Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / My Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Mom's Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2003

      Oh, yeah...a definite five star recipe! =)Your mom's method of making a chocolate syrup to add to the batter is a new one for me. (I cooled this syrup a bit before adding to flour. Thought it might make the cake dry if it was too hot. How do you do it?) I am sooo happy you shared this family treasure. It certainly was a great hit at work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Sounds like Texas Sheet Cake

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2004

      This was delicious! And so easy to make! My only problem with the recipe was that it didn't specify how long to boil the cocoa mixture. So I just let it boil for about thirty seconds. I made it in a shaped Dora the Explorer pan for my son's birthday, and it was so so good. Got nothing but compliments on it. I topped it with buttercream frosting instead of what was in the recipe though, because we needed to color the icing. The cake itself was gorgeous; our decorating left a little to be desired, but it tasted fantastic. Thanks so much for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      This cake was absolutely delicious! I didn't put all the frosting on it, instead I served the cake warm with a dollop of cool whip and then drizzled the frosting over that and it was wonderful. Nice and chocolatey but not overpoweringly rich at all! Would be absolutely wonderful with some vanilla ice cream, kinda reminded me of the applebees cake with the white chocolate center obviously without the white chocolate center but the chocolate and frosting part tasted like that!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Hi Jude, i tried making this cake twice but could not achieve the fluffy chocolate cakes we see in bakeries-mine felt rubbery. May i know what flour did you use? Was it plain flour/cake flour/self-raising flour? Really lost here as i am still quite new to baking cakes. Many Thanks!:) P/S: i have posted a picture of how my cake turned out on both occasions. Hope that you guys could give me some advice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This was really good. It was my first chocolate cake. I will be making this again. It was easy and fun to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      Tastes delicious like Texas Sheet cake. The ingredients are almost identical. Only this recipe uses buttermilk and the other uses sour cream. Great both ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      This was fun and easy to make! The cake has a very nice texture. The only thing I did different was to add a teaspoon of vanilla to the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      The cake was certainly good, but the taste was too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

      A friend used to make this cake and I always loved it. I made it today for my DS birthday and it's as good as I remembered!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      Pretty good. I was hoping for something a little more chocolate-y, but certainly easy to make. It seemed to taste better after sitting a few hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      I was looking for a nice easy buttermilk chocolate cake, and this was definitely it. Fast and simple. Delicious and with a wonderful moist texture. The frosting was great too - I sprinkled sliced almonds on the top. Yum. I don't have a jelly roll pan, so I used a 9x12 pyrex pan, and cooked for about a half hour on 375. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      My mom (and now I) Have this same exact recipe!! It is so funny because a friend of my mothers made it and gave it to my mom. Mom asked if she could have the recipe and the lady changed it so it wouldn't taste the same! Little did she know mom would figure it out somehow! It is the perfect chocolate cake and I've never met anyone who doesn't like it. Thanks for posting and sharing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      THIS IS THE PERFECT SNACK CAKE!! Hey Jude, please thank your mom for me for supplying this recipe to you to share! My husband usually cuts his cake in half and only eats the upper half to maximize the frosting to cake ratio. He didn't have to alter this cake. The cake was the perfect size and the frosting was perfect! Very easy to follow instructions for a wonderful snack cake! Thanks again, Hey Jude. I will be making this cake often in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      Yummy! Eating this as I type & it is delicious! My son who is a picky dessert eater loves it! A nice cake to decorate as there is lots of "writing" space. I had to call my neighbor to find out a jelly roll pan is just a cookie sheet with edges, lol! Enjoy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2004

      very very moist and yammy!!!I try not to eat too much at a time because it has too much calories, but I couldn't help....just too delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2004

      This is exactly the stuff my aunt used to make when I was a kid. This is the perfect chocolate cake/bar in my opinion...easy, chocolatly, yet not cloying or too sweet. Thanks so much for pointing me towards this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      Oh my goodness, Jude...this is the exact cake my mom used to bake for special occasions! It's also the very first thing I learned to bake when I was just a little girl(pre-teen). Thanks for posting this fabulous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2003

      Easy, tasty, fudgy, chocolatey... What more could one want? Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2003

      I don't hesitate to add the hot syrup to the dry ingredients. That's what makes this cake so wonderful....I can whip it up in about 1/2 hour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Mom's Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 291.2
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    38%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 48.5 mg
    16%
    Sodium 146.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 35.5 g
    142%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes