32 Reviews

I was in need of "baking therapy" this morning, so I started with this. The batter alone deserves 10 stars. The cake is more like 15 stars. Can't wait for my husband to get home and try it. I'm sure he'll tell the kids his usual "this cake has something wrong with it - no one should eat any of it - don't touch it kids".

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom January 31, 2003

I made this for my mother-in-law's birthday this weekend, and I must say it scored me extra points. It was very easy to make and turned out rich, moist and definately chocolate. The only real comment I can make about putting it together is the cooking time. The recipe indicates 30 minutes of cooking time; in my oven, which generally proves to be pretty close on other recipes, it took about 42 minutes before this cake was done. Otherwise, it was just as advertised; and I have already been asked to make it again.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark H. March 16, 2003

This is a winning recipe, Mean Chef! The chocolate and buttermilk make an excellent combination. Such a simple recipe which produces a moist rich, chocolatey taste that will please the most discriminating chocolate lovers. Thank you again, Mean Chef, for sharing these fabulous recipes with us!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 08, 2003

This cake is a chocoholics dream, and a definite must for those that love chocolate. The cake is full of flavor with a dense melt in your mouth texture that I can only attribute to the butter and buttermilk. I didn't flip my cake onto a platter but rather left it in the pan so that I could store my leftovers in the refrigerator. I added an extra 3/4 to 1 cup of confectioner's sugar to the icing to thicken and sweeten (a little to bitter chocolate for me) it up a bit prior to pouring it over the top of my cake. The cake had a lovely sheen to the frosting and was great served with french vanilla ice-cream. My leftover cake kept very well in the refrigerator though it didn't last long. Thanks for a keeper!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn March 06, 2003

This has a strong chocolate flavor. If you crave chocolate, this is the cake for you!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelfan March 03, 2003

Hands down, the best chocolate cake I've ever made. It's moist, really rich, has a deep chocolate flavor and it is really attractive. The combination of buttermilk and cocoa gives it a nice fresh flavor so that the chocolate doesn't give you that sickly sweet aftertaste. I had to use a pyrex 9x13 baking dish (my metal one got run over by my husband's car), so I reduced the temperature a bit and cooked it a bit longer, about 50 minutes. The trimmings of the cake were gone in seconds as my family came and snitched them away. They even licked the icing bowl clean. The hardest part was leaving it alone in the fridge for 2 hours...I had to stand in front of the door to guard it. Excellent recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay April 12, 2003

The cake itself is a 3. The icing is a 5. Total stars -- 4. The cake is dense and moist, but I did not find it that flavorful. It was fine, but I've had better cake. Again, it was good -- but not worthy of more than 3 stars. The icing, however, was unbelievable!! Probably the best chocolate icing I've ever had. Meanchef, thanks for the recipe. I'll be using this icing again very soon. Sorry I could only give you 3 stars for the cake part.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire #3 June 23, 2003

Excellent cake and icing! Can't add much that everyone else hasn't already said, but this does turn out perfectly. Nice and moist cake with such a delicious icing that was so easy to whip up in the food processor. I did let the cake cool a little longer than stated because I was afraid the icing would run off of it if it was too warm. Thanks for a winner, MEAN CHEF!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi May 16, 2003

Huge hit at last night's barbeque! I messed up the icing recipe (even if you are in a hurry read through all directions first, when will I learn this) and was then out of cocoa so I made a sweetened whipped cream topping instead. I loved it. It was moist and dreamy. Make again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gay Gilmore May 04, 2003

Had to make something chocolate to satisfy a group of teens yesterday, and I knew I'd struck gold when I found this recipe. The cake itself is moist, chocolatey, with a tender crumb; the icing is out-of-this-word good! Who'd have thought of buttermilk in icing? It works! Placed in my keeper file for fast referral. Thank you, Mrs. G.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens September 22, 2014
Cocoa-Buttermilk Cake