Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cake

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2004

      Great not too sweet snack cake. This smells just like chocolate chip cookies when it bakes. Yum. I did add 1 tsp. of vanilla and only had to cook it for 30 minutes. Do divide your chips...some are suppose to go on top according to the recipe. I also added 1/4c. of minced salted peanuts on top. Fantastic. Will be making this again and again. Betcha can't eat just one square.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      I was looking for a nice oatmeal cake recipe and decided to try this one. It is very good. I made a few changes. I did not add the chocolate chips. Instead, I frosted this cake with a simple chocolate/coffee frosting. I also subsitituted 3/4 cup of white flour with 3/4 cup whole wheat flour. It came out quite lovely......try it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Delicious! Slightly dense, so more of a snack cake than a birthday cake, but so good! I dont like cake but this one is definitely a keeper! So much more flavour and texture than normal cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      I wanted to update my review of this yummy cake. I made changes, I didn't use butter, I used applesauce, even tried replasceing with crushed pineapple and both were good! I have added cinnamon and peanutbutter.. I have not managed to screw it up yet! It comes out good every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I made this for work, but of course, we had to sample it. I asked my honey how he would rate it, and he said "5 stars" without hesitation. Needless to say, we loved it, and also love that it has less calories, etc., compared to the cake I had planned to make. Thanks lovemeangel!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I was assigned to bring desert today to a friends house for New Year's day dinner. It was a hit. First time I had ever made it and I enjoyed it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      I made something similar to this years ago and was so glad I found this recipe. This is a great every day cake recipe that's more like a snack cake instead of a fancy, over sweetened cake. We really liked it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      A few days ago I found this recipe. IDENTICAL to a recipe I had lost! Great Recipe!! Thanks for posting this! I tried this and it is the very same one! You just made my day!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      This was very moist and delicious. I didn't think 1 tablespoon would be enough cocoa, but it was perfect. I didn't reserve the chocolate chips for the top so I'll have to do that next time, and there will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      It's hard to believe this cake is so low in fat. It seems rich with the chocolate chips baked into the cake. Chocolatey good flavour. The cake goes together very quickly. Thank you, lovemeangel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      well i kind of made this cake but changed it for the non chocolate eaters and dieters in my family. first i deleted all but about 1T of the butter, baking cocoa and choc chips. and used applesause and raisons. i soaked the raisons with the oats to plump them and used old fashioned oats. i baked it as a bread not a cake and sprinkled cinnamon sugar and oats on top.. my results were fabulous. people couldnt stop eating it and it was so healthy and moist! thanks for a great starter recipe.. i'm sure the chocolate one is yummy too. i;ll have to try it sometime

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      I tried posting this one myself and discovered it was already here! This is a great little cake, very moist and chocolaty, easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      You just can't beat the oatmeal and chocolate chip combination! This cake is simple to prepare and it came out very moist. I took some over to the neighbors and they loved it and asked for the recipe. Thanks for ANOTHER great recipe, Pattikay in L.A.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      This made a very nice little snack cake!Great with a hot cuppa coffee or,a glass of cold milk.I shared half of this cake with my brother and his 3 boys.They ate it up in an afternoon!It was very moist with a nice crunch from the nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      This is a nice, quick snack cake; simple enough that the kids could make it on their own in the future, I think. It was a bit dense, sticky, and sweet to get the full 5 stars here but definitely a nice quick snack. As another reviewer noted, don't forget to reserve some chips for the top! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      I halved this recipe perfectly and put it in a 9x9 pan. My only dif was using almost a whole bag of milk chocolate chips instead of semi sweet. MMMM! My 3 yr old loved it as well as my best friend who came to visit. Thanks for an easy, yummy dessert:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      Really delicious! I was worried that it was a 'cake' and had no baking powder in it, but it rose up fine as you can see from the picture. It's really very chocolaty too! Great w/out frosting as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2004

      You beat me to posting this recipe! lol I have the exact same recipe, and love it. I originally got the recipe from a gal at my church...she had brought it for a potluck. I only make it when I'm taking it elsewhere, because it's just too irresistable to have sitting on my counter!!! Maybe that's the way the gal that I got it from felt! lol While I've never put vanilla in it, it seems fine to me without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 155.6
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    27%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 25.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 143.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 17.5 g
    70%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites