17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these this morning after seeing that thread about your most recently posted recipes. Awesome! Just had one, and I know they're going to be gone FAST, once the family gets home. These will be part of my (very)small collection of cookies - anybody who knows me knows I do not bake much. Thanks - everyone try these!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP March 24, 2003

You are right - they are incredibly good and you can't eat just one. Slap, Slap, BTW, that's my left hand slapping my right hand away from them. I'll have to bring them to the office because I can't trust myself with them in the house.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby March 23, 2003

I was fortunate enough to burn a dozen of these....they are now mine, all mine! Even burned, they are fabulous! Will make them again and again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen Sr. April 13, 2003

So glad I tried this recipe...they were incredible!!! The only change I made to the recipe was the way I baked the dough. After lining the cookie sheet with parchment paper I spread the dough over the entire baking pan as if making one large cookie. After baking I allowed the cookie to cool a few minutes and then used a 4" heart shaped cookie cutter to shape each cookie. After cooling for another 5 minutes I removed each heart shaped cookie to a cooling rack. When cool, I decorated each heart and gave them out on Valentines Day. This recipe has made it into our "Family Favorites" recipe book!! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasDK February 22, 2004

These are very good cookies and after a few tweaks I was able to get them to where we like them. (I always make a recipe as written the first time and that is what I rate on. I have heard so much about this recipe over the years being a long time ToH reader that was not sure what to expect.) On the second go round I doubled the batch and added 1 cup of shortening to the one cup of butter and doubled the rest of the ingredients.The shortening created a chewy cookie which is more to my families liking. Additionally I made the cookies larger (about 1.5 TBL of dough by scoop) and let them bake exactly 13 minutes in my 350 oven. They finished on the cookie sheets for 5 additional minutes and then were removed to wire racks to cook completely. They were amazing. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit_Kat May 05, 2012

Delicious! I used to see these advertised in Taste of Home and wanted to try them, but never got around to buying them. I don't know if these are like the original cookies but they are very yummy. We loved the combination of 2 different chocolate chips, toffee bits and pecans. I made them as written, getting 56 cookies. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill December 07, 2008

Although I had never heard of these cookies (and I live in Minnesota!) I decided to make them since they sounded delicious. The only thing I changed was I used shortening for butter and had to use chocolate toffee pieces and therefore used 1 cup of those and did not use semi-sweet chocolate chips since there was going to be extra chocolate chunks in the cookies. The only mistake I made with these (on my part) was for baking powder I used cornstarch! oops, this was because we have a jar of white powder in our cabinet and I thought it was baking powder. I think that it just caused the cookies to be less puffy but didn't change the taste overall. Never the less, I do not recommend cornstarch as a substitute for baking powder :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomsawyer May 24, 2008

These are awesome. I have made them many times but never got around to rating them. I have not had anybody try them and not like them. Maybe it's because I live on the Minnesota border.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
talldoc December 25, 2007

These were good, but too puffy. My husband wanted a chewy cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Concoctionista December 14, 2007

These cookies are so amazing! I made a batch for my anniversary and WOW was I impressed. Everyone should try these. Not only were they sinfully delicious, but they were super simple to make. Two thumbs up!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fallin4ya25 November 25, 2007
Minnesota's Favorite Cookies