9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these for Christmas this year and loved them! They taste even better after they age a few days. I also re-rolled my cookies in the sugar mix later on. The only thing I did differently was to add a tablespoon of cornstarch to the bottom of my cup when measuring the flour. It makes the cookies more tender and we prefer them that way. Also toasted my pecans. Yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna M. January 07, 2013

These were very tasty! Similar to a Mexican wedding cake cookie, only chocolate. And everything is better in chocolate :D Thanks for sharing! Sent for the Holiday Cookie Exchange 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Az B December 23, 2009

I submitted the recipe to my local newspaper for their Christmas cookie issue and they were 1 of 25 selected to be printed in the December 2nd Food Section. You know they have got to be delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thatgirl #2 December 02, 2009

This may possibly be the best recipe on Zaar, IMO. I absolutely LOVE these chocolatey little melt-in-your-mouth morsels and I'm not really much of a cookie lover. I've made them three times now, halving the recipe the first 2 times. They are so quick and easy and call for ingredients I always have on hand. I guess the only drawback is the fact that they aren't very pretty. I dip mine in the cocoa/powdered sugar mix twice because if I dip them only once, the oil seeps through and makes them splotchy looking. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra November 06, 2009

Fantastic cookies. They're very delicate, crumbly and intensely chocolatey. I added a pinch of chili powder to the second half of the sugar coating, and I have to say, both batches were excellent, but if you happen to like a little spice with your chocolate, the chili powder is an excellent addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmyDuckie June 13, 2009

Seriously, great recipe...I had everything at home and they taste so good!I love cinnamon so i added a bit more and it was great :D Thanks for a great recipe! Made for Zingo ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Island Gurl June 13, 2009

Oh wow! Awesomely delicious. A chocolate Mexican Wedding Cake cookie, basically. It really does taste like hot chocolate. This made 24 cokies for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie R. June 12, 2009

Delicious little cookies! I halved this recipe and used finely grated Mexican chocolate for the cocoa powder and I reduced the sugar and cinnamon a little. They do taste like Mex. chocolate! Thank you Michelle! Made for ZWT5 & Dining Daredevils.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J June 12, 2009

YES, YES, YES ~ GREAT LITTLE TASTIES, THESE! Loved the cinnamon-&-chocolate combo here plus the fact that you can freeze them (which I did with half the batch)! Very eash to make & a joy to eat! I have a feeling these will be a permanent additon to my finger foods counter! Many thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the ZINGO part of ZWT5]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 09, 2009
Mexican Hot Chocolate Balls