20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh, yeah...a definite five star recipe! =)Your mom's method of making a chocolate syrup to add to the batter is a new one for me. (I cooled this syrup a bit before adding to flour. Thought it might make the cake dry if it was too hot. How do you do it?) I am sooo happy you shared this family treasure. It certainly was a great hit at work.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook September 05, 2003

Sounds like Texas Sheet Cake

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fritter February 26, 2006

This was delicious! And so easy to make! My only problem with the recipe was that it didn't specify how long to boil the cocoa mixture. So I just let it boil for about thirty seconds. I made it in a shaped Dora the Explorer pan for my son's birthday, and it was so so good. Got nothing but compliments on it. I topped it with buttercream frosting instead of what was in the recipe though, because we needed to color the icing. The cake itself was gorgeous; our decorating left a little to be desired, but it tasted fantastic. Thanks so much for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth March 23, 2004

This cake was absolutely delicious! I didn't put all the frosting on it, instead I served the cake warm with a dollop of cool whip and then drizzled the frosting over that and it was wonderful. Nice and chocolatey but not overpoweringly rich at all! Would be absolutely wonderful with some vanilla ice cream, kinda reminded me of the applebees cake with the white chocolate center obviously without the white chocolate center but the chocolate and frosting part tasted like that!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarahcw80 March 21, 2004

Hi Jude, i tried making this cake twice but could not achieve the fluffy chocolate cakes we see in bakeries-mine felt rubbery. May i know what flour did you use? Was it plain flour/cake flour/self-raising flour? Really lost here as i am still quite new to baking cakes. Many Thanks!:) P/S: i have posted a picture of how my cake turned out on both occasions. Hope that you guys could give me some advice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane's Kitchen February 07, 2009

This was really good. It was my first chocolate cake. I will be making this again. It was easy and fun to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chargirl December 17, 2008

Tastes delicious like Texas Sheet cake. The ingredients are almost identical. Only this recipe uses buttermilk and the other uses sour cream. Great both ways.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB April 27, 2007

This was fun and easy to make! The cake has a very nice texture. The only thing I did different was to add a teaspoon of vanilla to the frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Avoda October 17, 2006

The cake was certainly good, but the taste was too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azmilah January 26, 2006

A friend used to make this cake and I always loved it. I made it today for my DS birthday and it's as good as I remembered!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea December 14, 2005
My Mom's Chocolate Cake