Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Minnesota's Favorite Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Minnesota's Favorite Cookies

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2003

      I made these this morning after seeing that thread about your most recently posted recipes. Awesome! Just had one, and I know they're going to be gone FAST, once the family gets home. These will be part of my (very)small collection of cookies - anybody who knows me knows I do not bake much. Thanks - everyone try these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2003

      You are right - they are incredibly good and you can't eat just one. Slap, Slap, BTW, that's my left hand slapping my right hand away from them. I'll have to bring them to the office because I can't trust myself with them in the house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2003

      I was fortunate enough to burn a dozen of these....they are now mine, all mine! Even burned, they are fabulous! Will make them again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      So glad I tried this recipe...they were incredible!!! The only change I made to the recipe was the way I baked the dough. After lining the cookie sheet with parchment paper I spread the dough over the entire baking pan as if making one large cookie. After baking I allowed the cookie to cool a few minutes and then used a 4" heart shaped cookie cutter to shape each cookie. After cooling for another 5 minutes I removed each heart shaped cookie to a cooling rack. When cool, I decorated each heart and gave them out on Valentines Day. This recipe has made it into our "Family Favorites" recipe book!! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      These are very good cookies and after a few tweaks I was able to get them to where we like them. (I always make a recipe as written the first time and that is what I rate on. I have heard so much about this recipe over the years being a long time ToH reader that was not sure what to expect.) On the second go round I doubled the batch and added 1 cup of shortening to the one cup of butter and doubled the rest of the ingredients.The shortening created a chewy cookie which is more to my families liking. Additionally I made the cookies larger (about 1.5 TBL of dough by scoop) and let them bake exactly 13 minutes in my 350 oven. They finished on the cookie sheets for 5 additional minutes and then were removed to wire racks to cook completely. They were amazing. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Delicious! I used to see these advertised in Taste of Home and wanted to try them, but never got around to buying them. I don't know if these are like the original cookies but they are very yummy. We loved the combination of 2 different chocolate chips, toffee bits and pecans. I made them as written, getting 56 cookies. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      Although I had never heard of these cookies (and I live in Minnesota!) I decided to make them since they sounded delicious. The only thing I changed was I used shortening for butter and had to use chocolate toffee pieces and therefore used 1 cup of those and did not use semi-sweet chocolate chips since there was going to be extra chocolate chunks in the cookies. The only mistake I made with these (on my part) was for baking powder I used cornstarch! oops, this was because we have a jar of white powder in our cabinet and I thought it was baking powder. I think that it just caused the cookies to be less puffy but didn't change the taste overall. Never the less, I do not recommend cornstarch as a substitute for baking powder :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      These are awesome. I have made them many times but never got around to rating them. I have not had anybody try them and not like them. Maybe it's because I live on the Minnesota border.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      These were good, but too puffy. My husband wanted a chewy cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      These cookies are so amazing! I made a batch for my anniversary and WOW was I impressed. Everyone should try these. Not only were they sinfully delicious, but they were super simple to make. Two thumbs up!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      So very good and easy. I replaced the milk chocolate chips with dried mixed berries for no particular reason and they turned out really nice. Hard to stop at 2!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      These cookies are ridiculous. They are SO good. Rich, just like you said, and... agh.. thanks for sharing this. A million times over lol. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      I love this recipe, and as a person who has had the real thing I can honestly say they are pretty darn close!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2004

      I really like these. I think next time I will try butterscoth chips instead of semi - chocolate. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

      I agree with chef Amy; semi sweet chips are better in this recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      My 3-year-old daughter is not a big cookie-eater; however while I was making these she asked me for two and then came back two more times to sneak more -- I finally had to cut her off or she would have eaten more!!!! Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out very nice. They didn't last very long either. I will definately be making these again -- thanks for a keeper, jb4!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      I made these to take to our latest FRG meeting...they were still warm when I took them...boy they were good! The only thing missing was a tall glass of cold milk. These are really easy to make, and are a nice change from plain old chocolate chip cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Minnesota's Favorite Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.0
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    50%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 18.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 61.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    English toffee bits

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes