18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great not too sweet snack cake. This smells just like chocolate chip cookies when it bakes. Yum. I did add 1 tsp. of vanilla and only had to cook it for 30 minutes. Do divide your chips...some are suppose to go on top according to the recipe. I also added 1/4c. of minced salted peanuts on top. Fantastic. Will be making this again and again. Betcha can't eat just one square.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rheka March 08, 2004

I was looking for a nice oatmeal cake recipe and decided to try this one. It is very good. I made a few changes. I did not add the chocolate chips. Instead, I frosted this cake with a simple chocolate/coffee frosting. I also subsitituted 3/4 cup of white flour with 3/4 cup whole wheat flour. It came out quite lovely......try it!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5brothers March 27, 2011

Delicious! Slightly dense, so more of a snack cake than a birthday cake, but so good! I dont like cake but this one is definitely a keeper! So much more flavour and texture than normal cakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
je1nnalk June 23, 2010

I wanted to update my review of this yummy cake. I made changes, I didn't use butter, I used applesauce, even tried replasceing with crushed pineapple and both were good! I have added cinnamon and peanutbutter.. I have not managed to screw it up yet! It comes out good every time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ex Tow Boat Cook May 24, 2010

I made this for work, but of course, we had to sample it. I asked my honey how he would rate it, and he said "5 stars" without hesitation. Needless to say, we loved it, and also love that it has less calories, etc., compared to the cake I had planned to make. Thanks lovemeangel!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scottie's Girl March 29, 2009

I was assigned to bring desert today to a friends house for New Year's day dinner. It was a hit. First time I had ever made it and I enjoyed it. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pappy4 January 01, 2009

I made something similar to this years ago and was so glad I found this recipe. This is a great every day cake recipe that's more like a snack cake instead of a fancy, over sweetened cake. We really liked it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandikaake November 08, 2008

A few days ago I found this recipe. IDENTICAL to a recipe I had lost! Great Recipe!! Thanks for posting this! I tried this and it is the very same one! You just made my day!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dj's Eagles March 22, 2008

This was very moist and delicious. I didn't think 1 tablespoon would be enough cocoa, but it was perfect. I didn't reserve the chocolate chips for the top so I'll have to do that next time, and there will be a next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FunWorld123 October 08, 2007

It's hard to believe this cake is so low in fat. It seems rich with the chocolate chips baked into the cake. Chocolatey good flavour. The cake goes together very quickly. Thank you, lovemeangel.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin-jo October 01, 2007
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cake