Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / La Bete Noire Chocolate Flourless Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    La Bete Noire Chocolate Flourless Cake

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2009

      My sister and I used to purchase a lovely flourless chocolate cake at a local bakery every Christmas Eve for our special family Christmas dessert. Much to our dismay, they went out of business. In an attempt to recreate our much loved cake, we decided to have a little bake-off. We each chose five flourless chocolate cake recipes and got busy baking. With ten cakes in front of us, La Bete Noir was the winner hands-down. The cake is chocolate heaven and the quality is unsurpassed. If you adore chocolate decadence, you need look no further. By the way, the cake was every bit as good as the bakery cake and maybe a little bit better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This is restaurant quality, truely worthy of more than 5 stars. I've made this five times since it first appeared in Bon Appetit, and you can hear the groans of pleasure as people eat this! I like to serve it with a berry coulis ,Mixed Berry Coulis on the side or with a little sweetened whipped cream. Thanks so much for posting this,Quest4ZBest, it's an incredible dessert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      YUM!! This is the second year I've made this for my hubby's birthday. It is soooooo good, and surprisingly easy to make, too. I made it a couple of days early this time, and I would recommend letting it warm to room temperature before serving it. It was still delicious cold, but the silky smooth texture really comes out when its warmer. I only whipped about half a cup of cream for decorating it, but it was so rich, I definitely should have served it w/ more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      My mother requested a chocolate torte with chocolate ganache and raspberry sauce so I made her this, and added some raspberry sauce. It was a hit. She LOVED it! Thought it was the best dessert she had ever had. I made it with a combination of semisweet chocolate and unsweetened chocolate because that's what I had on hand. I made it a day ahead and refrigerated it. I have a feeling I'll be making this again next year for her birthday:) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Made this into cupcakes for Easter. Everybody loved them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

    • on July 02, 2010

      WOW!!! What a BEAUTIFUL cake! Very fancy and totally delish! My daughter loves the chocolate bars with the cayenne pepper in them and I wanted to make a cake that was similar, so I simmered a cinnamon stick in with the water and added about a tablespoon or so of Chipolte chili powder. It was great with the kick but I most definately will be making this again without the chili. Also, I used a 9 inch springform pan because my 10 inch wouldnt fit into any of my baking pans. Turned out great with no adjustments to the time. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Wow! This was sooo good. I took it to a family gathering and it went over really well. I made it the day before so that it could sit in the fridge overnight. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Wow! This could be the richest cake ever. Everyone raved about it. Just be sure to let it set for at least two hours in the fridge - maybe more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Wow. This is serious chocolate. I used the 60% cacao from Ghirardelli. It was people versus cake, and the cake won. Everyone that tried it said it was "too chocolatey". Bah. There is no such thing as "too chocolatey." My DD (she's 3) and I practically licked our plates. At least I know the next time I make it, I won't have to share it with very many people. (giggle) Recipe was made as directed, and doesn't need any tweaking IMHO. Yumm. I'm going to go have another slice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for La Bete Noire Chocolate Flourless Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.6
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    72%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 107.3 mg
    35%
    Sodium 33.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites