Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Old Fashioned Chocolate Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Chocolate Pie

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2014

      I'd never had chocolate pie before, and was inspired by an American movie I saw the other day. I also don't have a sweet tooth but my family do, especially for chocolate. So I chose the recipe with no fuss involved and was so impressed with the results I took the present picture of it. But I used my own basic biscuit base, like making a big round shortbread with the chocolate poured on top. Like one of the other reviewers, I substituted the water with milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      This filling set up nicely and had a terrific texture, but it was lacking in flavor. It was missing any type of richness and tasted kind of watery. I would try using a different liquid, such as milk, in place of the water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      We have been making this pie for 3 years now...It is a family staple at Thanksgiving, and incredibly easy to make. Also great in a Graham Cracker crust!!!! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I like more of milk chocolate pie so I did not care for this too much. But my mom loved it, so I left the pie with her. She loves dark chocolate and so this was right up her alley. Thanks for helping me to make my mom's taste buds happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      I made a recipe like this a few years ago except it had cornstarch in it and it set much better. I'm not sure what I did wrong but it had the consistency of pudding, not pie like at all. I followed the recipe exactly. I prefer a much firmer pie. Maybe if I just added cornstarch...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      I made this for my mom's birthday and it was outstanding! I used a pre-made graham cracker crust, 1/2 regular Hershey's cocoa and 1/2 special dark Hershey's cocoa, and sprinkled Skor toffee bits on top of the whipped cream. Everyone loved it, including my picky 9 year old son. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Boca Pat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      Delicious pie. Very easy to make. A lot of HMMMM was heard as this pie was being eaten. Thanks Boca Pat. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2004

      I was a bit apprehensive about this recipe at first; it used cocoa instead of chocolate and water instead of milk. I tried it anyway, and am I glad I did. It was perfect. It had the richness and brownie-like flavor of my favorite baked chocolate chess pie, without all the work and time. An absolute winner, and my definitive chocolate pie from here on in. Thanks Boca Pat! Best chocolate fix I've had in ages!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2004

      Easy to make and the taste was out of this world!! Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Chocolate Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.9
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    34%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 209.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 33.5 g
    134%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites