Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Fantastic Rhubarb Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fantastic Rhubarb Cake

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2010

      We enjoyed this cake, however we thought that the topping was a little too thick and sweet for the cake. I'll cut the topping ingredients in half the next time I make it. I also cut the pieces smaller so I will probably get at least 24 servings from this cake - lots for lunches. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Yummy rhubarb cake - especially when rhubarb is in season. Only change I make is to reduce sugar, but do that with most recipes. For a change of flavor I add some grated orange rind - marries well with rhubarb. Thanks for a great cake Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Absolutely my favorite dessert, hands down! My Grandma always made rhubarb cakes, crumbles, crisps, etc and this one tastes just like one of hers! I haven't had one since she passed in '81 and BOY do I miss them! Thank you for posting a MAJOR KEEPER for me!!! I just adore rhubarb! I made exactly as directed with the exception of the nuts - I don't care for them so I omitted them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      Soooo good :P Instead of butter, I used applesauce. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I didn't use nutmeg cause I don't like. I had only 2 cups of rhubarb so I used also 1 cup of blueberries. The mix with rhubarb and blueberries is very good. Thanks for the recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2013

      Great cake with ice cream. Toppings is too sweet so next time will half ingredients and may add another 100g of Rhubarb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      "I wish I could give the recipe more than 5 stars!" It deserves it. I have made your receipe with many variations. Each one was perfect because of your "base recipe". I have made the Rhubarb Cake, Strawberry Rhubarb Cake, Blueberry with grated lemon peel and Apple Cake with grated lemon peel. I have used 4 Tbls. powdered butter milk mixed in the flour with 1 cup of 2% milk, each time. (Hard to keep butter milk in the house) I have been asked many times for the recipe. I don't use the Topping. After the batter is spread in the pan, I just sprinkle some brown sugar and ciammon on top and place it in the oven. (Less sugar and butter works better for us - Hubby is a diabetic) The "only" change to the basic recipe I have made is to add 1 Tesp. Baking Powder to the basic recipe. It works. The cake tecture is light, airey, and delicious. Sorry it took me so long to send this review. (: Thank you from the bottom of my heart Kitty. This recipe is not just a "keeper" but a "favorite forever"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      This just could not be any better! Quickly this made it to the top of my dessert list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      Just as the name says...FANTASTIC! I'm a long time rhubarb fan and had a bunch frozen. I wanted something other that G-ma's rhubarb custard pie and this satisfied my cravings! Even picky 5 & 3 year olds liked it! Thanx for another one Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Kitten this was wonderful! My DH really loved it! I served it with whipped cream and tonight I think I will serve it with vanilla ice cream! I didn't add the walnuts cuz DH doesn't like them, but that didn't take anything away from how delicious it is! Another hit in this house!!! Always, Jelly :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Fabulous recipe. Only change was pecans for walnuts. The cake was gobbled by all & asking for 2nd's. I thought it was delicious, just alittle sweet for me so I'll try 1/4 cup less on the sugar topping next time. Very moist & tasty, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      As the third reviewer I predict MANY future 5* reviews for this cake. It's outstanding flavor, attractive presentation and simplicity of preparation make it a make-again keeper, Kittencal. I followed the recipe exactly (whoops, I did use less cinnamon as mine was fresh and VERY strongly flavored) and served it with French vanilla ice cream. I thought the walnuts put the cake over the top. I'm looking forward to the blueberry version. 27* for this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fantastic Rhubarb Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.5
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    37%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 51.9 mg
    17%
    Sodium 308.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.0 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 49.1 g
    196%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes