Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Do Nothing Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Do Nothing Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2011

      The all loved this.
      I didnt have evaporated milk so i used sweetened condensed milk and no sugar instead, and it worked out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      Made this today and both my husband and I say "it's a keeper". This was so easy to make. I love the heavy dense texture to this cake. I will for sure be making it again. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Yum. We liked this a lot. What a nice change from the usual cake with powdered sugar frosting. Very dense cake and next time I may bake just a bit shorter time. I ran out of sugar so used 1/4 white sugar and 3/4 brown sugar for frosting. Still turned out lovely - just sweet enough and really good with chopped pecans. Will make again. Thanks, Marg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      I make this cake all the time. I always add crushed walnuts to the batter, other times I shred a couple of carrots and add that plus the crushed walnuts to turn it into a yummy carrot cake. I have never tried the frosting it suggests for this recipe. I always top this cake with a cream cheese frostings. Here's the recipe I use:<br/>1 ? 8 oz. pkg cream cheese<br/>1 stick of butter<br/>1 tsp vanilla extract<br/>1 box (approx 2 cups) of confectioners sugar<br/><br/>Beat all ingredients together with an electric mixer and spread on cooled cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      Ok, this is a rich dense cake like my mother-in-law used to make in rural East Texas...one you would take to family gatherings...the old recipes always had condensed milk and real butter somewhere...looking for comfort food? This one reminds you of how the wonderful cooks of the forties and fifties used to do it.....Husbands will love a taste of how grandma used to make a extra special treat for the family or used to take it to the church social! If your cake turned out soggy, you probably under cooked it..must test with a tooth pick that comes out clean..and be sure you boil the frosting a full 5 minutes until it starts to" thicken"and turns a little brown...Then remove from the heat and add vanilla, coconut and pecans. Allow to cool..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      I gave this recipe to a catering buddy of mine. She said she's made it 3 times this week with rave reviews from all her clients! It comes together very easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      Tough, weird cake. Some shortening might have made a difference. It was easy, yes -- but what good is that if you have to throw it out? My family thinks I am developing Alzheimers for making this. Even the frosting wasn't good. At first glance, you think, "Ah, the same frosting that goes on a German Chocolate Cake!" But no, it isn't. It has some of the same expensive ingredients, but is watery and not creamy at all. It needed the egg yolks. <br/>I shredded this recipe. Sorry, Marg. But thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      Not sure what the commotion is about. I poked mine all over and it ended up a bit soggy. Very easy to do, but the final product was just okay and there are a lot of other cakes I would prefer. Sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Came out soggy. Not sure what I did wrong

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2013

      I forgot to put in the 5 stars earlier. Love this cake. I had a 20 oz can vs a 16 oz can crushed pineapple. I reserved 1/4th cup and mixed that in to the final icing. Love this thank you for the recipe :)))<br/><br/>I have made this cake 3 times in one month! Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. Make sure your cake is done and boil your frosting at least the full 5 minutes to 'thicken' up. I also put one cup of nuts in my chopper to make them smaller. <br/><br/>Quick and easy to take along for a picnic or whatever. I'm making my 4th cake on Sunday for a barbeque.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Overall, this cake is quick and easy to make. I am not in love with the cake flavor, and think if I were to make this again, I would add some kind of pineapple extract. The cake flavor is a bit bland for me, even with all the pineapple in it. I added a bit of coconut to the batter and used macadamia nuts for the topping. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. I think this is a great cake to make for pot lucks and other events. It is worthy of the four stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      My husband loved this cake and it was so easy to make! I plan on always having the ingredients on hand so I can whip one up at a moments notice. Thanks for sharing it, Marg!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Excellent..I'm taking this to work tomorrow for a Superbowl potluck and decided to make it in an 8 x 12 with a separate 'sampler' in a loaf pan. (Hubby wanted to test it first) This is divine..so moist very easy and definitely perfect for a potluck. Hubby is not a coconut fan but already he's had two pieces. Many thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Took this on camping trip. Very moist cake, everyone enjoyed it. Will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      One of our family favorites! We use self rising flour and omit the baking soda, and for our frosting, we use a 15 ounce can evaporated milk and add an extra 1/2 cup coconut. This cake is as easy to put together as a cake from a mix, and tastes MUCH better! Thanks so much for posting!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      This really is just about a do nothing cake, unless you count walking across the street to the neighbor's to borrow sugar! LOL! So simple and delicious and MOIST! Now I must cut some to take to the neighbors before it is gone. I love the way the icing soaks into the cake and makes it so moist. I poked holes in the cake so it could soak in easier. BTW, when the cake came out of the oven, it was the prettiest golden color I have ever had a cake to be. Delicious and thanks Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      This was WONDERFUL!!! My 2 year old wouldn't stop eating it! I brought it to an FFA supper and it was completely gone within the first 30 minutes! Several people asked for the recipe! I am making another one tonight to bring to work tomorrow! It is VERY moist and so easy!! Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Do Nothing Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 382.1
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    35%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 41.9 mg
    13%
    Sodium 210.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 42.4 g
    169%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites