17 Reviews

Perfect! This will be my go to lemon bar recipe. The texture is creamy as the recipe says. I like that much better than the jelly like bars I've had in the past.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ljrgilmore June 24, 2012

These came out wonderful with a light fluffy lemon filling, I used the juice of the whole lemon so this has really intense lemon flavor, thanks for sharing Syd!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz April 30, 2009

Wonderfully lemony and very moreish! I really appreciated the very clear instructions too. I'll be making some more of these for over the Christmas break. YUM! I used granita biscuits for the crust - probably the most popular biscuit here for using in bases to cheesecakes and similar recipes, and I used butter, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Made for the Everyday is a Holiday tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 13, 2008

This is an excellent recipe! It can also be found on page 37 of the Kraft Food & Family Magazine, Holiday 2008/Winter 2009 edition. Thanks for posting and saving me the typing time! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
senseicheryl November 02, 2008

We made these with graham cracker crumbs in lieu of wafers and also added 1 tsp of lemon extract to the batter. A very easy and simple recipe to put together. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu March 25, 2008

Great lemon bar recipe!!! I didn't have lemons on hand for the zest and so used as stated the 1/4 cup lemon juice plus added in 1 t. of lemon extract as mentioned in a previous review. For the crust I pulsed in my food processor 1 1/4 cup graham cracker crumbs with the remaining ingredients for more ease. (I will definitely be trying this recipe again w/the vanilla wafers.)
Made for Zaar Stars~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB July 07, 2011

I just tried this from the Kraft Food and Family, and these are really good! We ran out of lemon zest and made zest from an orange. It has a very nice tang to it. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZoe November 18, 2008

Absolutely delicious lemon cheesecake squares...the 'nilla wafer base is delicious & a very pleasant change from graham cracker (I'm not a fan of graham cracker). I doubled recipe for a 9x13 inch pan & it was marvellous. Zested 4 lemons & simply peeled pith off fruit, sliced to remove seeds & threw them into processor along with rest of filling ingredients - didn't bother to juice them. What a bright, fresh, wonderful dessert. It slices beautifully & really came together fast! Thank you Sydney Mike, another keeper for summer entertaining! Oh, tastes awesome with fresh sliced strawberries too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend May 03, 2008

The taste of cheesecake and lemon bars rolled into one recipe -- what's not to love? I've made this a few times now and it's been a hit every time! It comes together pretty quickly, too, which makes it even better. Thanks for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 April 15, 2008

I made these with regular vanilla wafers and cream cheese, and they are WONDERFUL! I think I've finally found the recipe for lemon bars I've been looking for. Other recipes have a very thin lemon layer, but these have a nice, thick lemon layer. I can't wait to make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kzim4 February 07, 2008
Creamy Lemon Squares