Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Double the Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Double the Streusel Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2009

      Fantastic! I made this as written, but baked it in a 9" springform pan. It made a beautiful presentation, and the glaze drizzled on top gave it that extra YUM! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      I made this recipe on 6/8/11 for the "June Is Baked Goods Month" event in the Photo Forum.The recipe,except for the glaze was made exactly as it was written. Bake time was " right on the money ".At first I thought the amount of streusel ingredients were going to be too much,but it was perfect.The light sweetness of the cake part blended perfectly with the topping. This will be made again. Thank you for taking time to post and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      This is a wonderful coffee cake recipe and exactly what I was looking for! I made it before church on Sunday and it was still warm when my family devored it afterward. I omitted the icing too and it was perfectly sweet without it. I will definitely make this for my family again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      We loved everything about this coffee cake. The cake is moist and has a large crumb, and the struesel has a nice crunch to it. It's become a regular in our house. I have never drizzled it with icing as it seems sweet enough as is. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      This is identical to a recipe my mother had that I had been making since I was nine! I had not made it in years and then was lucky enough to find it on this sight. This is one of the easiest and best coffeecakes I have ever had and I have always received rave reviews whenever I took it anywhere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      Fantastic! Also, very easy to make and quick in and out. the topping is generous and delicious. Thanks a bunch for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      Not a bad recipe- however, the instructions left a little to be desired. They say to pour the mixture into a pan. Unfortunately it isn't possible to pour the mixture as it is more of a dough than it is a batter. This is fine except that putting the second half of batter over the streusel isn't possible without clumping and sliding everything around while you are pushing the doughy batter into the pan. Everything else seems acceptable about the recipe. Just take note.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      This is a delicious recipe. I've made a particular sour cream coffee cake on special occasions for close to 35 years, but I actually think I like this one a bit more; and this one's a little easier to make! My son told me he liked this one even better, and he loves my tried and true recipe--so that's saying something! Because my other recipe has chopped pecans in the streusel, I knew I couldn't leave that out. I added ~3/4-1 cup chopped pecans to the streusel, and it was perfect. Like others mentioned, I found it wasn't close to done at 25 minutes; I had to bake it for about 40 minutes. I did not drizzle the cake with icing. Like my other recipe, I could sprinkle with confectioner's sugar after it cools; but I didn't do that this time. Someone else mentioned that this coffee cake has a nice crumb, and I agree and think that might be partially why I like it a little better than my other recipe. In fact, I think I'll make it again today! Why save it for just a special occasion?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      Wonderful coffee cake! This is my go to recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      Everybody loved it, although I let it bake perhaps a bit too long. Next time, I think I'll reverse the order and make this an upside-down cake with a powdered sugar glaze on top. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      This recipe was good, I enjoyed the flavor of the cake especially.
      (Although I did tweak it a tad), I added sourcream to the batter, and used banana in place of butter; I also doubled the streusel in order to fill the bundt pan. I took another users advice and used wheat, as opposed to white, as well.
      My only complaint would be that it did take approx. 45 minutes to bake instead of the 25 min; but that could be due to some of the changes I made to the original recipe, also next time I think I'll double the cake batter half and possibly Not use the bundt pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Awesome coffee cake that lasted less than 24 hours in our house. Everyone LOVED it!! We omitted the icing due to personal taste and it was perfect. Very easy recipe and the ingredients are staples in my pantry, so this is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Very easy to make and delicious. For the cake, I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour in place of 1/2 of the white flour. I made the streusel as directed and didn't add any icing, and it more than satisfied my sweet tooth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      I made this because I was looking for a breakfast cake I could make with ingredients on hand. This cake was quick to make and came out moist and tasty. This would be even better with the addition of some sort of berry to the batter or sliced almonds in the streusel. Next time Im going to double the cake portion and make it in a bundt pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Very enjoyable cake - so easy to do too. I will be freezing it for the school lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Loved that it was small, quick & easy. But, we found it way, way too sweet. I used 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour & 1/2 white flour. If I made it again, I'd probably use half the amount of streusel and maybe cut down on the white sugar too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      I made this, but unfortunately never got to taste it… it was a gift for a neighbor. It was torturous, the smell was divine!!! I used a 9 inch round cake pan. I was a little worried because the cake layers seemed thin, but it puffed up nicely! Got a call from my neighbor with rave reviews for the coffee cake… yey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Perfect!! My DSs could not wait for this to come out of the oven. I was not going to make the glaze, but my oldest (17) looked at the picture and begged me to make the glaze. It really put the cake over the top! This will become a family favorite. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      This was so good for my stressed out soul this morning! Nothing like my mother's coffee cake (which I never liked anyway) this is light and fluffy with the perfect amount of sweetness. 12 servings...no way! 3 of us ate the whole thing for breakfast. I also needed to bake an extra 10 minutes since the middle was still wobbly at 25. MERP'd for Zaar Alphabet Chef game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Excellent! My 14 yo DD made this & it was very moist. We loved all the steusel flavor, that's what makes it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Double the Streusel Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 250.4
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    30%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 25.2 mg
    8%
    Sodium 185.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 25.9 g
    103%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes