18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice change of pace from banana bread and a good way to sneak something a little healthier in the lunchbox. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon January 22, 2013

These were ok. My kids and husband liked them, but I felt they were missing something. Maybe a little salt to bring out the flavors or something. I don't know. I probably won't make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
griffiths_melissa January 15, 2013

Was looking for a healthy cookie to make with my very ripe bananas. I took the advice of another reviewer and used a cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup of butter, 1 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 3 cups of oatmeal. I also added flaxseed meal (didn't measure, just put a little in) and used spelt flour in place of regular flour. A very good cookie. Very cakey. Will definately make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carwashgirl February 19, 2010

I have made these several times and we all love them. I always add a cup of milled flax seeds and 2 T. vanilla. I have added pecans, and even a cup of choc chips. I will caution potential first timers that this is best when made with quick oats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
all4one July 18, 2009

These are fantastic! My kids asked for banana cookies instead of muffins thinking they were making something up- found his recipe and tried it with some alterations. Subbed 2 cups of wheat flour for same amt of white, added 1/2 cup flax seed and subbed applesauce for 1 cup of the butter and decreased the brown sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Wow! Yummy and I ABSOLUTELY DESPISE bananas. I was hoping to not like these cookies so I wouldn't eat them all :) Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whatscooking? April 19, 2008

These are yummy!- they taste just like banana bread with the added nutrition of oatmeal. Be forewarned, this is a cake-y type of cookie, not a chewy oatmeal cookie, but delicious nonetheless!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sramos1017 December 25, 2006

Sorry, not my cup of tea. Maybe I made a mistake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy December 21, 2006

This was a great recipe! I made some alterations due to what ingredients I had on hand. I used 1 cup butter and one half cup of blueberry applesauce, 2 cups white flour and 1 cup wheat flour. Yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alkaloidqueen November 05, 2006
Divine Oatmeal Banana Cookies