Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Cocoa-Buttermilk Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cocoa-Buttermilk Cake

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2003

      I was in need of "baking therapy" this morning, so I started with this. The batter alone deserves 10 stars. The cake is more like 15 stars. Can't wait for my husband to get home and try it. I'm sure he'll tell the kids his usual "this cake has something wrong with it - no one should eat any of it - don't touch it kids".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      I made this for my mother-in-law's birthday this weekend, and I must say it scored me extra points. It was very easy to make and turned out rich, moist and definately chocolate. The only real comment I can make about putting it together is the cooking time. The recipe indicates 30 minutes of cooking time; in my oven, which generally proves to be pretty close on other recipes, it took about 42 minutes before this cake was done. Otherwise, it was just as advertised; and I have already been asked to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      This is a winning recipe, Mean Chef! The chocolate and buttermilk make an excellent combination. Such a simple recipe which produces a moist rich, chocolatey taste that will please the most discriminating chocolate lovers. Thank you again, Mean Chef, for sharing these fabulous recipes with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      This cake is a chocoholics dream, and a definite must for those that love chocolate. The cake is full of flavor with a dense melt in your mouth texture that I can only attribute to the butter and buttermilk. I didn't flip my cake onto a platter but rather left it in the pan so that I could store my leftovers in the refrigerator. I added an extra 3/4 to 1 cup of confectioner's sugar to the icing to thicken and sweeten (a little to bitter chocolate for me) it up a bit prior to pouring it over the top of my cake. The cake had a lovely sheen to the frosting and was great served with french vanilla ice-cream. My leftover cake kept very well in the refrigerator though it didn't last long. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      This has a strong chocolate flavor. If you crave chocolate, this is the cake for you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2003

      Hands down, the best chocolate cake I've ever made. It's moist, really rich, has a deep chocolate flavor and it is really attractive. The combination of buttermilk and cocoa gives it a nice fresh flavor so that the chocolate doesn't give you that sickly sweet aftertaste. I had to use a pyrex 9x13 baking dish (my metal one got run over by my husband's car), so I reduced the temperature a bit and cooked it a bit longer, about 50 minutes. The trimmings of the cake were gone in seconds as my family came and snitched them away. They even licked the icing bowl clean. The hardest part was leaving it alone in the fridge for 2 hours...I had to stand in front of the door to guard it. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      The cake itself is a 3. The icing is a 5. Total stars -- 4. The cake is dense and moist, but I did not find it that flavorful. It was fine, but I've had better cake. Again, it was good -- but not worthy of more than 3 stars. The icing, however, was unbelievable!! Probably the best chocolate icing I've ever had. Meanchef, thanks for the recipe. I'll be using this icing again very soon. Sorry I could only give you 3 stars for the cake part.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      Excellent cake and icing! Can't add much that everyone else hasn't already said, but this does turn out perfectly. Nice and moist cake with such a delicious icing that was so easy to whip up in the food processor. I did let the cake cool a little longer than stated because I was afraid the icing would run off of it if it was too warm. Thanks for a winner, MEAN CHEF!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2003

      Huge hit at last night's barbeque! I messed up the icing recipe (even if you are in a hurry read through all directions first, when will I learn this) and was then out of cocoa so I made a sweetened whipped cream topping instead. I loved it. It was moist and dreamy. Make again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Nice, dense, fudgy cake! My boss said it reminded him of the cake his Mom used to make. My only problem was that the frosting didn't really set - it stayed quite gooey even after a couple of days in the fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      This cake just flopped on me - once I added the water to the melted butter and cocoa, it separated and I have a very expensive mess that is going in the garbage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      I love chocolate but this recipe really fell flat. The cake itself doesn't taste good and I'd give this recipe no stars if it was merely based on the cake. The icing is good hence the 2 stars. I won't be making this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      This is a great cake, very moist and mild flavored. I used peanut butter frosting to frost it and it was superb, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Deliciously divine. This is our new favorite chocolate cake. We keep left overs in the fridge, ooh so good. The frosting and the cake together are like no other, it's just delish. I so wish I had some right now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      A dense, moist cake which took 55 minutes to bake in my convection oven. This recipe uses alot of everything (butter, sugar, cocoa, etc.) I'm still debating if it was worth it...while tasty, Mrs. Goodall might be going overboard in saying it's incredible. I prefer fluffier, lighter consistencies in cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      So so good. I love the cake itself. I thought that the salt and the baking soda were too much but the end result was perfect. I love it. The frost was good too. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      Superb-dense, moist and flavorful! I made it with Dutch cocoa, added extra confectioner's sugar to the icing, and cooked it longer than stated. My dinner guest said it reminded her of her French Grandmother's cakes! The only downside I could possibly see is that it takes alot of bowls/pans for all of the steps- that doesn't bother me though- I think it is worth it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      Wow! great cake. This rich, dense cake is heaven. Makes a tall, moist, tender, melt in your mouth cake. I have a new favourite cake, thank you so much for sharing Mean Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      Well, this cake turned out pretty weird for me. Knowing what delicious recipes Mean has, I have to blame myself and some substitutions I made -- the cake turned out much more like pudding/brownies. I suppose I will have to give it another whirl to know what the cake is supposed to be like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      This is some excellent cake! I had buttermilk left in my fridge from making pancakes and I thought I would give this a shot. I am so glad I did! This probably the most moist chocolate cake I have ever made and what a great idea to add buttermilk to the frosting! Thanks Mean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cocoa-Buttermilk Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (217 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 723.3
     
    Calories from Fat 334
    46%
    Total Fat 37.1 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 22.7 g
    113%
    Cholesterol 145.4 mg
    48%
    Sodium 946.2 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.1 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 66.2 g
    265%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites