Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / My Grandma's Chocolate Pies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Grandma's Chocolate Pies

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2005

      This was an excellent chocolate pie recipe, I have been trying out quite a few chocolate pie recipes on zaar, and so far i have found them all to be five stars and company worthy. I cut this recipe in half to make one pie, and based on the posters suggestions I upped the cocoa and cornstarch. So I used 4T cocoa and 4T cornstarch. Did not do meringue but whipped cream instead. I was a bit concerned when this pie "jiggled" after being chilled overnight but the consistency was great!firm and cut like a dream. Great pudding type chocolate pie!thnks,PeggyLynn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      THIS IS THE PIE. . . . . the one I've been looking for since 1989! My aunt, who was like my grandmother, would be 107 if still alive and this is the pie recipe she blessed us with all my life - no other could march it. Cooked by pinches of this and handful of that. I measured everything several years before her death and managed to lose the loose paper I wrote it on. No one else in any branch of the family had it. I can't be more thrilled and it's the right timing as I am preparing a family cookbook of the beloved old and new recipes as 2011 Christmas gifts. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      I wish I could give it more stars!! I followed the recipe as written, and used real whipped cream instead of meringue. It was the best chocolate pie I have ever made. I made them for an early Easter dinner with my side of our family and everyone went for seconds. I will be making them for our Easter dinner with the in-laws this weekend. I will NEVER use boxed pudding for pie again. Thank you so much for such a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      I followed the recipe to a T and it was HORRIBLE! The filling was so runny, even after leaving in the oven wayyyyy longer than what should be necessary. So disappointed. After reading the reviews I was expecting this to be like a taste of heaven. Starting to wonder if these are all fake/paid reviews...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      Delicious and really easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

    • on January 13, 2008

      I made this for my neighborhood dinner club. Everyone loved it and several said it was the best chocolate pie they had ever eaten! I will definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      Miss Danzy...I can't believe I never submited my review for your wonderful pie. I have made this several times and it's my #1 favorite chocolate pie. Thanks for sharing lovely lady.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      Oh, I'll definitely be making this one again! I'm just sorry I only had enough eggs to make one pie! The pudding is scrumptious and I'd be happy devoured it by itelf, but combined with the meringue in a pie crust, it's spectacular. Thank you for sharing this recipe! Edited because I realized I hadn't actually given it any stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      This pie was great, my mother-in-law said it was the best chocolate pie she has ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      I love this Pie, nice and rich chocolate taste. I made a graham cracker crust (with brown sugar) and topped each slice with whipped topping. I used the leftovers for pudding - I like to warm mine up and put whipped topping on top, tastes like thick hot chocolate. I'll be making this many more times to come. Thank you so much for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      Wow. These pies are truly fantastic! My only changes were using half extra dark cocao and half regular and skim instead of whole milk (all I had on hand). Boy oh boy were these good! I did one with meringue and one with whipped cream, and both were gone before the night was over. I had a little extra pudding and I was gonna save it, but it never made it off the spoon without landing in someones mouth. One of the best recipes I've ever tried. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      this pie was really good, even I who's not much of a chocolate fan found this pie really delightful, and the filling is so easy to make and soooooo wonderfully creamy, we all loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      All I can say is OMG you have to try this recipe! The most creamy and tasty chocolate pie ever! The texture is incredible. I used Penzey's cocoa and my homemade vanilla. I made ten of these to take into the hospital as a thank you but only 8 are making it there! thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2004

      Hey I never heard of a 15 ounce can of evaporated milk only 12 so wasnt sure what to do?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      A fabulous creamy and rich chocolate filling! Instead of filling two pies I ended up filling to the brim my restaurant style pie pan and having a bit left over to eat as pudding! Yummy. I left off the meringue for I am the only one in this household that will eat it and I didn't want my hips to reap the benefits of me eating the pie by myself!...lol......If I had put the meringue on this gorgeous pie I know it would be fit for the centerfold of any cooking magazine! Thank you for sharing your Granma's recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      As soon as I finished writing my comments about this in EE, I went and made sure that I had all the ingredients on hand. It turned out wonderfully and it tasted just like my grandmothers. My kids were in heaven and so was I. I love anything chocolate and this will just about fix that need. Very easy to make. This was my first attempt with meringue and I have to say it came out awesome. Thanks for plugging your recipe. It was the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Grandma's Chocolate Pies

    Serving Size: 1 (2579 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2607.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1020
    39%
    Total Fat 113.4 g
    174%
    Saturated Fat 52.7 g
    263%
    Cholesterol 805.9 mg
    268%
    Sodium 1905.9 mg
    79%
    Total Carbohydrate 350.8 g
    116%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 244.8 g
    979%
    Protein 58.0 g
    116%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites