19 Reviews

I was looking for my lost brownie recipe, and this is it. Originated from a bag of Hershey chocolate chips. I would add a great adder to this recipe is to add smuckers hot fudge and caramel. Slightly warm the fudge and caramel (so it pours in about 1/4" thick line) and make about 3 lines with each topping (smushed S shapes) Add these toppings just before putting in oven. Run a knife perpindiculare across these lines to distribute in about 2 or three spots. If you don't have both of these toppings, you could use either one. I think the caramel may add more, as it contrasts the chocolate a little better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpillow April 18, 2010

I have made 3 batches of these. First, I made a double batch for my daughter's class. I stirred in chocolate peanut butter swirl chips for the second cup of chips. They turned out amazing, with none leftover! They were very fudgy! Yum! I did have trouble determining whether or not they were done. They didn't seem to get to the point where the toothpick test explained by another reviewer (sticky, not clean) indicated doneness, but when the edges started to look dry, I pulled them out anyway. I don't think they were underbaked, because the edges didn't get hard. The second time I made them, I used chocolate chunks, as I was out of chips. I used 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup splenda. They turned out differently. They look a lot like GaylaJ's photo, and are a little bit drier than the first time I made them. They seemed done already at 18 minutes, unlike the first time, when I had to keep adding time. Maybe they baked faster with only one pan in the oven? Maybe the chocolate chunks made for more chocolate in 1 cup than the chips because of the way they fit together in the measuring cup? Maybe the chunks made the batter drier because they're a little old? Maybe the splenda changed the texture? I haven't had issues using splenda with other types of bars. I want to try these again and see if I can get more consistent results before leaving a 5 star rating. Thanks for posting! They are delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SrtaMaestra January 09, 2010

I found this recipe years ago on a nestle bag and used to make them all the time. Thank you for posting as I have been wanting to make them again and couldn't find mine. I always dropped to 1 cup of flour, though, because they were too "cakey". That and some mini marshmallows will make this recipe a 5 star!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chryschrys April 08, 2009

By far the best brownie recipe ever! I'm allergic to chocolate, and have been looking for a 'chip' recipe where I can easily substitute in sweetened carob chips. This recipe did the trick! It definitely satisfies my chocolate cravings, is easy to make, and creates a yummy, fudgey brownie. Making them again for Valentine's day. Don't discount this recipe if you haven't tried it yet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megan_bozman February 11, 2009

These were so delicious! Nice and rich and gooey. My husband thought they were a little too rich, but they didn't last very long. Very easy to whip up also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW October 30, 2008

Yummy! I used 1 c. chocolate chips and 1 c. peanut butter chips. Took A LOT longer to bake than the recipe stated, but these came out pretty good in the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers February 17, 2008

Neither the hubby nor I liked the taste--it tasted slightly malty to him and liquor-y to me (no idea why). The brownie never quite baked properly--the toothpick continually came out partly clean and partly gooey--not sticky/crumby, but gooey. Followed the directions to the letter and used good quality ingredients--not sure why my result came out so bad compared to everyone else's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Ann February 15, 2007

These were so good! I am surprised because I was a bit skeptical from just the amount of flour and chocolate chips being used I thought it would result in a brownie that was too cakey. Boy was I wrong! These were nice and fudgy and close to my perfect "from scratch" brownie recipe that I have been looking for. I added a dash of salt because it always help to bring out the chocolate flavor when baking and used a 11 x 7 pan because I wanted a thicker brownie. My family scarfed these down. For some reason, they tasted best the next day. For those that got a cakey brownie, my guess is that you overbaked them. If your toothpick comes out clean, they are overbaked. The toothpick should come out at tiny bit sticky with moist crumbs clinging to it. If the middle of the brownie puffed up and the sides look extremely dry, then it was probably over baked as well. Both times I made this, the brownie was incredibly even in appearance with a lovely shiny top. The second time I made this, I goofed and melted ALL the chocolate chips with the butter and the brownies still came out wonderfully. Thanks for a recipe that is a sure keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerchk February 13, 2007

Fantastic! I've made these several times now - I make them as written except the nuts. While they appear slightly cakey, I'm a fudgey-brownie-lover and they're pLenTY moist for me (I think the mix-in chips enhance the texture too)!! This is one of the simplest brownie recipes I've ever used and I'll never understand why people think brownies from scratch are difficult and time consuming...! Note: I've also used this recipe with random add-ins, made as cupcakes, and w/a fudgey glaze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Atiekay January 14, 2007

Yum! I just baked these up and they were INCREDIBLY easy to make, and very tasty! Had with vanilla ice cream right out of the oven! Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Unknown Chef6 July 23, 2006
Easy Double Chocolate Chip Brownies