11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We enjoyed this cake, however we thought that the topping was a little too thick and sweet for the cake. I'll cut the topping ingredients in half the next time I make it. I also cut the pieces smaller so I will probably get at least 24 servings from this cake - lots for lunches. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee April 13, 2010

Yummy rhubarb cake - especially when rhubarb is in season. Only change I make is to reduce sugar, but do that with most recipes. For a change of flavor I add some grated orange rind - marries well with rhubarb. Thanks for a great cake Kittencal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 August 30, 2009

Absolutely my favorite dessert, hands down! My Grandma always made rhubarb cakes, crumbles, crisps, etc and this one tastes just like one of hers! I haven't had one since she passed in '81 and BOY do I miss them! Thank you for posting a MAJOR KEEPER for me!!! I just adore rhubarb! I made exactly as directed with the exception of the nuts - I don't care for them so I omitted them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva August 13, 2007

Soooo good :P Instead of butter, I used applesauce. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I didn't use nutmeg cause I don't like. I had only 2 cups of rhubarb so I used also 1 cup of blueberries. The mix with rhubarb and blueberries is very good. Thanks for the recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 29, 2007

Great cake with ice cream. Toppings is too sweet so next time will half ingredients and may add another 100g of Rhubarb.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef JGuyC May 11, 2013

"I wish I could give the recipe more than 5 stars!" It deserves it. I have made your receipe with many variations. Each one was perfect because of your "base recipe". I have made the Rhubarb Cake, Strawberry Rhubarb Cake, Blueberry with grated lemon peel and Apple Cake with grated lemon peel. I have used 4 Tbls. powdered butter milk mixed in the flour with 1 cup of 2% milk, each time. (Hard to keep butter milk in the house) I have been asked many times for the recipe. I don't use the Topping. After the batter is spread in the pan, I just sprinkle some brown sugar and ciammon on top and place it in the oven. (Less sugar and butter works better for us - Hubby is a diabetic) The "only" change to the basic recipe I have made is to add 1 Tesp. Baking Powder to the basic recipe. It works. The cake tecture is light, airey, and delicious. Sorry it took me so long to send this review. (: Thank you from the bottom of my heart Kitty. This recipe is not just a "keeper" but a "favorite forever"!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsygal August 15, 2012

This just could not be any better! Quickly this made it to the top of my dessert list!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheffette Teresa July 22, 2009

Just as the name says...FANTASTIC! I'm a long time rhubarb fan and had a bunch frozen. I wanted something other that G-ma's rhubarb custard pie and this satisfied my cravings! Even picky 5 & 3 year olds liked it! Thanx for another one Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuneDawg June 07, 2009

Kitten this was wonderful! My DH really loved it! I served it with whipped cream and tonight I think I will serve it with vanilla ice cream! I didn't add the walnuts cuz DH doesn't like them, but that didn't take anything away from how delicious it is! Another hit in this house!!! Always, Jelly :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HotPepperRosemaryJelly June 04, 2009

Fabulous recipe. Only change was pecans for walnuts. The cake was gobbled by all & asking for 2nd's. I thought it was delicious, just alittle sweet for me so I'll try 1/4 cup less on the sugar topping next time. Very moist & tasty, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 June 01, 2009
Fantastic Rhubarb Cake