9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great cookie. Loved the flavor. I used reg. sugar. They turned out great. My family sure enjoyed these. Thanks for the great recipe. Made for I Recommend Tag.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom December 10, 2010

This is a nice cookie recipe Noo. I used Ghiradelli Dark Chocolate Chips. The cookies do not flatten out so a nice soft press before baking makes for more even baking in my opinion. They baked up nicely in 12 minutes in my oven. I received 24 cookies using my small cookie scoop. I'm so glad I "adopted" you in PAC 2011.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom March 20, 2011

Delicious soft puffy cake like cookies. Perfect blend of sweet dough to dark chocolate. Being in the USA, this wasn't too simple for words to make because I had to use my scale to measure the ingredients by ounces. I got the following results for future reference: 1 cup plus 2 1/2 tbsp all-purpose flour, 1/3 cup plus 1 tbsp light brown sugar, 1/4 cup granulated sugar, 3/4 cup bittersweet chocolate chips. I used one 4oz cube of butter. I rolled it into 15 1-inch balls. They don't spread much and the bottom and edges browned a little too much. I think I probably should have flattened the balls a little and maybe not have greased the pan...a lower temperature might help too. These were worth the measuring trouble. Even my Hubby, who only likes the Nestle recipe, loved these. Made for the please review tag game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed December 02, 2010

Yes, it wasn't much fun doing the conversions, but it really wasn't too difficult. The flavor is truly good with the combination of dark chocolate and the hint of vanilla used. This is a nice cookie recipe. It's also great that it's a small batch, it keeps you from eating too many. ;)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu December 05, 2008

I don't know why I have never made a cookie with dark chocolate before. It just never occurred to me before. Any recipe with dark chocolate has to be good - I just love it. I doubled the recipe without any problems. This was also my first adventure in baking with ounces rather than cups and I did so using my kitchen scale so the process was very much different.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus November 08, 2008

DS took this to his adult music recreation group and they disappeared in no time flat along with a heap of copies of the recipe. From the cooks point of view a wizz to make, I got 18 huge cookies out of the mix and they took 12 minutes at 175C fan forced oven and were just browning and nice and crispy around the edge and and soft a chewy towards the centre yummy. Thank you Noo, made Gimme 5 Recipe Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat June 03, 2009

Very easy to make - and this is from an occasional biscuit and things sweet maker - and truly delicious! I used 70% German chocolate from Aldi's to make these rather than chocolate chips, so they were particularly delicious. This is one of three of Noo's biscuit and brownie recipes I've made to take to my brother's for our family Christmas, the others being Recipe Orange Biscotti and Chocolate Cheesecake Brownies: all delicious and I know that they'll all be a hit. Again very easy to follow instructions, which I always appreciate. Thanks for sharing another great recipe, Noo! It's recipes like this one that are likely to turn me into a regular biscuit maker! Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 23, 2008

It almost took me longer to convert the measurements (to something I could easily use) than it did to make them, but what the hey ~ THESE TASTE GREAT! Loved the use of dark chocolate! Was going to share them, but by the time the 2 of us got through with the still-warm cookies, there were many left! Thanks for sharing your recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 21, 2008

I have decided that this recipe must be impossible to ruin. My first batch that I cooked baked into a solid thin big cookie. I knew immediately something was wrong. I looked at the recipe that I had attempted to cut in half, and realized I had neglected to divide the butter in half. I added some flour to the compensate. From then on each batch turned out beautiful just like the photo shows. The really amazing thing is that both the thin first batch and the following batches all tasted wonderful! I used semi sweet chocolate chips because that was what I had on hand. Made for PAC Spring 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ April 13, 2013
Dark Chocolate Chip and Vanilla Cookies