Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / German Apple Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Apple Bread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2008

      This was a very simple to make apple bread, that is quite moist and delicious. I cut the recipe in half to make one loaf, but used 2 whole eggs. Though the batter was somewhat stiff it was no more so than other breads of this type that I've made. I added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1/8 tsp of cloves, and used part whole wheat pastry flour. I also left out the raisins because of family dislikes. Thank you Lavender Lynn for posting this wonderful recipe - made by a Chic Chef for the ZWT 4 Germany and Benelux Countries

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      Wonderful........batter was thick, so there for, I mixed it with gloved hands. Mixed well using that method and very easy to divide in the two loaf pans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      I altered it somewhat as only had a small amount of almonds for the nuts and used almond extract instead of vanilla....not kidding you it was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      What a wonderful apple bread recipe. It is so moist and I loved the nuts but left out the raisins. I had my first slice while it was still warm and I am writing this review right away so I don't forget. Thanks so much for sharing I will be making this one often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      You get 5 stars just for the heavenly smell permeating through my house as this baby was baking! Super-easy (toddler did most of the work) moist and delicious. Left out the nuts so it could be taken to daycare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      This apple bread was delicious! I made small loaf pans. Made some with raisins and some without. Put a little more cinnamon in. Put some in the freezer to have for later. I think next time I will put some shredded carrots in. Loved it! So simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      I just discovered this recipe 3 days ago and have prepared it twice. It is so delicious and it seems the longer it sets, the better and more moist. The apple choices make a difference. The first time I used Golden Delicious and the second, a combo of Rome (a good cooking apple) and also Fugi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      I thoroughly enjoyed every morsel of this bread!! My husband loved it too. My KitchenAid had no problem stirring up this wonderful mixture!! I did not put in the raisins but I did put a crumb topping on one of the loaves and kept the other plain. Next time I think I will use the crumb topping and make the other one with a cinnamon and sugar topping. This bread is so easy to make and it tastes wonderful!!! Thanks for sharing this with all of us!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Fantastic bread!!!! This is delicious, loved the apple, nut and cinnamon flavors!! I made 1/2 of the recipe and did use pecans for the nuts. I added some milk to thin out the batter and make up for the 1/2 egg that was missing due to only making 1/2 of the recipe. The baking time was right on for my oven. I had a slice for breakfast with a smear of cream cheese. I then sliced the rest of the loaf up and froze the slices for other morning breakfasts. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for PRMR tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      i made 1 loaf added 2 eggs added nutmeg and cloves also very nice recipeadded a tablespoon of sour cream for the baking soda zaar 6 tour

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Uber uber good! I made half the batch (but using two eggs) to make one really very tasty indeed loaf. I left out the nuts because we had a guest who had a nut allergy but we didn't miss them. Though, I am sure they add a whole new level of goodness. I used a granny smith apple. Made for Zee Zany Zesty Cookz for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Lordy, this was good! I loved the amount of apples this bread had! I follow the precept of, "if it's good, it's good to excess", and this bread delivers. The only trouble I had was min the mixing. This is a very, very stiff dough, and you will need your wooden paddle! But when all's said and done.........it's worth it! Thnx, Lynn, for sharing your recipe. Made for ZWT6 Oma's Challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Delicious! My family loved this bread. It did not last long in our house. Very easy to whip up in no time at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Very good flavor and taste. This made a very moist and dense bread. Did not have to add any additional liquid, maybe because I used a stand mixer. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Very very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Very delicious! I would recommend mixing all the ingredients together before adding the apples, because it was very challenging to mix all the ingredients in at one time. I did not use the nuts or raisins. This bread is sooo good. My kids loved it. Next time, to appease the oldest one, I will grate the apples. Then he won't have to eat "chunks," lol. I did need to add some extra liquid to the recipe and added about 1/4 cup of apple cider. I will definitely make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      I agree with Klyn that the batter was extremely thick and added a splash of milk to make it more manageable. I left out the raisins, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. This makes a wonderful dense, moist bread. I think it tastes better the next day. I will definately be making this one again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Divine! The only reason for the 4-star rating is that my batter was so thick (even before adding the apple/nut/raisin mixture) that it was not manageable. At first I thought I may have made a mistake along the way, since none of the reviewers had mentioned it, but I ended up adding about 1/2-2/3 cup milk. The only other changes I made were to add 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, and I replaced half of the nuts with old-fashioned oats. Smells amazing while baking! And the taste....oh, my! I can't wait to try in a day or two after it's rested (I like to bake breads a couple of days in advance; most taste even better the next day).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I will be making this often! Makes the kitchen smell nice and tastes great. Moist, too. I used Splenda for the white sugar, and left out the raisins. Next time I am going to add some cardamom along with the cinnamon, because I love cardamom with apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      This bread is absolutely wonderful!! It taste like Apple Pie in bread form. So rich and so delicious. It is very easy to make and everyone loved it, adults and children. I followed the recipe to the letter and took it to my sons school for his Christmas party. Everyone kept raving about how wonderful it was and they all wanted the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Apple Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1978 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3340.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1386
    41%
    Total Fat 154.0 g
    236%
    Saturated Fat 21.6 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 279.0 mg
    93%
    Sodium 2449.1 mg
    102%
    Total Carbohydrate 464.8 g
    154%
    Dietary Fiber 21.9 g
    87%
    Sugars 280.2 g
    1121%
    Protein 43.8 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites