Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Gingersnaps (Soft & Chewy) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gingersnaps (Soft & Chewy)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2009

      This is a brilliant recipe! I used brown sugar for the biscuits and regular sugar for rolling them in, used 1 tsp ginger instead of 1/2 and yet it wasn't overpowering, I forgot to add in the cloves! The students here loved it and their comment, "Never tasted anything like this"! Thank you, Maryland Jim, for sharing this fabulous recipe, this one is definitely a keeper! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Wonderful!!!! They are the best!!! I subbed in margarine for the shortening, cuz mine seemed off. And they were still soft and chewy! Made for ZWT 4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      This is a great cookie, nice and soft. The only thing I changed is the sugar in the recipe. I used brown sugar instead of white. Other than that, awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      Greasy when hot, but soft, moist and chewy once they have cooled down! Pretty tasty! Thanks Jim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Hmmm, what to say so you won't get an inflated ego....Never mind, Jim, go with the ego! These really are outstanding! So glad I chose this recipe for ZWT6....but I'm sure this won't be the last time I make them, as I really, really do like gingersnaps! Thnx for sharing, my friend. Made for the Voracious Vagabonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Jim, these are super delish! I have made them twice this weekend, once for our block party (none were left over) and another batch tonight to give to my inlaws for their anniversary tomorrow. The flavor is just right and I will be making these often. Thanks! Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Delicious!!! :) I doubled the recipe, and I am so glad I did. I gave some to my in-laws and took some into work. Everyone raved about these cookies, and many asked me for the recipe. Thick, soft, and chewy...these beat the hard store bought gingersnaps any day. Made for Top Favorites of 2009 Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Gingersnaps have long been one of my favorites and this softer version was great! I always find it nice to add a spiced cookie to cookie platters so I made these for a graduation party. They were gobbled up! One friend of my daughter asked me, "Who made those brown sugar cookies?" She's been invited over to learn to make them herself. I had to adjust them to my oven so after my first tray baked subsequent cookies for 9 minutes. Thanks Maryland Jim. They're going into my TNT file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      awesome, these were gone in no time, will make them again and again..Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      I have to tell you these are real crowd pleasers. I work at a Nursing Home and brought these wonderful cookies in for a party and everyone just raved at how great these cookies are. Thank you so much for posting, this is definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      What a beautiful cookie - aromatic and soft but still a bit chewy - i gave just eaten 2 straight off the oven tray - that says it all !!! I threw in a handful of oats and subbed margarine with a wonderful outcome.Made for family picks ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This is exactly the recipe I prefer using when I make them as well (like the Betty Crocker version done right!)! Glad to see this in the Tour!! Just how I like them - I also use the dark molasses in mine. Thank you for posting! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL GINGERBREAD! Couldn't be better, as these are soft & great! I was tempted to add more molasses but other reviewers indicated the spices were just right, so . . . Nevertheless, I did use the very darkest of dark molasses! Definitely a keeper! [Made & reviewed while touring Eastern Europe on Zaar's World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Most delicious, just the right amount of spice, soft and chewy When my granddaughter visits we bake. She chose this recipe and we're glad she did. It goes into our favorite of favorites recipe box. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Delicious! These cookies were exactly as I think gingersnaps should be...soft & chewy! These go together very quickly and easily, although I did chill the dough for about 1/2 hour before rolling into balls. Also, I had to bake them about 10-11 mins. before the centers were done. My family loved these and gave them 2-thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      these are soft and chewy,with just the right amount of spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gingersnaps (Soft & Chewy)

    Serving Size: 1 (755 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1125.1
     
    Calories from Fat 484
    43%
    Total Fat 53.8 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1071.1 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 152.7 g
    50%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 82.4 g
    329%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites