18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Jan and Anna the DS's music recreation group love you. This went to the top of their list of favourites. I made 2 in 9"x9" (23cmx23cm) cake tins and cooked in a fan forced oven at 175c for 25 minutes (could do with turning down to 170). I used a creamy vanilla yoghurt not low-fat. I dusted 1 with icing sugar and the other with cocoa powder. Thanks once again Jan and Anna. Made for Edition 4 - Make My Recipe - a game of tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat June 03, 2008

I was so anxious to try these after reading all the rave reviews. However only giving 3 stars because they seemed to get better after a few days. Not a fan of their texture, the malt flavor was lost. Would rather eat the malted milk balls solo.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
montemarg December 09, 2007

My son needed a recipe too make for a class project at his school and he picked this one out. It was quick and simple enough for he and his "buddy" too make - the only complaint was that there wasn't enough for seconds lol thanks for sharing a quick, delicious recipe - Tanika, Qld

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanika Amaranth March 01, 2007

These were great, nice and moist and chocolatey but relatively healthy with no butter! I wasn't the biggest fan of the maltesers after they had been cooked so the 2nd time i replaced them with chopped up mars bars and it tasted even better!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eveajac May 04, 2005

This is such an easy recipe for a dessert novice like myself and it tastes so good as the maltesers melt through the slice but still maintain their crunchiness. I used extra maltesers and a bit less sugar, I also cooked it at 175 degrees in a fan forced oven for 25 minutes. I dusted it with cocoa powder at the end. This yummy slice really is a no brainer to make and I highly recommend it. I really like the yoghurt alternative instead of using a heap of butter which most desserts usually need. Thanks Jan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn Jay September 11, 2011

Delicious!!! They certainly didn't stay on the plate for very long - easy to make, and kids couldn't get enough of it. Have also tried making it with Minstrels... these don't go chewy like Maltesers - they just ooze even more chocolate; not that I'm obsessed with chocolate you understand ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MindyBint July 30, 2007

Definately a winner with the entire family includeing my cat who started climbing all over the keyboard to try and swipe a piece out of my hand hehehe... not to sweet, nice and gooey and chocolately..... yummy.... a real treat!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kyrandia July 21, 2007

A family winner! This is moist and delicious with plenty of chocolate but not too sweet. Love the yoghurt. This is a keeper! Thanks Jan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda in Adelaide May 28, 2007

What a fantastic slice! Quick, simple, no expensive ingredients and we just loved it. Beautifully moist without being rich, the yoghurt really makes it. I baked for 25 mins at 175C in my fan forced oven and they were perfect. Thanks for another great recipe Jan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
currybunny January 11, 2007

Sorry to say these were not a big hit in my house. We are chocolate lovers, but they just didn't hit the mark.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree December 31, 2005
Chocolate Covered Malt Ball Fudge Slice