Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Fig & Almond Bundt Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fig & Almond Bundt Cake

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2013

      The cake was delish, but although I used a cup of chopped fresh figs (unpeeled) it did not taste particularly figgy. Maybe the almond was too strong a flavor. People raved about it and scarfed it up all the same!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      Very easy to make, unusual flavour, my wife loves it.
      We have more figs and oranges in the garden than we can eat,( I only wish my mangos' were as productive). This is one way of using them. I think that this cake will freeze well. A whole cake is too much for my wife in one go. Being diabetic I can't eat it; just cook it. Thanks Rita, another of your super recipes saved for the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      I just made this recipe with some fresh figs I scored last week - it smells amazing, we'll eat it at holiday brunch tomorrow...
      And here's a bit of information: 1 cup of whole almonds is the equivalent of 1 1/2 cups of almond meal (available at Trader Joes) which is what I used. 1 cup of chopped figs is about 7 plump ones. PEEL (they were green on the outside, not black) before you chop or puree them! I used a hand blender and pureed the figs, as they were extremely soft. I made a couple of slight changes: I used half butter, half oil, I was heavy-handed with the vanilla and the cinnamon but only a bit and I used half unbleached and half white whole wheat flour.
      This may be the second time I have used a bundt pan in my life - be sure to grease and flour well. I followed baking and cooling directions to the letter, and this baby slid right out onto the cooling rack.

      I will be back to let you know how everyone liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Needed something to do with the too-ripe figs from my CSA box. I halved the recipe and made it in a loaf pan, which worked well. The friends I served it to all liked it; personally, I do not like almond extract flavoring, so if I make it again, I'll leave that out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Taste-wise, it is a very good cake. I couldn't get fresh figs so I bought dried figs and soaked them in Frangelico to soften them up. I was a little disappointed that it didn't rise more, considering that all of the ingredients I used were fresh. August 20, 2007 - I made the cake again using fresh figs and instead of my Bundt pan, used my regular tube pan, which holds a smaller volume. What a difference in results. The cake rose beautifully and tasted so much better than on my previous attempt. Fresh figs are definitely the way to go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Great Cake!!! I did a twist though. I topped it with a Sauteed Fresh Fig and Almond Desert (by Spatchcock). The outcome is very Rich and wonderful with a Cup O Columbian Java either hot or cold. Thank you Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      I made this cake since we had a bunch of fresh figs from our tree. We really liked it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      Very good and different! Texture was like a tea bread. I used only 3/4 cup of sugar and was perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      I thought it was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      Very good cake and a wonderful way to use up some figs I had on hand. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fig & Almond Bundt Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 513.4
     
    Calories from Fat 217
    42%
    Total Fat 24.2 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 160.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 33.5 g
    134%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh figs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes