Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / German Lemon Poppy Seed Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Lemon Poppy Seed Cake

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2012

      Did not work for me. Didn't rise much at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      Great tasting, loved it! Very dense, which I also like. My cake did not rise much at all, but still very good. I used nonfat greek yogurt instead of sour cream and also reduced the sugar a little.

      I put a glaze on top (mix powder sugar and lemon juice) and that made it extra lemon delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      I made these into muffins and were fantastic! The sour cream adds a nice tang to it, and they're very moist. I added a little more lemon juice because DH and I like a more lemony flavour. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      very nice cake! i cut back on the sugar by about 2 tbsp and still found it a bit too sweet. baked for 50 minutes in my loaf pan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      WOW is this great! My family loves it and it helped use up some sour cream I had on hand. Moist, delicious and even better the next day. I do have to double the recipe in order to fill my bundt pan but that's ok

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Delicious! Low Carb, moist, very rich and buttery. My husband and I love it, it is added to our favorate. I used yogurt instead of the sour cream. I was a little concerned as the batter was very wet, but it turned out to be great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Delicious! Light, moist cake with a hint of lemon flavor. I strongly recommend using real butter. I made this twice, once with margarine & once with butter; the time I used margarine, the middle of the cake fell & ended up a bit gooey. I used a loaf pan & it was done cooking in 45 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Great recipe! I made it a few times already everyone that tried it loves it! I did added some crushed nuts to the mix the cake came out great! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I must be weird, but this flopped for me. Nothing but a buttery, somewhat lemony mass of way too many poppy seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I made this for 15ces Hickam AFBmy husband loves them thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      We halved the recipe and got 6 cupcakes which took about 30 minutes to bake. These are such light muffins, easy to make, great lemon flavor, and very flavorful. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      After reading the reviews, I decided that the recipe needed adjusting to make a larger cake, since I wanted a nice bundt cake. I increased the recipe by making it 1/2 again what the recipe listed. In other words 1 +1/2. The recipe whipped up nicely just fitting nicely into my bundt pan. I baked it for 50 minutes and it came out perfect. It really does have a nice lemony flavor. I am sure it is going to go over well at the picnic I am taking it to today. Thank you for a nice recipe. Irene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Made this for ZWT4 Kid's Challenge. It was a wonderful cake - very lemony and moist! Yum! Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Made this for ZWT 4, with my children. Easy to make. My children enjoyed it. Love, love the lemon flavor. The Mamma Mias

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      This is a very moist cake and it has a delightful lemon taste! I put the batter into a pan that had 6 small fancy cake molds. Then I baked it for 35 minutes and they came out perfect. I made this for the *German and Benelux Forum ~ The European Union* challenge in *Zaar WorldTour 4* 2008 Germany was my country of choice. My team is the *Tastebud Tickling Travelers*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Lovely cake. The children and I made this yesterday afernoon and enjoyed some for breakfast this morning. Bright, fresh lemony flavour can't be beat. Love the peppery-crunchy poppy seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      This was absolutely delicious. I did, however add dried cranberries, and it was so tasty. Thanks for taking the time to post this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      This was really delicious. Thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      Oh Marlitt this is a wonderful poppy bundt! Made as directed which resulted in a light and lovely cake which everyone agreed was a keeper. I know some summer guests that are going to be absolutely delighted with this delicious and great tasting poppy cake. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      This was magically delicious. One item of note- I forgot to mix for two minutes both times as suggested, and my loaf came out a little flat. Still moist and tasty, but not as tall as I'd hoped. Next time I'll follow the directions exactly and see where that gets me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Lemon Poppy Seed Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.7
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    50%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 56.3 mg
    18%
    Sodium 215.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 17.1 g
    68%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites