Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Fresh Plum & Blueberry Upside-Down Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Plum & Blueberry Upside-Down Cake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2012

      This is such an easy cake recipe & it was delishious! I don't have a 9" cake pan so I used an 8" cast iron skillet & it worked great. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Wow!! What a moist cake. It has great flavors. Very easy to make. I will be making this again. I wanted to mention that I used my iron skillet to make this. I think thats why it turned out so dark. Thank You for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2014

      Pretty and quite tasty! My husband even said "better than what I expected" ;) I had rather large plums, so just used 2 and one was really juicy. All my blueberries floated to the top (bottom when turned over). Had to use the cake flour sub (used 2 Tbsp cornstarch and filled in the rest with AP flour) and used lemon extract in place of lemon zest. Oh, and used buttermilk powder/water. With all those subs, it still turned out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Wow! We made this gluten free by using Annalise Roberts' cake flour mix plus 1/2 tsp xanthan gum, and it was superb! :-) I have made this with several kinds of fruit, even a chocolate-cake with bananas version, it's a big hit every time!!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Made for my husband's 60th birthday and again a week later for a dinner party. Used one of my trusty cast iron skillets and it was delish. While it may be dark on the fruity top because of the cast iron I rather liked it that way. The cake itself was wonderfully white and tender thanks to the buttermilk. Served warm with a little vanilla ice cream....it doesnt get any better than this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      I found the last of the autumn plums in the store the other day and made this little gem - it was lovely!! I cut the sugar down a bit and used yoghurt because I had no buttermilk and it still came out just fine. A lovely quick cake - thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I used frozen blueberries but otherwise followed the recipe as it. I got so many compliments on the cake! It was very moist and delicious. My new showpiece!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      This was delicious. I used blackberries instead of blueberries, and it worked really well. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Excellent cake, great flavours, moist light sponge. FANTASTIC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Holy smokes, this is so amazingly good. I was talking while baking and forgot to alternate the mixing but it still turned out awesome. I sliced the plums instead of halving and used fresh but frozen blueberries and it looked beautiful. The brown sugar makes it all carmely-if that's a word? And I don't keep buttermilk around so just added a couple teaspoons of vinegar to the milk. I will make this a lot, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      So tasty! Only change I made was to use a few more plums and blueberries than called for in the recipe. Easy and really pretty when flipped. Would wow at a dinner party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2004

      I made this cake using 1& 1/2 cups of fresh blueberries and left out the plums. I also decreased the amount of butter, in the bottom of the pan, to 4 tablespoons. The finished cake, when inverted, has a lovely thick jelly-like covering because the blueberries do not keep their form. After the cake cooled, I piped whipped topping around the outer edges to dress it up a little. Very delicious cake and my family is enjoying every bite. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      I'm posting this so others with the same idea will know what to expect. I wanted to cut down on the butter so I used 3, rather than 6T of butter in the first step. Other than that I didn't change anything. There was plenty of butter in the finished product but I'm betting it wasn't as pretty as it would have been had I used more. The brown sugar and butter didn't soak into the cake as much as it might have, resulting in a crust that covered the plums and blueberries. Tasted great though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Plum & Blueberry Upside-Down Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 413.0
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    39%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 11.3 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 69.9 mg
    23%
    Sodium 330.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 42.5 g
    170%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes