16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this! Super easy and very delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy W. November 17, 2014

I am so glad you posted this recipe! I have made this pie quite a few times now and my family loves it every time. I substitute splenda granular for the sugar to reduce the carb count a bit. I love that I can throw everything in the blender and within 5 minutes have dessert baking in the oven. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in KY May 03, 2011

Delicious! I tried using a hand mixer instead of a blender. The pie was crumbly and didn't hold together well, but the taste was so fantastic that we gobbled it up anyway. DH says he could eat this every day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annheim May 19, 2010

A very interesting concept, and a delicious pie! Loved the custard and the slightly crunchy top; my only complaint is that the bottom crust was a little "gummy" and I'm not sure if that's something typical for this recipe or something I messed up. I did use margerine instead of butter, so maybe that's it? But like I said, the taste is great! In fact, I'm going to go help myself to another portion. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 August 26, 2009

This is an amazing custard pie! It is SO easy to make I can see this being made often! I sprinkled the top with ground nutmeg and some cinnamon sugar and served it cold with a dollop of sweetened whip cream on top. The flavor is rich and the texture creamy, with a slight crunch on the top. Dh was in heaven....he asked me to please, please NOT lose this recipe as he was going to be requesting it often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. April 04, 2009

Easy and delicious. The smell of this while it was baking and cooling was making my family and I crazy, we couldn't quite wait the whole hour to cut into this. Had a piece cold for breakfast the next morning and it was super. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoJoStar June 02, 2008

I have been looking for a way to use up some milk I had in the refrigerator and felt like custard. I didn't want to deal with a crust and this seemed like the recipe... however, I made it per instructions and after 50 minutes the top was still very pale and the pie was a little runny in the middle. I cooked for another 10 minutes and then broiled for 5 minutes to get the top brown. I enjoyed the taste of the custard... very creamy and tasty, but the texture was off... I am not sure if it was just me, but it was not smooth at all... it was kind of lumpy or curd-like... I'm not the greatest a baking so it could have been me... but the taste was very good... thanks for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl April 19, 2008

This is a ridiculously good custard recipe. I doubled it (and it's a good thing I did because it was gone in no time) used 1 tablespoon of vanilla and sprinkled nutmeg over it. This custard had the best flavor, we loved it and I will be making this often. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec April 01, 2008

Had milk and eggs that had to be used up quick. Doubled recipe, poured into oblong baking dish baked for 60 min. Wonderful, nice thin crust on sides and bottom. Will be making again. Might even try it as a traditonal pie. Thanks for sharing. If I could give this another 5 stars I would. I went out a bought a pie plate and made this again. All I can say is wonderful. It is on the list of family favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L DJ September 03, 2007

I finally found a good custard pie recipe and this is it! I added 2 T Vietnamese ground cinnamon because I wanted that type of pie. This kind of pie is tricky because it really isn't done until it's cooled. Then it forms the layers. I was worried when it was baking because it looks like the crusty top is burnt. It wasn't really, but I think there is a fine line between cooking and overcooking this pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eightball1751 February 25, 2007
Crustless Baked Custard Pie