Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Martian Cookies (Zucchini & lots of other stuff!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Martian Cookies (Zucchini & lots of other stuff!)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2008

      I can't believe that I haven't rated these cookies yet! I have made atleast six batches of these cookies and they are by far my family's favorite. My kids actually took these cookies to school and told the other grade schoolers what they were! They were ridiculed mercilessly and by the end of the week the other kids were trying to trade thier food for my kid's cookies! I have frozen several batches of dough and baked the cookies later - and rest assured they were just as good as the first batch. I have to admit, I had a bit of trouble with the first batch. I thought they were not cooking at all (even to the point that I thought my oven wasnt on) yet the bottoms were burned to a crisp. This is a cookie that must be baked with "the force" you need to trust that when the recipe says it's done- it's done! when it says "golden brown" its not talking about the top of the cookie, its talking about the bottom. Thank you so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      We loved these cookies! :-) However, when I had the oven on 350?, they didn't seem to be doing too much. I decided to up the temp to 375?, which is the standard temp for most cookies. Once I did that, they cooked perfectly. Yum!

      I doubled the batch, but I didn't double all the goodies. I only put one cup of Nuts, 1/2 cup of Butterscotch, and 1/2 cup of Chocolate Chips. I then added a 1/2 cup of raisins. My husband is a huge fan of oatmeal raisin cookies, so I tossed some raisins in the mix. Delicious!

      Next time, I'm going to try using Regular Oats instead of Quick Oats and see how they come out. I usually use Regular Oats for Oatmeal Cookies, but I wasn't sure if the moisture of the zucchini would absorb into the Reg Oats. Now that I've made them, I think it will work, as long as I cook them at 375?.

      Great Cookie!! ...and a Great way to use some of our overabundance of Zucchini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Oh yes, I'm keeping this recipe! I usually don't put tons of stuff into a cookie, but I had some zucchini that needed to be eaten (in one way or another), so here I am. I followed the recipe, except for a few things: I used 1/2 cup packed brown sugar for some of the sugar, and no one I know really likes butterscotch anything (except me), so I don't usually have those chips around. I substituted mini baking M&Ms for the butterscotch chips, and they looked like lights on a UFO. Hehe. The batter just makes you happy - either that, or I'm kinda loopy, because it is somewhat late.... I used pecans for the nuts, and I did squeeze the excess moisture from my GRATED zucchini, before I added it to the batter. I baked 10 minutes exactly, and GotBoxer? is right - they don't look done, but I flattened mine with the back of a spatula, so they looked like cookies and not domes, and I put them on a wire rack to cool. My hubby sneaked one more while I was turning my computer on to write this! These would be good to take on a hike, for a kid's party (maybe without the nuts), or anytime, really (which is when I'll be making them!). :) Thanks for this AWESOME recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Awesome! Everyone who had one loved them. Made as directed, baked 15 minutes. Was pleasantly surprised that the outside of the cookie was slightly crisp, the inside very tender. Soft but not wet, sticky, or cakey. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      I thought these turned out pretty good. Though I did make several changes: sub 1/4 C applesauce for half the butter; used 1/2 C granulated sugar and 1/4 C brown; 1 C whole wheat flour and 1/2 C ap, plus a little baking powder to help with the lower gluten content of whole wheat; lots more cinnamon, as well as a little nutmeg and cloves (I like spice, hehe); I only had old fashioned oats, so I just whirled them in my Magic Bullet for a couple seconds to give them the right texture. I also did not use nuts, and only had chocolate chips (which I didn't measure - never do). While that seems like a ton of changes, I feel that it was still the same basic cookie, and I did like it. Though I must say that after eating some of the batter (I'm awful like that with cookies), I was kind of disappointed in the flavor of the final product. It seemed to have lost some of the flavor while baking. But they are a bit better the next day. Thank you for something new to try out! UPDATE: I just pulled a few of these out of the freezer, and must say that they freeze very well. Either let them thaw on their own for a few hours, or pop them in the microwave for ten seconds or so, and they are still great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Very good, soft cookies. I doubled up the chocolate chips since I didn't have any butterscotch. They aren't too sweet and have an interesting variety of textures. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      Interesting idea to tell kids the green specks are Martian, instead of something good for them like vegetables! I was a little less aggressive than J-Lynn in reducing the fat content, and didn't have any problems with the texture: I substituted half a banana for half of the butter, as well as using margarine for the rest. I think probably this is a recipe where using the mixer to "fluff" the butter/sugar mixture is important, instead of just "creaming" them. Also, I left out the chips, and I squeezed a lot of moisture out of the zucchini before adding it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      I'm having difficulties staying out of these. They're very good even though I forgot to add the nuts. Instead of cookies, I spread the dough in a cake pan and baked for 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      I'm always looking for good ways to use up zucchini and these cookies are the best by far. They freeze well and stay incredibly moist. I've got so I double the recipe, otherwise they don't last long enough. Now my problem is going to be whether I want to buy zucchini out of season as these have rapidly become the cookie of choice for the 'ol DH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      These were really good. I did try a test cookie first because the batter seemed very stiff...it never spread out. So I simply pushed down each drop of dough before placing in the oven...it worked fine and I also dcreased the cooking time as mine were a little dry after 10-12 minutes....fun and the 6yr old DD LOVED them!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      I won't rate these because I adjusted the recipe when I made them. I doubled the recipe, and then I was trying to decrease the fat content: I substituted applesauce for half of the butter and 2 egg whites for one of the eggs. The result was palatable but not delicious; they became slightly rubbery. In fact, without the chocolate chips they would have been downright bland. I may try again, but am posting this so you can learn from my mistake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      This is the only way someone could get me to eat zucchini...I kept trying to notice the zucchini, but I couldn't! I had already grated it before I found the recipe, and I did it on the fine grate side, and squeezed out some of the water, and it worked nicely. Also, I used evaporated cane juice instead of the sugar, and half whole-wheat pastry flour, and they were perfect!! I found that if I baked them for 15 minutes, they were better, but I think my cookies were bigger than called for. YUM!!! Now I can eat my veggies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      These cookies do look alien. The zucchini flecks are bright green (much brighter than in zucchini bread), and the only nuts I had were almonds, which made strange spiky protuberances among the other lumps from the oats and chips. They are also very good, with so many flavors packed into one cookie, and very filling. Also, the finished cookies taste yummy but the raw batter tastes terrible, which might be an advantage if you have trouble getting cookies to the stage where they are actually cooked. I used all chocolate chips, but I think these would have been better with the butterscotch too. I'm not sure if I actually prefer these to zucchini bread, but they are tasty and entertaining.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Martian Cookies (Zucchini & lots of other stuff!)

    Serving Size: 1 (1023 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 115.6
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    48%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 11.9 mg
    3%
    Sodium 102.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes