Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / German Fruit Cake Bottom Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Fruit Cake Bottom

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2007

      Danke !!!!!!! I was looking for this :0) Ri

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      I made this but it curdled when I added the eggs and I am at a loss to understand why as everything was at room temperature. It still baked well and tasted lovely but it was lumpy as a batter. Also the 3 tablespoons=150grams of flour seemed a bit off so I just added the tablespoons and didn't weigh the flour. I may try it again to see if I get better results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      You've so inspired me that I surprised my mom for her birthday using your suggestion of topping with thick vanilla pudding and strawberries. When I showed up at her door, she cried. Not to worry, it was tears of joy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      I just made it last night and it was a hit! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Inge, thanks for posting a lovely recipe for cake bottom. I made this paired with Thorsten's Rhubarb Cake #168470, subbing lemon zest for the vanilla. It turned out lovely and moist. Reminded me of my mother in law's fruit filled cakes. Delicous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      Inge, this made for a wonderful strawberry shortcake. Beautiful presentation, great taste and texture, nicely sweetened. I put 1 cup of vanilla pudding on the base followed by 1 lb fresh strawberries, which I mixed with a glaze made from 1/2 c pineapple juice, 2 T sugar, and 1 tsp Knox unflavored gelatin. Topped with whipped cream, this made for a perfect summer dessert. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      Thanks for sharing this recipe Inge. This is definitely something that will always make me think of 'Kaffeetrinken' at my mum's house. It makes a lovely nice and moist cake bottom, that's great filled with black cherries, tinned apricots/nectarines or my favourite fresh strawberries! It's really quick and easy to make as well. My baking tin is only 9 inches (24cm) but it still worked out okay, I just had a little more dough to lick of the spoon! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      Thanks for suggesting this recipe to make in my new pan. I followed your directions and it worked perfectly! I was concerned that there would not be enought batter as it barely covered the bottom of the pan but as it baked it made the perfect amount. I filled the top space with vanilla pudding. Then I layered on the strawberries and dotted with whipped cream. I served this to guests and there was none left over, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Fruit Cake Bottom

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 404.6
     
    Calories from Fat 183
    45%
    Total Fat 20.4 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 140.4 mg
    46%
    Sodium 323.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 19.0 g
    76%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla sugar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites