Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Orange Shake'm up Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange Shake'm up Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2013

      This definitely isn't a recipe for kids only!
      I was in high-need of a Orange cake recipe that didn't ask for butter, as it was a Sunday and I craved cake to no end despite not having butter in the fridge. So this recipe was a true life-saver.
      I used a mixer,halved the sugar and added some Vanilla aroma orange zest.

      My boyfriend exclaimed immediately that this was the best tasting cake I had ever made.

      Highly recommended to people who might be in the same situation as I was ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      When I asked my son (6 years old) if he wanted to do a cake with me, he was so happy. He was happy to shake the bowl. The cake is so moist and airy. And the taste of orange is wonderful. The only thing I would change, is to reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup. Because me and DH find it just a little bit too sweet. But it's still yummy. Thanks Chef Flower :) Made for the Australian recipe swap for February 2012

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2014

      Quick, tasty cake recipe. Nice light texture and subtle orange flavor. I would leave the salt out next time. Thank for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      Good and easy! Buttery flavor and very tender. Skipped the jar bu stirred together with a whisk in no time. Used Self Rising Flour [america], and with this sub would cut out the salt in the cake recipe. Frosted with a half recipe of Orange Icing. A quick dessert that everyone enjoyed. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      I made a few variations, it turned out so soft and fluffy. I did also cheat by using a mixer. As well as adding some orange zest and vanilla essence, I also couldn't resist adding a couple Tblsps flour and around 1/2 a cup or so of Milk. I think that's what made my cake. It was delicious!!! My 7.y.o son really enjoyed this cake for supper with a glass of milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Great recipe- easy to make for kids and fun (though we cheated and used the mixer). Made this cake with my daughter Holly and it was enjoyed by my family. All said it had a good flavour. We iced with an easy icing sugar and orange juice icing and iced the cake while it was still warm. I didn't have the cake tin size called for so used a larrge loaf cake size....perhaps a bit big as our cake didn't rise a lot....but still enjoyed....I wuold use a smaller tin next time. Photo also to be posted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Made with my monkey see, monkey do grandbabe. This is comparable to playing a sport. Grandbabe was the pinch hitter and I was the cheerleader. Made for A-NZ #38 Recipe Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      This cake is a keeper! so moist and flavorful. A delight to make and devine to eat! Whatever your age, try it, you'll love it. Sorry kids, but your going to have to share your recipe with the grown-ups. Thanks Chef Flower!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Made this with my 5yo DD. She had fun counting the shakes by herself. Her arms got very tired after awhile though. The cake was nice and sweet, and the orange was a great change of pace from the usual white cake. We made it into cupcakes and topped it with some vanilla icing with orange extract and zest in it. Made and Reviewed for ANZ Edition 6 - Make My Recipe. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Aussie Swap#17: What a wonderful citrusy-taste!! I truly enjoyed this cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      My boys had a blast making and eating this cake. We used fresh orange juice and felt that it tasted great just dusted with powdered sugar. Thanks for a FUN recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      This was so easy and a great project with kids. DD (almost 3) and I made this last night. I used egg substitute and applesauce for the oil. Made a great spongy cake. DH couldn't wait. Only thing, my cake took 30 mins in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange Shake'm up Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (2686 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2006.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1079
    53%
    Total Fat 119.9 g
    184%
    Saturated Fat 17.4 g
    87%
    Cholesterol 372.0 mg
    124%
    Sodium 1672.5 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 210.0 g
    70%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 110.9 g
    443%
    Protein 26.3 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites