Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Mom's Gingersnaps Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Gingersnaps

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2002

      These soft gingersnaps are exactly the cookie I have been looking for! They're very easy to make, and the dough keeps well in the fridge for a day or so if you don't want to make the whole batch at once. I baked them (one-inch balls) for exactly 10 minutes -- they look like they're not done when you take them off the pan, but they firm up quickly so, if you want a soft cookie, don't bake them any longer. Absolutely delicious, LeeAnn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2002

      These were so good, and smelled so delicious while baking, I couldn't wait for the first batch to cool to try one. Was really wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      Hi i recently did this recipe and it turned out to be a hit ..everyone loves them so much .. so i didn't have ginger so u used all spice and they still tasted amazing .. I will be doing this recipe again and this time i have ginger LOL ..thanks so much .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      Very nice little cookies. Made exactly as stated with the exception of rolling them in sugar, got 40 cookies and they baked for 11 minutes. Good strong (we like that!) ginger taste.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      these were pretty good...i think that I like a stronger flavored gingersnap but if you are looking for something with a mild flavor, give these a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I'm not giving a star rating on this recipe because my problem might have been my own fault. The cookies had good flavor but despite following the recipe exactly, my cookies spread out and got very thin and burned on the edges and broke apart when I took them off of the cookie sheet. I'm wondering if my problem was because I let the dough rest in the fridge while I made other cookie doughs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      ive never had gingersnaps before, and now...wow, theyre my second favorite cookie. this recipie was super easy ans super tasty. i had to replace the molasses with honey since i never have molasses, and instead of an egg, i used 2 tbs of water and 2 tsp of baking powder since im a vegan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      These were quite tasty although I did double the spices as I like a very spicy gingersnap. The texture was crisp but soft. I sent these to work with my hubby and everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      These were good cookies. I made most of them soft, cooking around 8 minutes, and a few of them I cooked 12 minutes. I prefer the soft ones. The spices and molasses flavor was good but not overwhelming. I think if I make them again I will add more spices and molasses to give them more kick. Thanks for the recipe! OH I got 40 cookies. I made aprox. 1 inch balls that made aprox 2 inch cookies. (Plus I ate a little dough before I could get it in the oven. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Thank you LeeAnn this was a great recipe!! I'm not exactly what my yield was since the kids and DH were grabbing them as they cooled. I was able to rescue 2 1/2 dozen from the grabby hands! I'll be making another batch for my goodie trays! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      Absolutely yummy!!! I didn't roll them in sugar, because the dough tasted sweet enough. I used fresh grated ginger, and added a dash of freshly grated nutmeg. I've also found that refrigerating the dough for ten minutes before rolling into balls made it easier to handle. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Delicious! I used 1 T of ginger and decided that I wouldn't want to use more than that. I like cookies less sweet, so I didn't use any sugar to roll the cookies. Still these are plenty sweet. If you put make one inch balls, you get nice little 1 1/2- 2 inch domes. They don't spread much, so you can put them fairly close on the pan. These are great as chewy cookies. I baked them for 9 minutes... they looked done, but were still chewy inside. Wonderful hot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      Wow! These turned out so great...despite a blunder of my own, where I mixed in sugar with the dry ingredients and had to throw everything out! However, I started over and followed the recipe to a t, though I added a little extra ginger being a huge ginger fan. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      These cookies are fantastic!! I'll be making these for years to come! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2006

      Just had to add my 5 stars to the list - these are just what I wanted them to be - spicy, sweet, and a great texture - easy to make and economical as well. A terrific cookie recipe - thanks for sharing !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      Saw all the great reviews and had to try them myself. Not disappointed in the least!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      PERFECT!!These were just perfect. Perfect texture and perfect taste. I made two batches of these today. I used a teaspoon full and I somehow got exactly three dozen from both batches. Baked them for 10 minutes and my husband is now in heaven. These are his favorite cookies and I have now gotten rid of all the other Gingersnap cookie recipes. This will be our recipe from now on. Thank you so much for the recipe.:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      I'm so embarassed that I have not reviewed this recipe. This has been a favorite in our house for 3 years now at Christmastime! I have had people tell me that they are the best gingersnaps they have ever had, and I have to agree! They are awesome!!! I make them exactly as directed. If you like gingersnaps, and you haven't had these, you MUST MAKE THEM NOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      These had wonderful flavor! I served these on Thanksgiving with Pumpkin Pie Dip & everyone raved! These were soft & excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2004

      These are very good! I might have done something wrong because the dough was way too sticky to roll, but I dropped the dough on the cookie sheet and sprinkled sugar on top, and they turned out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Gingersnaps

    Serving Size: 1 (849 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.9
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    37%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 10.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 59.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites