12 Reviews

This was a really simple recipe and the bread turned out really moist. My loaves were a little underdone even though the toothpick came out clean, I think because I used the lowfat sour cream it was too watery. The cinnamon was a little overpowering so next time I will reduce the amount. I gave some to my parents and in-laws and they loved it. All in all a great way to use strawberries.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2girls July 02, 2003

This recipe is amazing! I have used it with strawberries and with blueberries, I have used an equal mixture of wheat and white flour, I have done the yogurt sub for sour cream...I have accidentally mixed things out of order...this recipe has turned out wonderfully every time. I had to make this once a week every week last summer, sometimes as muffins, and I make it often now as well. Really a recipe that will stay in my cookbook and get passed down. FANTASTIC!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dazy January 21, 2011

Delicious bread! I've made it several times and I always use plain low fat yogurt instead of sour cream and 1 1/2 cups of strawberries.I like mine a little sweeter so I sprinkle brown sugar on top of the bread before baking.It always turns out very moist and has a wonderful flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
officemaintenance July 19, 2010

My DH decided he wanted to bake (I of course have to leave any area of my kitchen--can you imagine?) So i gave him this recipe, because it sounded good and I had strawberries to use. I did have him increase the strawberries to 1 cup as recommended by others and the 65 minutes of baking was fine. So very good. Thanks Marie. I'm sure he'll add this to his own list of recipes like "Eggs Benedict" Very good. (we even used low fat sour cream with no probs)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth April 20, 2009

Loved this recipe!!!!!! I increased the amount of strawberries to 1cup following a previous review and baked it for about 65 minutes.The only problem was that the walnts I used for the topping was slightly burnt.But DH loved it and I will definately be making this one again...Thnx Marie!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seeprats October 13, 2008

I must've forgotten to review this when I made it... I'm about to make it again. It's one of my favorite baked goods of all time! This recipe title perfectly describes the delicious outcome. Just like fresh strawberries in cream, in quick-bread form. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather V. February 24, 2008

This is a very nice bread. I did add more strawberries as suggested in another review. I only cooked it for 55 minutes and it come out perfect. Thanks Marie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SammiCat June 27, 2007

A delicious way to use the wonderful strawberries in season right now! Got rave reviews on the first loaf so now I am going to go make some more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fitnfamished May 31, 2006

This was wonderful! I also omitted the nuts because I don't care for them. I put in 1 cup of strawberries, but next time I will add more. It was very good and smells absolutely wonderful while baking. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann in Iowa May 11, 2006

I've made this twice in two days... I loooove it! So simple and very yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rainyfriday June 12, 2005
Fresh Strawberries and Cream Bread