Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Gluten Free Challah Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Challah Bread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2010

      FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I tossed it all in my bread machine and pushed the 80 minute express bake and out popped a GORGEOUS loaf of moist bread, it didn't crumble and I'm saying goodbye to Pamela's bread mix!!!! I will add an extra 1/2 teaspoon of salt next time because we felt it needed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      This was really delicious, and surprisingly easy. When I put the Kenwood Chef on high after adding the yeast mixture, I did get splattered with dough which was quite amusing, albeit messy so watch out fellow bakers. I found that at 200 degrees celsius, my Challah got a little too brown on top so I'd maybe drop the temperature on the oven a littttttle bit. HOWEVER, all up an easy, successful recipe. The bread itself has SUCH amazing texture considering its sans-gluten. It stays together marvelously (NO crumbles at all), and is soft and fluffy and perfect. With the mixture I made one big loaf and six rolls and the timing was right on par. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I HIGHLY recommend fellow coeliacs to try this out, or even those who can eat gluten - my gluten-eating friend gorged on just as many rolls as me. LOVE. Seriously. Perhaps could have been a little sweeter but that's personal preference with your Challah. YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      I just made this, and O.M.Gee...it's fabulous! I did make some substitutions (based on what I had available.) I used 1 c. Bob's Red Mill Gluten-free Flour; 1 c. oat flour; 1 c. tapioca starch; 3/4 c. potato starch; 1 tsp. salt; 1/4 honey; 1 1/2 tsp. raw agave. The rest was as directed. I mixed it up in my Breadman bread machine; wet ingredients first, then dry, and yeast on top and used the gluten-free setting (mix the dry ingredients together first, before placing in the bread machine.) It was/is delicious! No one would know that it's gluten-free! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      Just like everyone else said...Awesome!! I used Bob's Red Mill for all of the flour and a little more salt. Also used EnerG egg replacer to make it vegan. This bread smells and tastes amazing. Great consistency! Used my kitchen aid mixer instead of a bread machine (don't have one). Also, I found that the raising and cooking times were a bit quicker than expected. I am in high altitude so that influences it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      This makes a very soft bread that tastes nothing like challah.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      Amazing! When my 3 year old was diagnosed with a wheat allergy, I was so intimidated by the abundant Challah served every Friday at her preschool. It was her favorite. I make rolls with this recipe and now she doesn't even miss it! The rest of the family loves these too. I also use more salt - 1 tsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      For GF, I would give this 5 stars. it isn't dry and crumbly. I used honey instead of sugar and increased the salt to 1 tsp. The sesame seeds gave a nice flavor and I think next time I might put them in the bread. I used an ice cream scoop and it made 22 perfect rolls that I cooked for 20 mins. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      this is my first Gluten free bread! and this recipe is awesome!!! very delicious, moist and easy to make !! texture is amazing like a real bread, i ll be making this bread regularly!!! thank you so much!!!!
      by the way the bread took about 35 min in the oven only and i made sure its done by using a digital thermometer, which i insert in the middle and all the way to the bottom without touching the pan and once it showed 210 F , i knew its done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      Totally yummy, wow, delicious! This would have a 100 star rating if I could. Best gf bread I've ever made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      This bread was/is FABULOUS!!! I used to make Challah many years ago for fun. However, after going GF in November 2011, I was desperate for a bread to use with sandwiches. I hate the stuff I've found in stores. Anyway, I had something similar to this recipe at a local cafe but decided that $12 for a sandwich and potato salad was too much. I googled GF challah and found this recipe and am so glad that I did!

      Using an inexpensive bread machine from Target, I made this bread and it came out WONDERFUL!!! I've made it twice. The only thing I did different was to use 3 3/4 cup of commercial GF flour (Better Batter) and no xantham because it's mixed in with the flour already. So happy to have found this recipe! I look forward to lunches at work now. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      Best bread I have had since Ive been gluten free (3 months). I used brown rice flower. Luv'd the texture. So easy to make. Thank you Thank you Thank you. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      My family doesn't eat sugar so I subbed in honey and it had an amazing flavor. Possibly the best gluten free bread I have ever eaten, including store bought. I really wanted to braid this like Challah should be, but it was so sticky there was no way. I don't know if it was sticky due to the honey or just the recipe in general. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      Amazingly good tasting and the texture is superb like real bread. By far, the best gluten free bread recipe I have made to date (after 12 recipes using my bread machine). I followed the bread machine directions by quiltz4u (thanks) and the bread was light, fluffy and just like the gluten bread I grew up eating. I did use 1 teaspoon of salt and used organic brown rice flour because I did not have white rice flour in the pantry. Thank you Chef for sharing your recipe.

      Plus, what a great way to start the New Year. Now I can make the traditional challah for family and also have these as rolls for family dinners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Challah Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1061 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2135.3
     
    Calories from Fat 638
    29%
    Total Fat 70.9 g
    109%
    Saturated Fat 36.8 g
    184%
    Cholesterol 866.1 mg
    288%
    Sodium 1874.1 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 320.5 g
    106%
    Dietary Fiber 12.4 g
    49%
    Sugars 59.4 g
    237%
    Protein 51.6 g
    103%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites