8 Reviews

This one is a keeper. I took it to work as a treat and they all wanted the recipe. I am making it for my daughters lunch for the next week. It is also good for breakfast. I one and a halfed the batter portion and cooked it in a bundt pan. You need to increase the time to about 1 hour. But watch it closely after 45 min.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MandyJ February 09, 2003

I'm not going to leave any stars because I think I may have messed up when I tried this recipe. I did not have baking soda so I doubled up on baking powder - I'm not sure if that is a big mistake or not. And then I used the powdered buttermilk mixed with water instead of real buttermilk. The end result was probably a 4 star recipe. The filling tasted wonderful and I loved it. But the actual cake part had a slightly strange flavor - almost kind of tangy but not really. But other than that the cake was picture perfect and my husband liked it. I will try this again with all of the correct ingredients and see what happens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilieLearnstoCook December 07, 2008

It's 1:00 a.m. here in Australia and I can't sleep so naturally I'm on Zaar. I've just made this and its in the oven, it smells wonderful, thank you for a lovely recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.a.c.k. November 14, 2008

This was fairly simple to make and tasted wonderful. Moist and delicious! I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babybug76 August 06, 2008

First things first -- this us absolutely DELICIOUS! Its light and, though quite sweet, doesn't have that sticky-sickly sweetness that puts me off so many coffeecakes. However, I'm not putting in any stars because it got all fouled up from being made in a toaster oven -- the top was over-browned and trying to scorch though the middle was uncooked and no amount of rotating the pan or taking out the cooked edge pieces got really satisfactory results. I have no doubts that it would work properly in a proper oven. I'll try it another time when the remodeling is done and I have a real oven again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3KillerBs December 25, 2007

i baked this cake to take to our campsite this weekend, my husband and daughter and i really liked this cake. the only changes i made to it were to decrease the buttermilk to 1/2 cup and add 3/4 cup sour cream to the recipe. i will definitely make this yummy coffee cake again. thankks for the recipe. rita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melsmom June 13, 2007

Really fluffy and moist! I substituted cream cheese for half of the butter in the filling mix- it gave it a pleasant little zip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel August 14, 2004

Great cake. The filling - esp brown sugar and cinnamon - has such a wonderful flavour and the nuts give the crunch. Easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunbeam June 06, 2004
Filled Coffee Cake