12 Reviews

Oh, these tasted so decadent. Soaked my cherries in Amaretto, and, oh my, were they good. And, of course, I had to taste one before they went into the brownies! Love this recipe, and when I'm feeling bleu, I'm sure these will help. Thnx for posting, my very helpful First Mate. Made for ZWT5 for RRR

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter June 05, 2009

Delicious brownies! I used toasted halved almonds and also tried the trick of soaking the cherries. I soaked them overnight in Gran Marnier, just for fun. Delicious!!! We loved them, they were part of a catering platter that got rave reviews! Thanks Brooke! Made for ZWT 5:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ May 27, 2009

Made these as a special treat for the BF. He loved them! Said they were some of the best brownies. I've never had luck with any other non box brownies, and was surprised by these. Very moist. Did use splenda, used pecans. Will try again, but want to try soaking the cherries in kirsh. :) Thank you so much for posting. Made for ZWT 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarteausucre May 26, 2009

Great flavor and texture combination. I used chopped pecans, whole wheat pastry flour and raw sugar without the Splenda, it was just great. I also used dried cherries that I had been soaking in vodka for a week. I strained out the vodka and put them in, creating a more moist, tasty brownie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Public Foodie #1 February 18, 2009

These are the best brownies, rich, fudgy and decadent beyond words. I loved the flavor of the dark bittersweet chocolate and dried cherries, it is really special. I was out of bittersweet chocolate chips so I used Hershey chocolate bittersweet 85 % cocoa bars, dried cherries and milk chocolate chips. I omitted the nuts as dh is allergic. This is one of the best brownie recipes I have tried on this site, I can't wait to make these again. Kudos Brooke

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato September 03, 2008

Although I made a handful of bar recipes over this past weekend, I also had lots of company to devour them, so including these was no problem! AND, THESE WERE REALLY, REALLY GREAT TASTING! Loved the combo of chocolate & cherry (serious chocoholic cherry lovers would!) & these were gone in no time! Thanks for a keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Recipe Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 14, 2008

OUTSTANDING! I ADORE these! And they're easy. I made them with Ghirardelli, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup walnuts, the cherries and 1/4 cup dried cranberries. I LOVE the chocolate flavor, texture and tart cherries and cranberries. Thanks for satisfying my craving. Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed June 08, 2008

I used also 2 eggs. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar and no splenda. This is sweet enough for us. This is delicious. Thanks Brooke :) Made for Please Review my Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 09, 2008

These were oustanding Brooke,,,,I also substituted Craisins for the cherries and used 2 whole eggs. Very decandent and rich and oh so gooey...FAB!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB October 07, 2007

These brownies were out of this world... My kids just loved them and so did I.... The cherries were a nice addition... I heated them in the microwave the next day and ate with a glass of milk... They tasted just as good as if they'd just come out of the oven and they were so moist.... Thanks for sharing... We will enjoy these again....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 July 12, 2007
Dark Chocolate Cherry Brownies