla aroma orange zest.

My boyfriend exclaimed immediately that this was the best tasting cake I had ever made.

Highly recommended to people who might be in the same situation as I was ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liasse February 10, 2013

When I asked my son (6 years old) if he wanted to do a cake with me, he was so happy. He was happy to shake the bowl. The cake is so moist and airy. And the taste of orange is wonderful. The only thing I would change, is to reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup. Because me and DH find it just a little bit too sweet. But it's still yummy. Thanks Chef Flower :) Made for the Australian recipe swap for February 2012

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 13, 2012

Quick, tasty cake recipe. Nice light texture and subtle orange flavor. I would leave the salt out next time. Thank for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview September 05, 2014

Good and easy! Buttery flavor and very tender. Skipped the jar bu stirred together with a whisk in no time. Used Self Rising Flour [america], and with this sub would cut out the salt in the cake recipe. Frosted with a half recipe of Orange Icing. A quick dessert that everyone enjoyed. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama August 19, 2013

I made a few variations, it turned out so soft and fluffy. I did also cheat by using a mixer. As well as adding some orange zest and vanilla essence, I also couldn't resist adding a couple Tblsps flour and around 1/2 a cup or so of Milk. I think that's what made my cake. It was delicious!!! My 7.y.o son really enjoyed this cake for supper with a glass of milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Latte November 28, 2011

Great recipe- easy to make for kids and fun (though we cheated and used the mixer). Made this cake with my daughter Holly and it was enjoyed by my family. All said it had a good flavour. We iced with an easy icing sugar and orange juice icing and iced the cake while it was still warm. I didn't have the cake tin size called for so used a larrge loaf cake size....perhaps a bit big as our cake didn't rise a lot....but still enjoyed....I wuold use a smaller tin next time. Photo also to be posted

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** December 22, 2010

Made with my monkey see, monkey do grandbabe. This is comparable to playing a sport. Grandbabe was the pinch hitter and I was the cheerleader. Made for A-NZ #38 Recipe Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng March 06, 2010

This cake is a keeper! so moist and flavorful. A delight to make and devine to eat! Whatever your age, try it, you'll love it. Sorry kids, but your going to have to share your recipe with the grown-ups. Thanks Chef Flower!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OggiDomani May 01, 2009

Made this with my 5yo DD. She had fun counting the shakes by herself. Her arms got very tired after awhile though. The cake was nice and sweet, and the orange was a great change of pace from the usual white cake. We made it into cupcakes and topped it with some vanilla icing with orange extract and zest in it. Made and Reviewed for ANZ Edition 6 - Make My Recipe. Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ October 22, 2008

Aussie Swap#17: What a wonderful citrusy-taste!! I truly enjoyed this cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose June 09, 2008
Orange Shake'm up Cake