23 Reviews

This was a very simple to make apple bread, that is quite moist and delicious. I cut the recipe in half to make one loaf, but used 2 whole eggs. Though the batter was somewhat stiff it was no more so than other breads of this type that I've made. I added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1/8 tsp of cloves, and used part whole wheat pastry flour. I also left out the raisins because of family dislikes. Thank you Lavender Lynn for posting this wonderful recipe - made by a Chic Chef for the ZWT 4 Germany and Benelux Countries

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet June 03, 2008

Wow! This apple bread is delicious! Very moist and full of flavor. I skipped the raisins as my family doesn't care for them. I'll be making this again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes October 06, 2014

Wonderful........batter was thick, so there for, I mixed it with gloved hands. Mixed well using that method and very easy to divide in the two loaf pans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cherie 51 November 20, 2013

I altered it somewhat as only had a small amount of almonds for the nuts and used almond extract instead of vanilla....not kidding you it was fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pete S. November 20, 2013

What a wonderful apple bread recipe. It is so moist and I loved the nuts but left out the raisins. I had my first slice while it was still warm and I am writing this review right away so I don't forget. Thanks so much for sharing I will be making this one often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young November 09, 2013

You get 5 stars just for the heavenly smell permeating through my house as this baby was baking! Super-easy (toddler did most of the work) moist and delicious. Left out the nuts so it could be taken to daycare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyMidget October 14, 2013

This apple bread was delicious! I made small loaf pans. Made some with raisins and some without. Put a little more cinnamon in. Put some in the freezer to have for later. I think next time I will put some shredded carrots in. Loved it! So simple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laffey October 03, 2013

I just discovered this recipe 3 days ago and have prepared it twice. It is so delicious and it seems the longer it sets, the better and more moist. The apple choices make a difference. The first time I used Golden Delicious and the second, a combo of Rome (a good cooking apple) and also Fugi.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momof2labs April 22, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed every morsel of this bread!! My husband loved it too. My KitchenAid had no problem stirring up this wonderful mixture!! I did not put in the raisins but I did put a crumb topping on one of the loaves and kept the other plain. Next time I think I will use the crumb topping and make the other one with a cinnamon and sugar topping. This bread is so easy to make and it tastes wonderful!!! Thanks for sharing this with all of us!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buckwheat63 November 08, 2012

Fantastic bread!!!! This is delicious, loved the apple, nut and cinnamon flavors!! I made 1/2 of the recipe and did use pecans for the nuts. I added some milk to thin out the batter and make up for the 1/2 egg that was missing due to only making 1/2 of the recipe. The baking time was right on for my oven. I had a slice for breakfast with a smear of cream cheese. I then sliced the rest of the loaf up and froze the slices for other morning breakfasts. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for PRMR tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 January 30, 2012
German Apple Bread