Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Old Fashion Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashion Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2013

      This recipe was absolutely delicious and very simple to put together! I highly suggest it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      Thank You ! This Pie is easy to make and easy to love !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      Oops! I didn't follow directions correctly, and it still turned out great. Instead of pouring the sauce over the outer crust, I let the slurry cool a bit and stirred it into the cut up apples. That will teach me not to read directions first! Oh well--I just put a lattice top crust on, giving it an egg-white wash with a sprinkling of sugar and baked as directed. A beautiful looking pie...inside and out. Its taste is slightly different than a typical apple pie--I attribute that to half brown/half white sugar and 1/2 C butter. A nice combination and a little bit different than usual--thanks Nimz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      I have made this pie twice now, It's fun to make and the flavor is outstanding.... we served ours with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and let it melt alittle and it was to die for!!!! Thank you !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      What a great recipe ~Nimz~. We loved this ooey gooey apple pie. The flavour was incredible. The crust was flaky and tender while the apple filling and sauce were out of this world. One of the best tasting apple pies I have tried so far on this site. That said, I also had a little trouble with the caramel sauce, it was too thick, it wouldn't pour, so I added 1/2 cup of water to compensate. It worked great. The end result was truly a spectacular tasting home made treat. Thanks for sharing a recipe that has gone into my keeper box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      I had some trouble baking this pie. The liquid mixture somehow solidified and wouldn't pour. (I even repeated this part to ensure that I had the right amount of ingredients.) Anyway, I ended up pulling off the lattice and just mixing the apples in with the carmel sauce. The pie turned out to be quite unattractive, but I'm stilling giving it four stars because the taste was amazing. I might have to try it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2006

      I made this recipe several months ago and completely forgot to review it. I used Pie Crust for the pie crust and then followed the recipe exactly. This pie was heavenly!My only problem was it had a lot of liquid left when the pie was done cooking. Not a huge issue as I was able to compensate. The flavor is wonderful and unique. We'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      My son has been begging for this more of this pie! The caramel sauce is heavenly (I love caramel!) The bake time was perfect. I had some issues with my crust, so I ended up putting small cookie cutter shapes of crust on top instead of the lattice and it worked very well. It's best to wait till this is completely cool to cut it-the caramel needs to set-although it's sooo hard to wait when it smells so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      This was a delicious pie, which smelled wonderful while it was baking, and looked pretty when it came out of the oven! The taste was out of this world! Even though I poured the sugar/butter liquid slowly over the crust, it still ran off the pie a little. I waited until it stopped dripping, then placed it on a baking tray before setting in the oven. After the pie was baked, I let it sit for about 15 minutes before serving. The taste and texture was fantastic, and it was a hit with everyone! I have never tried pouring a syrup on top of a pie crust before, but I think it made the pie very appealing to the eye, and gave the crust a sweet, caramel-like taste. In step 13, I made the mistake of taking the pie out of the oven after only 30 minutes. (I was afraid the crust would overbrown.) I cut a slice, and found there was quite a lot of liquid inside the pie, and the apples were not quite soft enough. I placed the pie back in the oven, and baked for another 20 minutes, and this time, the liquid had absorbed, and the apples were soft. I would suggest checking the pie after about 35 minutes, and if the crust seems to be brown enough, it might be wise to cover the crust loosely with foil for the remainder of the baking time. Dmac, your family favorite has become our family favorite, too! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashion Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 410.9
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    46%
    Total Fat 21.3 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 193.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 32.1 g
    128%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes