Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Cinnamon Chip Banana Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cinnamon Chip Banana Bars

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2009

      DIVINE! These were SO good - don't look for another recipe, just make these. You won't be sorry! We don't have cinnamon chips in Canada (least I've never seen them), so I used peanut butter chips and a sprinkle of cinnamon, and wow, was this so good! I'm very glad I'm taking this somewhere tonight, or my husband and I might have sat down and ate it for dinner! Thanks, teammie, for such a great recipe! Made for ZWT5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2014

      5 stars! Delicious and unique. I used the almonds only for the top crust. Great combination of flavors and textures. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      Very tasty. I followed some of the other poster's suggestions and added cinnamon to the oat mixture, and had to use a combination of chocolate and peanut butter chips (all I had!). It tastes great, although the topping is quite crumbly, so they can't really be eaten by hand - a spoon works much better. Thanks for a great new recipe for bananas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      The creamy bananas and melted cinnamon are phenomenal together...follow the recipe just as it is for an addictive treat. They are great warm or cold. I had a hard time cutting them in bars until after I refrigerated them overnight. This is good for dessert or for a brunch coffee cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Very good bars and easy to make. I like that the crumb mixture is made using a mixer rather than mixed by hand. If I made these again, I would double the amount of banana called for in the recipe (the stated quantity makes a thin layer of banana one slice thick), use the spice cinnamon in the crust instead of cinnamon chips and use chocolate chips. I used pecans instead of almonds. I also think this is a good basic recipe and it would also be great with other fruit in the middle, such as thinly sliced apples. Made for the Dining Daredevils for ZWT5. Edited to add: These bars greatly improved in taste and texture after being allowed to sit for a day in the refrigerator. As a result, the banana flavor was enhanced and the cinnamon flavor mellowed. Review changed from 4 stars to 5 stars as a result, we loved these and they disappeared quickly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      These sweet treats are super addictive so if you make them be sure to hide the pan after you get your serving or you will be devouring the whole thing before you know it! My husband usually prefers things cold but he actually liked these warm. He said it reminded him of eating cinnamon rolls. This recipe is definitely a keeper. To be made when we really feel like splurging. Oh yeah, I also used walnuts instead of almonds. Thanks for a delicious post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      We don't have cinnamon chips here in Oz but I was sent some in a swap & decided to make these. I onlky had 2 bananas so mashed them into the mixture and used part sugar part Splenda to reduce the calories a smidge as well as part butter, part applesauce. I had walnuts to use so added those in place of almonds. This was a lovely cakey bar which really hit the spot for afternoon tea & with the oats helped reduce the hunger pangs until dinner. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      These were very good. I added brickle chips in place of the toasted almonds, and put on a browned-butter glaze after baking. I took them to my church's cookie/coffee time, and they were quickly gobbled up. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

      Wow - these are good! I did make a few changes though ... partly because the bananas I needed to use were way too ripe to slice, and partly because I wanted to reduce the fat and sugar. So - instead of the brown sugar, I used 3/4 cup Splenda Brown Sugar blend; 1/2 cup margarine and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce; 2/3 cup walnuts instead of almonds (that's what I had on hand). I also added 1 tsp of vanilla, and I added an egg (I thought it was odd there wasn't an egg listed). I creamed the margarine, applesauce, Splenda and the bananas, then added the egg & vanilla, then the dry ingredients. I baked the whole thing in a 10x15 pan, and they came out wonderful! I'm sure DH will want some sort of frosting (but they certainly don't need it!), so I may drizzle them with a powdered sugar icing. Next time I'll try to catch my bananas before they get too ripe, and I will try the recipe as written with the bananas & chips in the middle. Thanks for posting! -M =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      These turned out great!! I really liked the sliced bananas in the middle, rather than mashed into the batter like a typical recipe. If you can find those cinnamon chips, use them!! They are wonderful!!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      WONDERFUL! Breeze to put together and incredibly delicious. I couldn't find cinnamon baking chips so I used both milk and dark chocolate chips. Wow! What a great combination of flavors and textures. My hubby and I were eating it warm out of the pan. This is most delectable pick for the PAC 06' game. Thank you Muffin Goddess for this treat! It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cinnamon Chip Banana Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1541 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 301.6
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    37%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 259.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 23.7 g
    95%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cinnamon baking chips

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes