12 Reviews

My sister and I used to purchase a lovely flourless chocolate cake at a local bakery every Christmas Eve for our special family Christmas dessert. Much to our dismay, they went out of business. In an attempt to recreate our much loved cake, we decided to have a little bake-off. We each chose five flourless chocolate cake recipes and got busy baking. With ten cakes in front of us, La Bete Noir was the winner hands-down. The cake is chocolate heaven and the quality is unsurpassed. If you adore chocolate decadence, you need look no further. By the way, the cake was every bit as good as the bakery cake and maybe a little bit better!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monicamartin99 July 27, 2009

This is restaurant quality, truely worthy of more than 5 stars. I've made this five times since it first appeared in Bon Appetit, and you can hear the groans of pleasure as people eat this! I like to serve it with a berry coulis ,Mixed Berry Coulis on the side or with a little sweetened whipped cream. Thanks so much for posting this,Quest4ZBest, it's an incredible dessert!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas February 10, 2008

YUM!! This is the second year I've made this for my hubby's birthday. It is soooooo good, and surprisingly easy to make, too. I made it a couple of days early this time, and I would recommend letting it warm to room temperature before serving it. It was still delicious cold, but the silky smooth texture really comes out when its warmer. I only whipped about half a cup of cream for decorating it, but it was so rich, I definitely should have served it w/ more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mindy4wedding April 26, 2014

Wow. This is serious chocolate. I used the 60% cacao from Ghirardelli. It was people versus cake, and the cake won. Everyone that tried it said it was "too chocolatey". Bah. There is no such thing as "too chocolatey." My DD (she's 3) and I practically licked our plates. At least I know the next time I make it, I won't have to share it with very many people. (giggle) Recipe was made as directed, and doesn't need any tweaking IMHO. Yumm. I'm going to go have another slice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay D. November 28, 2008

Made this for my son's b-day party. Dead-easy and YES, it would hold it's own against a flourless cake from any fine restaurant or bakery that I have ever had. Halved the recipe, added about 1/8 tsp instant espresso, put in an 8" springform inside a 9" x 13" baking dish, put in 325° oven for approx 40 mins & otherwise baked as instructed- turned out perfectly! Found about 1 1/2 cups frozen raspberries in freezer- pulsed up in food pricessor with about 1 tsp of Chambord, organic powdered sugar to taste (prob about 3/4 tsp) & enough warm water to achieve a thick coulis, strained & served drizzled over cake w/ slightly sweetened fresh organic whipped cream. The tartness of the coulis is a wonderful compliment to the cake, enhances flavor & balances richness well. BTW- used all semisweet chocolate for cake & 50/50 semisweet/ bittersweet for ganache. Make this for the chocolate lover in your life- they'll LOVE it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abbeyms8155 August 18, 2015

This is amazing! Exactly everything I hoped it would be. Flourless chocolate cake is my favorite dessert. When we moved to a rural area I was desperate to find a way to satisfy my cravings, this recipe delivers! Perfect replica of my favorite restaurant's cake.(Bonus- I can make a whole cake for about the price of a slice out.) Slices freeze well which is good because it's so rich it's impossible for the 2 of us to eat it all at once. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahLynn January 22, 2015

My mother requested a chocolate torte with chocolate ganache and raspberry sauce so I made her this, and added some raspberry sauce. It was a hit. She LOVED it! Thought it was the best dessert she had ever had. I made it with a combination of semisweet chocolate and unsweetened chocolate because that's what I had on hand. I made it a day ahead and refrigerated it. I have a feeling I'll be making this again next year for her birthday:) Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life August 29, 2012

Made this into cupcakes for Easter. Everybody loved them!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nodecaf May 06, 2011

WOW!!! What a BEAUTIFUL cake! Very fancy and totally delish! My daughter loves the chocolate bars with the cayenne pepper in them and I wanted to make a cake that was similar, so I simmered a cinnamon stick in with the water and added about a tablespoon or so of Chipolte chili powder. It was great with the kick but I most definately will be making this again without the chili. Also, I used a 9 inch springform pan because my 10 inch wouldnt fit into any of my baking pans. Turned out great with no adjustments to the time. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not-2-Sweet July 02, 2010
La Bete Noire Chocolate Flourless Cake