Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Grandma's Chocolate Syrup Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Chocolate Syrup Brownies

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2012

      We LOVE these brownies and appreciate the fact that they are easy to prepare and the ingredients are not costly. For those who think these are "too cakey" I have two hints to make these brownies more dense. Use WHITE whole wheat flour and make your own chocolate syrup. I make the syrup with the "special dark cocoa powder" and it is delicious (and cheap!). This recipe would also work to combine the ingredients from the brownie recipe along with the syrup ingredients for a one bowl brownie. I might just figure that out, make a sample pan and come back & post the recipe & results later. :-) Geez, if I mix all the dry ingredients X 4, then I have a dry mix for 4 batches of brownies. Or make the mix and cut the ingredients by 50% per batch and bake in 8 X 8 pan. Hmmm..........all kinds of ideas. And the frosting could be made "rocky road" by adding chopped walnuts and miniature marshmallows. Oh yes, it is time to experiment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      I was very disappointed with how these brownies turned out. I was expecting a dense, fudgy brownie, but I ended up with something much closer to chocolate cake than a brownie. I also had to bake an extra 10 minutes because they weren't done in the time specified. The chocolate flavor is good but not great, but I do like the icing and will use it on other brownie recipes. Definitely too cakey for me though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Sorry but we did not like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      OMG, I made these and they went so fast that I had to make another batch to go around. These are the best brownies. I will be making these for gifts. Thanks so much for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      These were a big hit in my house! My sons love brownies so I made some for them today to have when they came home from their first day of school. They raved about these. They are moist and oh so rich and chocolaty. They couldn't be easier to make either. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Quick and easy to make. The frosting really makes these. Thanks for the posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Terrific brownies! I made half a recipe in an 8x8 pan and it came out perfectly. The brownie itself is so moist and chocolatey, and the fudge topping just puts it over the top! Easy to make and delicious - thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      my sister has been making these brownies as long as i remember. we always request these. they really are the best. it's like eating fudge on top of a brownie. they're my favorite brownie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      These are wonderful old-fashioned brownies. They have a nice dense texture to the brownie and then a really fudgy topping. I added some white chocolate chunks to the batter (after dusting with flour so they did not sink) and it took 1 hour and 15 minutes to get these fully cooked. Tagged in 1.2.3 Hit Wonders May 2008. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      I'm not usually one to frost brownies, but these I did & they were GREAT! I MIGHT cut back on the sugar another time, but I tell ya, if you have a sweet tooth, these will take care of that for you!! Many thanks for sharing this interesting way to make a batch of brownies! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Very moist. Everyone loved. I added about 1/2 tsp vanilla, and used a little less sugar (about 3/4 - 7/8 cup)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Chocolate Syrup Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 513.3
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    36%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 83.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 294.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.5 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 58.7 g
    235%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes