9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was absolutely delicious and very simple to put together! I highly suggest it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcberrylicious December 01, 2013

Thank You ! This Pie is easy to make and easy to love !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karon M. October 19, 2013

Oops! I didn't follow directions correctly, and it still turned out great. Instead of pouring the sauce over the outer crust, I let the slurry cool a bit and stirred it into the cut up apples. That will teach me not to read directions first! Oh well--I just put a lattice top crust on, giving it an egg-white wash with a sprinkling of sugar and baked as directed. A beautiful looking pie...inside and out. Its taste is slightly different than a typical apple pie--I attribute that to half brown/half white sugar and 1/2 C butter. A nice combination and a little bit different than usual--thanks Nimz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers July 22, 2010

I have made this pie twice now, It's fun to make and the flavor is outstanding.... we served ours with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and let it melt alittle and it was to die for!!!! Thank you !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa in Oregon October 03, 2009

What a great recipe ~Nimz~. We loved this ooey gooey apple pie. The flavour was incredible. The crust was flaky and tender while the apple filling and sauce were out of this world. One of the best tasting apple pies I have tried so far on this site. That said, I also had a little trouble with the caramel sauce, it was too thick, it wouldn't pour, so I added 1/2 cup of water to compensate. It worked great. The end result was truly a spectacular tasting home made treat. Thanks for sharing a recipe that has gone into my keeper box.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato September 01, 2009

I had some trouble baking this pie. The liquid mixture somehow solidified and wouldn't pour. (I even repeated this part to ensure that I had the right amount of ingredients.) Anyway, I ended up pulling off the lattice and just mixing the apples in with the carmel sauce. The pie turned out to be quite unattractive, but I'm stilling giving it four stars because the taste was amazing. I might have to try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cndavis500 January 20, 2006

I made this recipe several months ago and completely forgot to review it. I used Pie Crust for the pie crust and then followed the recipe exactly. This pie was heavenly!My only problem was it had a lot of liquid left when the pie was done cooking. Not a huge issue as I was able to compensate. The flavor is wonderful and unique. We'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish January 05, 2006

My son has been begging for this more of this pie! The caramel sauce is heavenly (I love caramel!) The bake time was perfect. I had some issues with my crust, so I ended up putting small cookie cutter shapes of crust on top instead of the lattice and it worked very well. It's best to wait till this is completely cool to cut it-the caramel needs to set-although it's sooo hard to wait when it smells so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin August 23, 2005

This was a delicious pie, which smelled wonderful while it was baking, and looked pretty when it came out of the oven! The taste was out of this world! Even though I poured the sugar/butter liquid slowly over the crust, it still ran off the pie a little. I waited until it stopped dripping, then placed it on a baking tray before setting in the oven. After the pie was baked, I let it sit for about 15 minutes before serving. The taste and texture was fantastic, and it was a hit with everyone! I have never tried pouring a syrup on top of a pie crust before, but I think it made the pie very appealing to the eye, and gave the crust a sweet, caramel-like taste. In step 13, I made the mistake of taking the pie out of the oven after only 30 minutes. (I was afraid the crust would overbrown.) I cut a slice, and found there was quite a lot of liquid inside the pie, and the apples were not quite soft enough. I placed the pie back in the oven, and baked for another 20 minutes, and this time, the liquid had absorbed, and the apples were soft. I would suggest checking the pie after about 35 minutes, and if the crust seems to be brown enough, it might be wise to cover the crust loosely with foil for the remainder of the baking time. Dmac, your family favorite has become our family favorite, too! Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit January 31, 2005
Old Fashion Apple Pie