11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We LOVE these brownies and appreciate the fact that they are easy to prepare and the ingredients are not costly. For those who think these are "too cakey" I have two hints to make these brownies more dense. Use WHITE whole wheat flour and make your own chocolate syrup. I make the syrup with the "special dark cocoa powder" and it is delicious (and cheap!). This recipe would also work to combine the ingredients from the brownie recipe along with the syrup ingredients for a one bowl brownie. I might just figure that out, make a sample pan and come back & post the recipe & results later. :-) Geez, if I mix all the dry ingredients X 4, then I have a dry mix for 4 batches of brownies. Or make the mix and cut the ingredients by 50% per batch and bake in 8 X 8 pan. Hmmm..........all kinds of ideas. And the frosting could be made "rocky road" by adding chopped walnuts and miniature marshmallows. Oh yes, it is time to experiment!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
npp3512007 November 12, 2012

I was very disappointed with how these brownies turned out. I was expecting a dense, fudgy brownie, but I ended up with something much closer to chocolate cake than a brownie. I also had to bake an extra 10 minutes because they weren't done in the time specified. The chocolate flavor is good but not great, but I do like the icing and will use it on other brownie recipes. Definitely too cakey for me though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Socks February 12, 2012

Sorry but we did not like this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa February 27, 2009

OMG, I made these and they went so fast that I had to make another batch to go around. These are the best brownies. I will be making these for gifts. Thanks so much for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimmie Kooks November 10, 2008

These were a big hit in my house! My sons love brownies so I made some for them today to have when they came home from their first day of school. They raved about these. They are moist and oh so rich and chocolaty. They couldn't be easier to make either. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 August 27, 2008

Quick and easy to make. The frosting really makes these. Thanks for the posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
torie t. August 04, 2008

Terrific brownies! I made half a recipe in an 8x8 pan and it came out perfectly. The brownie itself is so moist and chocolatey, and the fudge topping just puts it over the top! Easy to make and delicious - thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof June 22, 2008

my sister has been making these brownies as long as i remember. we always request these. they really are the best. it's like eating fudge on top of a brownie. they're my favorite brownie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FOREVER YOUNG May 18, 2008

These are wonderful old-fashioned brownies. They have a nice dense texture to the brownie and then a really fudgy topping. I added some white chocolate chunks to the batter (after dusting with flour so they did not sink) and it took 1 hour and 15 minutes to get these fully cooked. Tagged in 1.2.3 Hit Wonders May 2008. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom May 17, 2008

I'm not usually one to frost brownies, but these I did & they were GREAT! I MIGHT cut back on the sugar another time, but I tell ya, if you have a sweet tooth, these will take care of that for you!! Many thanks for sharing this interesting way to make a batch of brownies! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders cooking game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 30, 2008
Grandma's Chocolate Syrup Brownies