19 Reviews

This was an excellent chocolate pie recipe, I have been trying out quite a few chocolate pie recipes on zaar, and so far i have found them all to be five stars and company worthy. I cut this recipe in half to make one pie, and based on the posters suggestions I upped the cocoa and cornstarch. So I used 4T cocoa and 4T cornstarch. Did not do meringue but whipped cream instead. I was a bit concerned when this pie "jiggled" after being chilled overnight but the consistency was great!firm and cut like a dream. Great pudding type chocolate pie!thnks,PeggyLynn

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggy Lynn March 17, 2005

THIS IS THE PIE. . . . . the one I've been looking for since 1989! My aunt, who was like my grandmother, would be 107 if still alive and this is the pie recipe she blessed us with all my life - no other could march it. Cooked by pinches of this and handful of that. I measured everything several years before her death and managed to lose the loose paper I wrote it on. No one else in any branch of the family had it. I can't be more thrilled and it's the right timing as I am preparing a family cookbook of the beloved old and new recipes as 2011 Christmas gifts. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady October 16, 2010

I wish I could give it more stars!! I followed the recipe as written, and used real whipped cream instead of meringue. It was the best chocolate pie I have ever made. I made them for an early Easter dinner with my side of our family and everyone went for seconds. I will be making them for our Easter dinner with the in-laws this weekend. I will NEVER use boxed pudding for pie again. Thank you so much for such a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chardman April 11, 2006

The widow next door used to make one of these every time I did a chore for her for many years. After a few years of enjoying this marvelous treat I asked her for the recipe which she typed out and e-mailed to me.<br/><br/>I sent a note back explaining that I had found a serious error in the recipe. She rushed over the next day (as fast as a lady in her seventies could rush) and she asked for the error, when I hesitated she demanded the error. At the bottom of the page she had written "Serves 8", I told her that the recipe only served ONE.<br/><br/>She started to scold me but stopped and asked "Did you eat that all in one sitting?" I replied "No, I ate half last night for dinner and the other half for breakfast."

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpb357a October 15, 2014

Excellent chocolate pie!! I made this pie for my hubby to take to his work's Christmas party and everyone love it and raved on it wanting the recipe. I topped my pie with a whipped topping rather than a meringue. This is the one that I will make anytime I want to make a chocolate pie. It took a while for the pudding to start to get bubbly but it was definitely worth the wait! I made it exactly as stated too as I would never rate a recipe if I had changed it up any, that's just not fair to the recipe poster. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Regina00214 December 18, 2014

I followed the recipe to a T and it was HORRIBLE! The filling was so runny, even after leaving in the oven wayyyyy longer than what should be necessary. So disappointed. After reading the reviews I was expecting this to be like a taste of heaven. Starting to wonder if these are all fake/paid reviews...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsgarza July 14, 2013

Delicious and really easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover March 14, 2013

I made this for my neighborhood dinner club. Everyone loved it and several said it was the best chocolate pie they had ever eaten! I will definitely be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelly5tex January 13, 2008

Miss Danzy...I can't believe I never submited my review for your wonderful pie. I have made this several times and it's my #1 favorite chocolate pie. Thanks for sharing lovely lady.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burrheadssis August 08, 2007
My Grandma's Chocolate Pies