17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent cookies!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doods December 24, 2014

Delicious! Chewy with a nice cracked finish. Just what I was looking for..thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes November 23, 2010

Made these tonight. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out wonderfully. AND I actually got 4 dozen cookies when it said I'd get 4 dozen. That NEVER happens for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann July 27, 2010

My empty cookie jar says it all! I made these this afternoon and they are just about gone. I cooked them for 10 minutes so that they would be on the softer side. I also sprinkled the cookie sheet with a little bit of water before cooking. Don't know if it makes a difference, but I remembered seeing that in a Betty Crocker recipe once to help make them soft. Thank you for posting a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjellis January 03, 2010

I don't even have to make THIS specific recipe to tell you how good these cookies taste and smell! This is a classic recipe that has been made in our home since the 1963 introduction of the Betty Crocker's Cookie Cookbook, page 143. This was a favourite cookie during The Great Depression and hung onto it's title for 5 years! You didn't need butter or many eggs to make it and it helped lift the Economic Blues that the country was going through. Seems like it's the PERFECT time to reintroduce this lovely cookie during our current economic crisis. I love how it tastes, looks, and how good the aroma makes the home smell. A perfect Autumn cookie!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef October 10, 2009

This is the same recipe my mom uses (although she uses 1 tsp ginger instead of 1 1/2 tsp). we love these cookies!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks May 24, 2009

Ohhhhh....the smell alone is worth 5stars Sharon. What an aroma. I absolutely love the smell of all these spices mingled together and then into a cookie with molasses. This momma's in heaven. Thanks for a fabulous keeper. The only thing I opted out of was rolling them in additional sugar. Personal preference. Made for ZaarStars~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB November 02, 2008

wonderful molasses cookies! I did one small addition to this and added in a pinch of cayenne pepper for more spice, although next time i will try half butter and shortening or use all butter, thanks Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen September 24, 2008

Yum! Perfect blend of spices and quite fun and easy to make. The boys loved them, for me I prefer a crunchier cookie but that's a preference thing, nothing wrong with the recipe! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickee July 18, 2008

These were just delicious! so good for dunking and I loved that touch of ginger in them, A really nice cuppa type cookie! Just lovely!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dizzydi July 12, 2008
Molasses Crinkles